Fiction logo

Hidden From View

Learning about life takes someone willing to teach it.

By Mark GagnonPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
45
Hidden From View
Photo by Ryan Koble on Unsplash

“I don’t understand why you don’t like the snow, Grandpa. Look at how beautiful the hills look, tucked under a blanket of white. I love how the starlight reflects off the pristine snow. It gives the field a soft, winter wonderland look. Everything is so beautiful, Grandpa. I see nothing here to dislike. Didn’t you tell me this is where you grew up as a child?”

“It is where I grew up, Mary, and that’s why I wanted you to see it like this, hidden from view by the snow. It was so much different when this was my home.”

“I don’t understand, Grandpa?”

“I was born during the war. This land, once used for farming and grazing cattle, was flat and easily tilled before it became a battlefield. The rolling hills and gullies are remnants of all the blasts by mortar and artillery shells. By that stand of trees is a snow-covered cemetery where your uncle and many others are laid to rest. A thick covering of snow is all that keeps us safe from the unexploded ordinance that remains strewn haphazardly around the pasture. It is where people came to die.”

“Why have you really brought me here, Grandpa?”

“So you can learn about life, Mary. Many things are beautiful on the surface. What’s important is learning how to look past the facade to see everything buried beneath the snow and truly understand who or what you’re dealing with.”

“I understand. Love you, Grandpa.

Microfiction
45

About the Creator

Mark Gagnon

I have spent most of my life traveling the US and abroad. Now it's time to create what I hope are interesting fictional stories.

I have 2 books on Amazon, Mitigating Circumstances and Short Stories for Open Minds.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (33)

Sign in to comment
  • Kathleen Warren5 days ago

    I can see why this earned you top story, Mark. Well done.

  • Jean McKinneyabout a month ago

    Short but powerful. Nice work!

  • John Cox2 months ago

    You have packed a lot of meaning and depth under that snow!

  • Donna Renee2 months ago

    Wow. I really love this, Mark. This has such a dreamy quality. That's not the word I'm really wanting but it isn't coming to me right now... You really got a LOT into these few words.

  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Alex H Mittelman 3 months ago

    This is fantastic! Great life lesson! 🤙

  • Renessa Norton3 months ago

    Beautiful writing - well done!

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    And even snow turns to slush.

  • Caroline Craven3 months ago

    Gosh this is so beautiful and so well written and I love the message behind it too. Great piece.

  • Harbor Benassa3 months ago

    Congrats on the top story! I've been loving reading everyone's entries.

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    This one reminds me why I love snow. Just wish it didn’t bring the cold with it lol. Loved your story, Mark! And congrats!

  • olymoolla3 months ago

    Wow 😲

  • Nabila Nazir3 months ago

    https://vocal.media/viva/natural-smile

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Donna Fox (HKB)3 months ago

    Mark this was devastating, thought provoking and heart palpitating! I loved the beautiful scenery you painted and the melancholic undertone the overall story had! It was brilliantly done! The ending gave it a fable-like feel with such a beautiful parting moral to this story!! Great work my friend and congrats on Top Story!!

  • Heather Zieffle 3 months ago

    Great story! Congrats on TS!

  • Test3 months ago

    This is so beautifully written Mark and love the message behind it 🤍

  • Dana Crandell3 months ago

    Surprisingly deep and beautifully told! Congratulations, Mark!

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Love how you weaved a very important into this story. Great job. Congrats on the TS.

  • Caroline Jane3 months ago

    What a lovely (and important) message. 🥰 Well deserved top story!

  • Test3 months ago

    Astounding effort! Keep up the phenomenal work—congrats!

  • Tina D'Angelo3 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!!

  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    Beautifully done, and a wonderful lesson.

  • Gabriel Huizenga3 months ago

    Powerful, insightful, and raw. Thank you for sharing <3

  • JBaz3 months ago

    So glad this made a top story. Congratualtions

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.