Fiction logo

Transfixed

The battle.

By Mark GagnonPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
9
Transfixed
Photo by 2H Media on Unsplash

I stared into cold, dead, unreadable eyes. Maybe he would allow me to pass. No harm, no foul. Just two creatures whose paths fate briefly allowed to intersect. We moved in an arc, each participant in this deadly dance transfixed on the other. The cobra’s glistening scales rippled as he adjusted his position, searching for an advantage, something I had no intention of allowing him. My fur bristled in anticipation of his next move. My lips pulled back in a snarl, exposing razor-sharp fangs.

The cobra struck first, but I had already moved. I countered the strike with my own, clamping his neck in my jaws. Mongoose wins again.

Microfiction
9

About the Creator

Mark Gagnon

I have spent most of my life traveling the US and abroad. Now it's time to create what I hope are interesting fictional stories.

I have 2 books on Amazon, Mitigating Circumstances and Short Stories for Open Minds.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • olymoolla3 months ago

    🥰🥰🥰🥰

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    That tension before the first strike was expertly done here. I could really visualise this.

  • Tina D'Angelo3 months ago

    I hate snakes. Any story that kills them makes me happy. You made me very happy. Ewwww.

  • Kendall Defoe 3 months ago

    Two nasty animals, but since watching 'Ricky-Ticky-Too', I go for the mongoose!

  • Yayyyyy!! Go Mongoose!! Sorry Mr Snake! Loved your story!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)3 months ago

    Mark I love this! The intense heart palpitating scene you pained here was great and such a great read!

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    Short and sweet!!! Nice micro, Mark! And correct! The Mongoose will win almost every time. Just ask Rikki Tikki, lol.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.