Fiction logo

Heinrich

Retelling of The Frog King, or Iron Heinrich

By Stephanie HoogstadPublished 15 days ago 1 min read
7
Heinrich
Photo by camilo jimenez on Unsplash

As I knelt before the Enchantress in reverence, I knew that she could see into me, into my woes, already.

“How long has your prince been a frog?” she asked.

“Ten years,” I replied, “since his eighteenth birthday.”

She glanced at me from under hooded eyelids.

“So why do want to do something about it now?”

I closed my eyes tightly.

“It pains me to see him this way,” I said, my voice strained. “I know that he suffers, and my heart aches for him every day. I am his servant. I am supposed to make his life easier, but how can I ease this struggle for him?”

When I opened my eyes, the Enchantress was stroking her chin.

“There might be a way, but it requires sacrifice.” She leaned towards me, her golden hair cascading in front of her face. “Are you willing to make that sacrifice?”

I was a servant. My whole life was based on sacrifice for my prince. Yet there was something in the Enchantress’s tone that caused me to hesitate.

“Well?”

I swallowed my fear and nodded.

“Yes. I will do anything for my prince.”

Her ruby lips curled into a cruel smile.

The Enchantress plunged her hand deep into my chest. I gasped and sputtered blood as she ripped out my heart, but I did not die. Instead, I watched as she held my still-beating heart in the palm of her hand and bent down to kiss it. My heart glowed gold, then returned to normal but with the imprint of her lips on the side. The Enchantress produced three iron rings and used them to put my heart back in place inside my body.

“When you return home, you will find your prince is no longer a frog,” she said.

“And the price?” I asked, feeling at the spot on my chest where she had ripped out my heart.

She smiled.

“You’re mine now.”

When I returned to the palace, my prince was human again, but he claimed that it was a princess who had freed him. They were to be married, and I was to serve them. When I saw the princess, I recognized her immediately: the Enchantress.

Word Count: 366

Author’s Note: This is for L.C. Schafer’s Fucked Up Fairytales challenge. You can learn more about it in the link below.

Microfiction
7

About the Creator

Stephanie Hoogstad

With a BA in English and MSc in Creative Writing, writing is my life. I have edited and ghost written for years with some published stories and poems of my own.

Learn more about me: thewritersscrapbin.com

Support my writing: Patreon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz14 days ago

    clever and a great twist. I am very upset and not thrilled with the prince, what an A-hole

  • Mariann Carroll14 days ago

    I love a story with a twist 🥰

  • Shirley Belk15 days ago

    Wasn't expecting that!!

  • Oh wow, the Enchantress made it seem like it was her who solely freed the Prince. He would never know of the slave's sacrifice. That's so sad. Loved your story!

  • Hannah Moore15 days ago

    Ooh, nicely done.

  • Andrea Corwin 15 days ago

    Oh, nice one! Loved the twist 🙀

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.