Fiction logo

Green on White

a microfiction challenge entry

By Poppy Published 4 months ago 1 min read
19
Green on White
Photo by Robin Wersich on Unsplash

Love. For me, it was green on white. The tiniest tips of lush leaves, peeking through snow. Growing despite the cold. Always reaching for the sky.

I still remember how you looked, walking down Wisteria Lane, your white shirt and how it felt like freedom, finally away from her.

I washed the forest-coloured speckles from the creases of my palms, put away my gardening utensils.

My therapist said I wasn’t colour-blind. I told her she looked good wearing green, a vision of verdant in front of the window’s white backdrop.

The blizzard’s night sky was azure when I found you in my yard, the moonlight glowing golden all around you. You’d found the most vibrant part of my garden, the corner where the ground was dug up, pastel soil clumps of decorations.

I asked if you thought it was beautiful, my garden. There was a light in your eyes I’d once told myself was admiration. But maybe it was time, I named it what it was. Horror. Your face paled like the snowflakes that fell like bodies all around us.

You looked beautiful, even then, when I realised your white clothes were really the black of mourning. But I thought of how I’d never gotten to walk beside you along Wisteria Lane, only behind you.

If I could not hold you, only my garden’s soil should.

When the hole in your stomach seeped sticky liquid, I knew it was crimson in the snow. But I only saw green on white.

thrillerPsychologicalMicrofictionCONTENT WARNING
19

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • A. Lenae3 months ago

    This is fantastic. The fanciful romantic undertones very subtly shifted into a sinister whisper that feels so authentic and satisfying. When I started distrusting the narrator's innocent love, I got such a chill. Really stunning writing.

  • Hayley Matto3 months ago

    Haunting in the best way... absolutely loved this!! Could make for prelude to a novel. Gave the TV show "You" vibes just a bit, and his internal monologue explaining something horrific he did out of love... or enamourment...

  • Meg3 months ago

    Such a stunning piece! Every word flows so seamlessly and the descriptions paint such a vivid picture. Can't wait to read more of your work!

  • G. A. Botero3 months ago

    I had to read this twice. I thought I had read it wrong the first time. Such a great piece. "If I could not hold you, only my garden’s soil should." - loved that line.

  • Hideous 😮… but beautifully written. I especially had to reread ‘pastel soil clumps of decorations.’ Clearly bizarre thinking. I’m concerned for the defenceless kitty in the picture 😳

  • Hehehehehehehehehehe that ending made me grin so much! So satisfying! Also, Wisteria Lane reminded me of Desperate Housewives!

  • ThatWriterWoman3 months ago

    Wow! Outstanding! How romantic and horrible!

  • Kenny Penn3 months ago

    Quite chilling Poppy, really enjoyed it. Reminded me of some obsessed lover horror stories I’ve watched

  • Teresa Renton3 months ago

    Stunning writing Poppy, as always. You lulled us with poetic imagery and delivered your fatal blow. I loved how ‘forest-coloured speckles’ can transform in meaning once you reach the end.🥰

  • Alexander McEvoy3 months ago

    Oh damn! This was awesome! I loved the constant sense that something wasn't quite right, and that ending!? Very very well done!

  • Paul Stewart3 months ago

    Damn, Poppy. This is incredible. Love the beautiful language that offsets perfectly against the ghastly nature of the story's ending. Beautiful blackness.

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Nasty, and beautifully written.

  • J4 months ago

    So many layers to peel back here! My morbid curiosity is grateful.

  • "Secret Window" meets "Arsenic & Old Lace".

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    Chills....yep.

  • Mackenzie Davis4 months ago

    There it is! I was wondering! I absolutely love the dual story here. The dark on just oozes through at the end and recolors the entire first reading, which, I suppose, is kind of the point. You're just brilliant, Poppy. To see a grave and think it's a garden...I feel like you could create the most interesting psychopath in all of literature and film combined.

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    That was beautifully written. And what an ending. Wow.

  • Heather Hubler4 months ago

    Oh! That took a turn. Great storytelling as I did not see that coming!! And your beautiful use of language gave this a floaty feeling which quickly turned to horror at the end. Wonderful work :)

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    💙

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.