Fiction logo

Grandma back to the soul

My grandmother passed away shortly after graduating from high school. A year before my grandmother died, whenever I came home on weekends, she would ask me and the other juniors to look at her coffin.

By Eamonn DaviesPublished 2 years ago 5 min read

My grandmother passed away shortly after graduating from high school . A year before my grandmother died , whenever I came home on weekends , she would ask me and the other juniors to look at her coffin . Grandma's coffin was black , tall and big , and had been there for as long as I could remember . Grandma , who was 84 at the time , had lost sight of her eyes two years earlier due to the side effects of taking too much medicine for her illness . Grandma's coffin had been lying there the lid ? Half a year before he died , we reported to grandma that there were some damp marks after seeing the coffin . Grandma nodded and said : Oh , I know . Two months before my death , WHEN I came home , asked me to show the coffin to the younger generation . I saw that half of it was wet , . So I told grandma . Grandma smiled and said : Good , good , I know . As the college entrance examination was approaching and the school was very tight , I didn't go home for nearly two months . When I came back home after the college entrance examination , I went to see my grandma first , because she loved me and I loved her very much . Grandma seemed to see me and called my name from a distance . At that time I also said with a smile : Grandma you are immortal , how do you know it is me ? Grandma smiled at explanation . Grandma looked in good spirits and I was happy . We chatted for a while , grandma asked me to help look at her coffin , there was no other junior , I was alone , I can not say what , . So I went to see . It was as if the inside of the coffin was wet , and there was no dry place . I told my grandma , grandma listened to nothing , just pulled me to the front , from head to waist touched again . Although grandma hurts me very much , but I remember after the age of 14 she has not touched me so , but this time she touched me , I suddenly rose from the bottom of my heart a kind of inexplicable pathos , anyway can not tell the reason . Grandma touched me for a while and said something to me that was baffling : Almost , should be almost . Then he patted my hands and said : Go and pick me some plums to eat . The plums were not ripe at that time , . So I climbed a tree and chose five relatively large plums for grandma . Grandma did not eat them , but put them in her purse . I did not know her intention , and did not ask any questions . That night we ate bacon pancakes and porridge , grandma suddenly called my name , said : You feed me two pancakes to eat . I thought it was strange that Grandma never asked me to feed her anything , but I did . Grandma enjoyed herself very much , but she ate only two of them and no porridge . Then she said she wanted to go to bed and asked me to help her to her room . After I helped her to bed , grandma took me and touched for a while . Several times I felt she seemed to want to say something , but always wanted to speak but stopped . Finally , she patted my shoulders and signaled that I could go . I didn't think about it . The next day , my niece called grandma to eat , but found that grandma has quietly lying in bed died , touch the body , residual temperature and estimated that the time of death is not too long , we immediately cried . When my uncle was changing her funeral clothes and sorting out her old clothes , she found five big plums in her clothes . I knew I had picked them for Grandma the day before , but the plums I had picked were still green and hard , and they looked as if they were ripe . No one else was surprised , but I was puzzled . Later , when they were buried , uncle buried the five plums with grandma . It had been 100 days since grandma's death , and the weather was getting cold . This night I went to bed at about 8 o 'clocks , I put out the light , the moon was very bright , through the window of the room is also very clear . My mother and sister share a bedroom , just across the door from mine , which we usually don't lock . I lay tossing and turning in bed , dreaming that something was going to happen . About half past nine , I felt someone moving in the room , . So I opened my eyes , and sure enough , in the moonlight through the window , IT was clearly my grandmother wandering back and forth in the room , wearing the same black shroud she had just changed after her death . Grandma walked back and forth twice , very slowly , but without making a sound . Strange is , I have always been very timid , especially afraid to see the dead people , but this night I saw the dead grandmother did not feel afraid , but also could not help but gently shout out : grandma . Grandma seemed to hear my cry , as if hesitating for a moment , and then went to the door to the aisle , I was anxious and shouted loudly : Grandma , grandma . But grandma did not look back and disappeared directly into the doorway , which had been locked from the inside and had not been opened before or after grandma disappeared . My shout to another bedroom sleeping mother and sister also woke up , my mother knew me timid , busy with the door has been open to my room , even clothes are not dressed neatly , come in and ask me : what do you see ? I honestly said I saw grandma . Don't think so much . Your sister and I live in the next bedroom . Who dares to disturb you ? I didn't say much . The next day , I accidentally found that my mother secretly bought a handful of incense and a dozen papers out . Mom and I never talked about it again , but I always knew in my heart that what I saw that night was really grandma .

Short Story

About the Creator

Eamonn Davies

An avid lover of stories about ghosts and legends, I love the thrill of having my bones tingle! I hope you enjoy my story.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Eamonn DaviesWritten by Eamonn Davies

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.