Fiction logo

Goo Goo

Finding a Friend

By Jason GoldtrapPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

1984. Summer. Opryland USA Music Theme Park in Nashville, Tennessee. Sixteen-years-old.

Being a host for Opryland USA involved more than just sweeping and giving directions to the Screamin' Delta Demon; I had to be the face of the park and I relished that role. I had to realize I wasn't just picking cigarette butts from the planters and sweeping up a spilled funnel cake, I made this amazing place look even better. It wasn't just residents of Nashville there but folks from Atlanta, Chicago, Lubbock and Rio and around the planet. It was incumbent on me to be the face of the park. So I did my part to get into the spirit of music.

Sometimes my team would work the Grand Ole Opry House. I would help ensure the doors were unlocked, emergency exits cleared, and the door was opened for each guest with a hopeful "Enjoy the show!" Sometimes folks would smile and say "thanks;" but most of the time they were just too excited or too busy talking to their friends to notice me.

On one occasion, I held open the door for a family and a red haired, freckled face lad stopped and looked at me.

"What are you doing?"

"I'm greeting people for the show." I could see his dad walking away. The boy studied me for a couple of minutes.

"You're having fun?" he inquired.

I shrugged. "I suppose I am."

He smiled. I replied with my own and asked, "Aren't you going to see the show?"

He shook his head no. "I'm afraid of the dark." He motioned to his father. "I'll sit out here with Dad." Dad was sitting on a bench in the lobby.

He stuck out his hand. "My name is Jake." He spun his head to the left and grabbed the other door. "Enjoy the show!"

"Enjoy the show.-- I'm Jason. Nice to meet you Jake."

"Enjoy the show.-- I'm eleven."

"Enjoy the show.-- I'm sixteen."

"Enjoy the show.-- I'm from Sheboygan, Michigan. I'm visiting Grandma. She took us to the park."

"Enjoy the show.-- Are you having fun?"

"Enjoy the show.-- Lots. Do you do this all day?"

"Enjoy the show.-- Just a few minutes between performances. Enjoy the show.-- After I let everyone in I watch the hallway to see if someone needs to exit. --Enjoy the show."

"Enjoy the show.-- What happens when the show is over?"

"Enjoy the show.--- I make sure the lobby is clear and then help clean the auditorium. --Enjoy the show."

"Enjoy the show.-- Wow! You do so much."

I chuckled, "Enjoy the show."

He stopped.

I looked to my right.

Jake seemed disappointed. "No more people."

Golden lights illuminated the stage lights went down as a fiddle, snare drum, steel guitar, a honky-tonk piano and a banjo began "Foggy Mountain Breakdown."

I reassured him, "There'll be a few stragglers. So tell me about Sheboygan." I turned to the golden viewing window on the door.

Jake told me about his life: his family, riding his bike and a Pomeranian named "Toy."

We helped a few folks go in and out of the auditorium. A co-worker came by. "Fifteen minute break."

I turned to Jake. "I'll be back shortly."

"Ok." He addressed my replacement. "Hi. I'm Jake from Sheboygan, Michigan."

When I returned from my break he was still there. We picked up right we left off.

As patrons exited, Jake was still at the door.

"Have a nice day." He said proudly.

As the lobby thinned out, Jake and his dad joined Mom and grandma. He pointed me out and the whole family walked over. He explained how he helped me and presented all the details. We posed for a photo. I gave him a Goo-Goo bar to thank him. Dad offered me money. "No charge."

As I waved goodbye to the family, mom paused. She returned to me, gave me a big hug and whispered "thank you." I didn't understand why then but now I do.

When I was eleven, I was Jake from Sheboygan. The world was very confusing to me and I didn't have any friends. I saw in him what I wanted at eleven: I wanted to help out and take my first steps into manhood.

All creatures want to contribute to a task greater than themselves. Little girls want to help Mom in the kitchen. Little boys want to help Dad change the oil in the car. Dogs protect their families. Even cats leave a dead bird on the porch to say "thank you."

Sometimes the best way to help someone is by doing nothing and letting them seize the opportunity to add their efforts to a noble cause. Always be willing to listen when a Jake shows up. The two of you will grow. JG

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Jason Goldtrap

From Nashville, TN and now living in Haines City, FL, I have enjoyed creative writing since childhood. My stories are usually set in the future. Optimistic, values oriented with realistic sounding dialogue.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.