Fiction logo

Gina's Ghost

A microfiction

By Mother CombsPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2024
54

Sleep eludes me. It has wholly forsaken me. I wander through these halls all night looking for that which is lost. I look in the darkest corners and cannot find what I misplaced. But it cannot be located, for it is hidden too well. There is a cold chill that I cannot displace, no matter how many fires I pace in front of.

I know not how long I have been between waking and sleeping. I’ve not kept track. I just know I must find that which I lost so that I can sleep. Mind-numbing wakefulness has overtaken me. I drag through these halls, looking for something familiar to me. Things have changed; things have moved.

Finding nothing familiar, I continue on my way. I was going over the same floors that I had already trespassed. I hoped I had overlooked anything that would bring me the rest I so craved. My body pulled through the walls on my nightly search. I constantly looked for something I lost when I was more awake.

But I fear I shall never find that which I seek. I shall never sleep again, for I am doomed to roam these halls forever more. I am constantly searching for that which I have forgotten. I am lost with no hope of redemption. Forever a ghost among the living.

FantasyYoung AdultthrillerShort StoryPsychologicalMicrofictionHorror
54

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin for the FB Group ViM

Mike Judey Dharr

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (31)

Sign in to comment
  • C. Rommial Butler2 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story and well-wrought! I shall place this one in the comment thread of my CREATION MYTH as an introduction to your work! You've done so much to promote others, I should like to promote you, insofar as my busy schedule allows! You'll find you were today's entry in my ever-growing comment thread! https://vocal.media/poets/creation-myth-m8dm0x8d

  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    Sometimes the living feel just as misplaced as those ghosts. I still feel like I am looking for something. Blessed are those who are at peace with their transition to the other side. Congrats on a haunting TS.

  • ROCK 3 months ago

    I feel sad for this lost spirit who can't enjoy peace or escape her shackles to these same old walls. I really liked it.

  • Congrats on a very restless and relatable top story!

  • 👻 That was spooky, Sharon! "Mind-numbing wakefulness has overtaken me . . ." Powerfully descriptive language! Well done!

  • Test3 months ago

    Congratulations on top story!

  • Heather Zieffle 3 months ago

    Very nice! Congrats on TS!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Tressa Rose3 months ago

    Wow love this piece. Congrats ❤️

  • Test3 months ago

    Awesome piece. Congrats on the top story!

  • Caroline Jane3 months ago

    ❤️❤️❤️ Congratulations. I did not figure that ending!

  • Stephanie Hoogstad3 months ago

    A chilling tale with beautiful writing. Very well done, and a well-deserved Top Story. Congratulations!

  • Thavien Yliaster3 months ago

    Spoopy. I read the title and instantly thought of my homie, Gina C. Whatever's bothering thay ghost girl I hope get solved soon. It'd be a shame for her to never enjoy a nice nap again.

  • Joe Mellen3 months ago

    Great story - you had me at every word.

  • Margaret Brennan3 months ago

    CONGRATULATIONS ON TS.... THIS WRITING IN INCREDIBLE. I LOVED EVERYTHING ABOUT IT.

  • So dark and a good story

  • Kenny Penn3 months ago

    Very haunting and deliciously well done. The concept makes perfect sense, and I truly enjoyed reading it. Congrats on TS, Mother Combs!

  • hassen fraih3 months ago

    nice

  • Oneg In The Arctic3 months ago

    Ohhhhhh how layered…. How eerie… how… idk I can’t find the right word but you get the point 😂

  • Rene Peters3 months ago

    This is amazing! Congrats on top story!

  • Mohammed Azarudeen3 months ago

    It's interesting to me cool

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    This is excellent! Congrats on the TS.

  • I feel so sad for her. Loved your poignant story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.