Fiction logo

Gila Monster Moccasins

Or the boy who tried to make them

By Ben ShepherdPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by jessiegirl413 on Pixabay

What a wonderful breakfast, the Gila monster thought as he dug up the last egg buried near the water's edge. Not wanting to risk losing any of its precious contents, he centered the egg in his mouth before chomping down. It had been too long since he had enjoyed turtle eggs.

Tasting the air with his forked tongue, the beaded lizard sensed no danger and moved to the water's edge to drink. He tested the air again before returning to his burrow and noticed a fresh scent: human.

No brush or rocks nearby left only water for cover. Swimming was only a last resort. The creature's orange and black skin provided a natural camouflage in most areas of the desert, but stood out in sharp contrast against the backdrop of the water. Turning to see the potential threat, he watched as a boy emerged along the nearby game trail.

Looking at the spring, the boy's eyes swelled with surprise when they registered the Gila monster.

"Oh! What a beautiful skin of beads you have," said the boy. "It's so colorful."

"Thank you," replied the lizard. "I just shed my old skin last week. I hope the orange isn't too bright."

"It's perfect. Where is your old skin?" asked the boy.

"In my burrow. I don't need it anymore."

"Beautiful Lizard, since you have no need of it, could I please have your old skin?" asked the young human.

"Why would you want that old thing?" asked the Gila monster.

"I need new moccasins. If your old skin is half as beautiful as your new one, I could make the best looking moccasins this side of the River Crossing."

"I see no reason not to give it to you. Follow me."

A few minutes later, they approached a hole in the ground next to a mesquite tree.

"Wait here," said the lizard.

The boy waited patiently as the creature crawled into the hole, then returned moments later with several large pieces of tattered skin in his mouth. They were flaky and not very colorful.

The boy accepted the remnants and bowed his head.

"Thank you."

"I fear the skin is not quite what you had hoped it would be," said the Gila monster. "I understand if no longer wish to have it."

"True, it is not quite what I expected," said the boy. "It may not work for moccasins, but I will find a use for it."

"Very well," said the lizard.

"Thank you, Kind One," said the young human, eying the lizard's new skin before turning to leave.

The lizard had an uneasy feeling and was glad he had moved to a new burrow after shedding his skin. After tasting the air to confirm the boy was gone, the creature left his old burrow and returned home.

Two weeks later, while climbing up a tree in search of hatchlings, the Gila Monster tasted a familiar smell. He froze in place and hoped the boy would pass by.

"Where are you, Beautiful One?" the beaded lizard heard as the scent grew stronger. "I followed your trail this way. Can you climb trees?"

Bat scat! He's going to find me.

Muscles aching from hanging to the side of the tree for so long, the lizard knew he must either move or fall. Either way, the boy would see him. He should have swum away the other day. Perhaps if he moved slowly...

"There you are!" the boy called out as the lizard gingerly made his way from trunk to branch. "I thought you might be in a tree."

"Have you come to show me what you made from my old skin?" the animal asked.

"It was too tattered and frail to be useful," the boy replied, eyeing the beaded lizard. "I need a fresh skin to make something."

"What do you intend to use?" asked the creature.

"I will use your new skin," said the boy. "I will make the most beautiful moccasins, and everyone will know what a great and mighty hunter I am."

"My skin would make your feet lovely, but you would not be mighty. What effort does it take to hunt a slow lizard? How many in your tribe will my small body feed?"

"There is some truth in what you speak," said the young human. "But your skin shall guide my feet in my journey to be a mighty hunter."

The lizard had met fools and liars before. He did not like to deceive, but he was in danger, and deception was his only option to survive.

"Brave Hunter," he said. "My skin would make fine moccasins, but I fear it may not be big enough for a pair. You need the skins of two Gila monsters - twins, hatched from the same egg."

"Does such a thing exist?"

"Twins are rare indeed, but a pair live near here. I can show you where they went hunting if you'd like."

"Yes, please," said the boy.

A short while later, the unlikely pair neared a steep canyon. The Gila monster walked to the edge and peered over.

"Eagles make their nests on the cliffs below," the lizard said. "The twins have gone hunting for hatchlings. If you are quick and quiet, they will not hear you coming."

"Are you certain?" asked the boy.

"Hurry, while they nap after their feast."

The young hunter carefully approached the edge and lowered his legs over the side, feeling for footholds. As the boy moved one of his hands to the side of the cliff, the lizard bit the remaining hand as hard as he could. The boy instinctively jerked his hand away, and the lizard released his bite while flinging debris into the boy's face with his tail. Both hands instinctively tried to protect his eyes and their momentum caused the young hunter to sway back into the void and fall.

Saddened but relieved, the Gila monster returned to his burrow for a well-deserved nap.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Ben Shepherd

Eternal optimist and chocoholic. As the world becomes an ever-scarier place, I've found writing to be a more economical (and healthier) coping option than chocolate.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.