Fiction logo

From Feet to Fins Part Four

Into the Tides

By Cezanne LibellenPublished 12 months ago 6 min read
6
From Feet to Fins Part Four
Photo by Sarah Lee on Unsplash

If you are reading this and missed Part One, Part Two, and Part Three, please check them out or you will be incredibly confused.

...

Panic raged through my veins as I leaped back from the water. I clapped a hand over my mouth to keep from screaming. I crawled away from the ocean, breathing raggedly.

I clutched my foot, groaning until the pain faded.

I shivered as I thought of entering the water with my whole body- but did I really have a choice?

The ocean was my home. I belonged there.

I took a deep breath, closing my eyes as I stepped back. I took another. And another.

Then leaped into the water.

The pain was indescribable. It was fire and ice together, burning my body.

My hair became a cloud around my head. I couldn't tell which way was up or down. Bubbles streamed out of my mouth and nose as I screamed in pain. Then, there were no more bubbles.

I lay on my stomach under the water, finally acquiescing and filling my lungs with water.

Then, everything became clear.

My hair fell against the sand and allowed me to see the full moon glimmering above me, distorted by the gentle waves.

I gulped in another breath of... water? It felt natural. It wasn't too thick, it didn't sting my nostrils.

I took another breath and laughed, pleased to hear my voice echo through the water. I drifted off the sea floor, bending to look at my legs-

What were my legs.

In their place was a long, rose-pink tail with a coppery sheen, sparkling under the moonlight.

"Oh!" I cried, clapping my hands over my mouth. I brushed my fingers along the beautiful tail. My tail. I felt a thrill at having something so beautiful be a part of me.

I moved it. It obeyed my command!

I marveled at the beautiful shimmer of the tail and the elegantly tapered fins.

When I finally got over my infatuation with my gorgeous tail, I decided to test its functionality.

I whirled around, spinning off to swim into the mysterious depths of the sea. To find where I belonged.

...

I found a coral reef.

It was achingly dull. A dead one that hurt to look at.

Now that I belonged to the sea, I felt a deep heartache at the destruction I witnessed. I had spent my life surrounded by a bunch of dorky treehuggers. Their cringy posterboards decorated with lollipop-shaped trees and frowny-face whales had deterred me. The next time I saw one of them, I would be sure to hug them.

They were the only humans that understood what damage they did.

Humans, I thought. They. I only discovered like, eight hours ago that I am a mermaid.

I shook the peculiar thoughts away and swam around one large coral, shaped like a ghostly white crown. I brushed my finger along the dead coral and found an opening, gaping like a mouth prepared to swallow me.

I shivered as I stared into the hole, both curious and terrified as I stretched my hand into the darkness.

Something leaped out of the gap in the coral and latched onto my wrist. I released a high, piercing shriek that had been building up in my throat since I saw the coral.

I tried to pull my wrist out of the vicelike grip, but it pulled me into the opening in the coral. A hand clamped over my mouth, silencing my scream.

"Shush!" said a forceful male voice. "It's night. There are sharks out."

I stilled at the voice. It was definitely human.

I was released. "Where am I?" I whispered into the darkness as I felt around the inside of the coral. I fixated on his outline

"At the gateway," he said.

"The gateway to what?"

"The gateway to the Kingdom of Marina," he said. He sounded confused in the way that it was expected of me to know that. "Are you an enemy from another kingdom?"

"No!" I cried. "I- I don't understand!"

He didn't reply for a long time. "You're coming with me," he said decidedly. A hand caught my wrist again, trapping it in his hands.

"No!" I cried. 'Wait-what are you doing?" I asked as I heard something hard, metallic, and sharp tapping against the dead coral. I tried to pry the fingers off my wrist to no avail.

Then a beam of light, brighter than the moonlight slanting in through the opening, dazzled me for a moment.

Then, as my eyes adjusted, I gasped at what I saw.

A magnificent coral reef lay before my eyes. Inside the coral.

A marvelous palace, a giant coral village, a kingdom.

It would have been more spectacular... if it weren't for the fact that I was kind of being held prisoner.

The merman- yes, he was a merman, with a blue tail and a silver sheen over it- yanked me out of the safety of the dark coral.

"Wait!" I cried as he dragged me down. He clenched the trident- I guessed it was what he used t0 open the gateway- and that told me to shut my mouth.

We swam over the streets of the city, where merpeople with tails in a dazzling array of colors stared and pointed at us. The tails all shimmered softly in the light of the corals.

He dove down to the palace gate, even as I protested, then saluted the guard in golden armor. "I need to see the queen," he said. "I think she's an enemy from another kingdom."

"You may enter," said the guard, frowning at me as we passed.

He hauled me through the courtyard with vibrant coral about an odd fountain that spewed golden liquid, rather than water, and into the actual building.

Into the throne room.

The walls was decorated with mother of pearl, alabaster, and hints of gold. There were statues of gold all about the room, in various poses.

The throne resembled a conch shell, but instead of hues of coral or peach creeping out of the center, it was gold. It was the most magnificent, beautiful thing I'd ever seen.

Then... there was the queen herself.

I could tell she was the queen immediately.

She had a pure white tail with a silver sheen over it. She wore white shells flecked with silver. Her face was perfection, with charcoal eyes and hair. Her lips were an exquisite red.

She was even more perfect than Bella Hadid.

She wore a fierce, but king expression as she stared down at her subject. "Please," said the blond-haired woman kneeling at her feet. "I've come to you every day for thirteen years. Please. Let me go to the human world. I need to find my daughter!"

"Avrea," said the queen. "You know the law. I cannot just change it. It has existed for thousands of years."

"Please, why can't you make an exception?" the woman sobbed.

"I am sorry," she said. She turned up to see the merman and me.

"What is this?" she asked.

"An enemy," he growled, throwing me at her feet. Luckily, the water slowed my movement and I was left kneeling at her fins.

"Your Highness," I said, looking up into her dark eyes. "I've been in the human world for the past thirteen years, I have no harmful intentions with you or your people!"

"Ah, so a different kind of treason," she said coldly.

"No!" I cried. "I washed ashore, I'm only fifteen!"

"No one is allowed to leave the ocean," she shouted over me. "Sanver, kill her."

"No!" I screamed as the merman- Sanver, apparently- lifted his trident high above his head. The blond mermaid's eyes widened as it swung down in an arc of shiny pearl.

"No!" cried the blond mermaid, throwing herself at the trident and pushing it off course.

The queen leaped off her giant conch, her eyes blazing. "WHAT DID YOU JUST DO, AVREA?" she shouted, glaring down at the mermaid.

"Don't kill her!" Avrea begged, shielding me.

"Why should I listen to you?" the queen demanded, taking the trident from Sanver and hefting it.

"Because," said Avrea. "She's my daughter."

...

Thank you for reading!! If you want to read more of this series, please like, share, and subscribe!!

Part Five is coming out on July 17.

And a quick confession- I don't know how long this series will go. I have the storyline worked out but I have no idea how many more parts I need to tack on.

So, um, stick along for the ride- it's gonna be exciting!!

Young AdultSeriesLoveFableAdventure
6

About the Creator

Cezanne Libellen

I am an ailurophile, xocolatophile, linguaphile, lexophile, and a bibliophile. Writing is my passion. I am currently working on a novel. Subscribe and share my stories if you want to see more of my work!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    Very intriguing, now on to part five. How are you young one, hope you are still writing your stories.

  • Ian Read11 months ago

    The plot deepens! Your world-building is en pointe, you tell us so much about merfolk society without breaking immersion in such a short span. I'm interested to see how these new characters play into the intrigue.

  • Doc Sherwood12 months ago

    I see Donna below has already covered some of my very favourite aspects to this latest installment, so to echo her, your descriptive writing is just stunning here and draws us deeper and deeper into the depths right alongside Haven. It's a world both beautiful and scary under the sea, culminating magnificently in the coral kingdom which is spectacular to see, but can also be harsh, warlike and cold, no doubt setting the tone for intrigues to come later in the story (especially interesting is the mention of enemy kingdoms of mer-people - the plot thickens the farther down you go!). As has also been observed by now, Haven's internal narrative is another huge high point here. Like your other fans, I love how suddenly her mermaid identity creeps up on her that she surprises herself with her newfound distance from the human world. The little side-note on environmentalism, as Haven confronts the sad reality she dismissed in her old life as mere "tree-hugging," is so innocuously slipped-in that it's all the more powerful for it. Not that it's all doom and gloom, because the humorous touches are first rate too, and the Bella Hadid line had me cackling! This chapter comes straight out of left field (to deploy an allusion to a national game that is not my own and about which I know nothing). Kim, Alan, Sloane and Dave go on hold, while you do far more than merely introduce new characters, but rather expand exponentially the entire premise of this series. You keep surprising us, Cezanne, and I can't wait for Chapter Five!

  • Lamar Wiggins12 months ago

    This installment was full of underwater beauty. I loved the descriptions. The queens seems a little bitchy haha. Can’t believe she is prepared to kill Haven. It will be interesting to see how her mother convinces the queen to let her be.

  • Ahhh, so Haven is Avrea's daughter! I would really love to know how she washed up ashore! Eagerly waiting for the next part!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 months ago

    Cezanne, I am in love with the scene when Haven is first underwater. It felt so natural and relatable, the pain followed by pure bliss as she took in her new identity. It was interesting how easily her mind set flipped to that of a mermaids, almost immediately calling humans “they”. Even though only hours earlier she was in her own perception a human. I liked seeing how quickly she was able to embrace her newly discovered self, it was enlightening and engaging. I wasn’t expecting her to discover a to Mer-kingdom, this story just keeps getting better and better! I know I say this in every comment I make but I simply adore your knack for descriptive language. It reads just so seamlessly and naturally. You have this ornate ability to create worlds and scenery that are so breath taking, then an even greater ability to transport the reader to this place in your mind. I am so excited to see Haven reunited with her birth mother!! What a beautiful and slightly terrifying reunion, I am so excited for part 5!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.