Fiction logo

From Feet to Fins Part Three

Touching the Tides

By Cezanne LibellenPublished 11 months ago 6 min read
8
From Feet to Fins Part Three
Photo by Cristian Palmer on Unsplash

WE ARE AT PART THREE!! I CANNOT BELIEVE IT!!

Please note that this is *PART THREE* of a multi-part series, so please go back and read Stolen From the Tides and Encroaching Waters. If you already read them, sit back and enjoy!!

...

I caught a glimpse of long copper waves of hair, flowing out behind the girl's head as she walked into the cafe. I pulled my walkie-talkie out of my back pocket and said, "Target acquired. Permission to proceed?"

The talkie crackled as the person on the other end said, "Permission granted."

I stuck the talkie back in my pocket and nonchalantly walked across the street to the cafe the girl had walked into.

I walked in just as she stuck her hand into her purse for her wallet.

I reached for my back pocket. I had the perfect weapon.

"No, don't worry," I pulled out my wallet. "I can cover it."

...

I stared at Kim, my mouth gaping, my mind swimming as I tried to comprehend the words she'd said.

Suddenly, the dizziness evaporated and I began to boil with white-hot anger.

"WHY WOULDN'T YOU TELL ME?" I exploded.

"Haven-" Kim tried to interject, but I cut her off.

"YOU SHOULD HAVE TOLD ME!! YOU SHOULDN'T HAVE JUST KEPT THIS A SECRET FROM ME!" I smacked her comforting hand away from me and ran outside, out to the ocean. I raced to the waves, splashing softly against the shore.

I stopped right at the edge, staring out at the horizon. Kim came to my side. "Haven, Haven!" she cried, pulling me away from the ocean, her face streaked with tears. "Please, you can't do this right now. Listen to me!"

I looked at her with steely eyes. "Why? Why should I listen to you? I never even knew who I was for the past twelve years of my life! I never knew why I didn't fit in! I never knew why my hair was pink. I never knew anything, thanks to you!!"

I plopped down in the silky white sand, digging my hands into the sand and drizzling it all over my lap.

"Haven, if you had known you were a mermaid when you were six years old, you would have been bragging about it to the other girls."

"What's the harm in that?" I spat, glaring at her viciously again. She winced but continued.

"Haven, people would become curious. People would come to study you. They might even take you to a lab to experiment on you," I suddenly realized the sense in what she was saying. "That's no life for a child."

"So what do I do now? Now that I've never swum a day in my life, I'm just supposed to magically take to the sea?"

"Haven, mermaids are magical," Kim said, setting her hand on my shoulder. "I'm sure it will be intuitive."

"Okay," I said, standing up and taking a step toward the ocean. I felt a tremor of fear and excitement rumble in my gut.

"Haven, wait!" Kim cried, grabbing my wrist. "Please wait until Alan gets back! He needs to be here!"

I stared back into the ocean. The desire to go somewhere I would belong, the thrill of contemplating the excitements that lurked under the sea, diminished. I sighed.

"Fine," I told her, looking back to the ocean wistfully. Soon, I thought,

...

The walk back home was long. When I got to my house, I was drenched in sweat. I pushed my damp black hair out of my eyes as I walked through the doorway.

As the door slammed, I saw something jerk on the couch. The something was a man with a bald head and a stained shirt, clutching a brown, long-necked bottle.

"Whozere?" he slurred, his tiny, olive-green eyes flicking around the room. He recognized me and sighed.

"Ah. Sloane," he sighed, laying back. "Anything useful?"

"Yes," I replied. "Let me go take a shower, first."

I passed him on my way to the hall and he grabbed my wrist, yanking me back toward him. He leaned up to snarl in my face, "Tell me what you found out."

"Let me take a shower," I said calmly.

"No!" he spat, glaring up at me. "You earn your shower by telling me what you know!"

I winced. I didn't need to shower because I was sweaty (although that was a factor). I needed to shower because frankly, I was jarred by my experience in the cafe.

As I recalled the way that girl looked at me... the electricity running up my spine as, when I flirted with her, she flirted back.

I couldn't risk attraction- attachment- on this mission.

I needed to get away, to mull it over in the shower, to banish anything I felt (or thought I felt) for Haven Levine.

Talking about it was only going to make it worse.

I yanked my wrist out of his grasp and raced down the hall to the shower, ignoring Dave's shouts. Escaping from him- and from Haven.

I locked the bathroom door, clean clothes in my hand. I turned it on as cold and hard as I could.

It was like hail, hitting my shoulders, back, and head. Chilled, I turned the knob sharply.

Scalding water assaulted my skin, pounding me as I thought of the way Haven looked at me.

The steam distorted everything, twisting it. The sunlight beaming in through the window blazed into my eyes and turned Haven's hair to fire. But nothing could change the undeniable attraction in her eyes

I cried out and turned the knob back to cold, but made the pressure softer.

It was like a cold drizzle, soothing my red, hot skin. I washed the sweat from my skin under that cold water, afraid to turn it to lukewarm. Warm water against my skin would burn. Cold water was the only safe option.

I emerged from the bathroom in a gray shirt and sweatpants. Dave was sitting up on the couch, looking grumpy. "Well, care to share?" he asked caustically.

I winced. It wasn't his acetic tone that stung- it was that a shower had been unable to cure my restless feelings regarding Haven Levine.

"Yes," I said in a steady voice. "I introduced the possibility of a secret. What if they don't tell her?"

"They will," he said certainly. I wasn't sure how he could be sure.

"What's our next move?" I asked.

"Did she agree to meet you tomorrow?"

"Um, she said she'd be at the cafe tomorrow," I said. "I'll see her then."

"If she doesn't just take off," he muttered.

"You said she loves her parents," I snapped. "Trust me. She will."

...

My anger burned down from a raging bonfire to a flickering flame to hot coals, then was spent, burned down to ash that crumbled when I tried to liven the fire again.

I couldn't leave Kim and Alan forever. I loved them too much, and they loved me as much as I loved them.

I went downstairs and found Kim reading a book on the charcoal gray couch. I sat down next to her and wrapped my arms around her shoulders. An unspoken forgiveness.

I laid my head on her shoulder and she kissed it.

I went back upstairs to my room and lay on my bed. Sleep came easily with the knowledge that I would be awake at night. Exploring the seas- my home.

...

I was awake before Alan came home. I heard murmuring downstairs and then quiet. It wasn't long before Alan came upstairs and sat at the foot of my bed, where I was still curled up in a blanket.

"So," he said. "Kim told you."

"Yeah," I replied softly.

"You're going into the ocean tonight?" he asked.

"Yeah."

"Will you be coming back?"

I sat up, startled into silence by such an assumption. "Of course!!" I cried, glaring at him.

"Oh," he said as I threw my arms around his neck. His arms encircled me and I tucked my face into his shoulder.

"I will always come back," I promised, my voice muffled and quavering with tears that were stinging my eyes.

He sighed, leaning back.

"Tonight," he said.

...

I slipped out of the house, racing across the white sand. I had a pink and white striped towel draped over my bare shoulders, exposed by the thin straps of my yellow tank top.

I set my towel on the moonlit sand.

I approached the water slowly, but it rushed eagerly to meet me.

The water brushed the tip of my toe-

And pain erupted in my legs.

...

Thank you for reading!! Part Four is going to come out on July 3. Please like, share, subscribe, and leave a comment and insights if you want to see more!! I am thrilled to share the rest of this story.

You have no idea how much it helps to see your supportive comments!!

Sorry this one is late, I forgot to publish it!! So sorry y'all!!

Young AdultSeriesLoveFantasyFable
8

About the Creator

Cezanne Libellen

I am an ailurophile, xocolatophile, linguaphile, lexophile, and a bibliophile. Writing is my passion. I am currently working on a novel. Subscribe and share my stories if you want to see more of my work!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Ian Read10 months ago

    Interesting development with the perspective shifts, I'm interested to see what you do with them! Awesome work!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    Cezanne, I am so excited to see a part three!!! I’ll be reading part four shortly after this!! As in the previous instalments, your descriptive language is so on point! I love you ability to add insightful details that really add to the story as opposed to taking away with too much detail. I liked the changes in perspectives, it added to the layering of the story. Giving us extra context and insights, very smart! I wasn’t expecting that ending, I will definitely be reading that next part now!!

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    Better late than never. HMM, Slaone and Dave? Wonder what happens now. What happens with the pian? Till next time then.

  • Oh God, what are Sloane and Dave up to?! Also, omgggg, I can't wait for Haven's transformation! Eagerly waiting for chapter 4!

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    👏👏👏 Very good! I'm becoming attached to Haven's cause. The drama and revelations in this chapter were exciting. Can't wait till July 3rd.

  • Doc Sherwood11 months ago

    Now there's how to start my day, Part Three! Everything else goes on hold...! I knew there were questions hanging over Sloane, but you have taken me totally by surprise with this chapter. I'm still reeling that he ALREADY knows Haven's secret, that he was ahead of her finding out in fact! Wow. The way you pull this shocker off is incredible. Besides a sneaking sense of intrigue at this mysterious boy, I never saw it coming. In Dave meanwhile, gross and horrible as well as sinister, we've met our bad guy. Sloane is not the bad guy, not quite. Of which more later... This is a galling chapter for poor Haven, as she wrestles with a revelation which must feel to her like betrayal on the part of Kim and Alan, and also must choose where the path of her destiny lies - here on land with them, or home to the element which birthed her. That said, define "home!" Yet Haven, of course, is not the only one wracked with the agony of choice... Because the way you narrate her finding her way unknown and unbidden into Sloane's heart, is itself the heart of this chapter. Although we're wary about him and his alliance with nasty Dave, we feel for him too as Haven's beauty and innocence slowly but surely awaken in him not only tenderness, but also the first stirrings of conscience. Technically there's such incredible writerly finesse on your part, Cezanne, as this journey to self-understanding began for Sloane in Chapter Two, and the way you alternate between his narration and Haven's here is superb. This device not only allows you to accomplish the huge and terrifying surprise of the first section, but also chart the gradual destabilizing of Sloane's amoral mercenary world. I'm loving this series, please keep it coming!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.