Fiction logo

Forgot the name of the story

Chapter 3

By Antoinette L BreyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3
Forgot the name of the story
Photo by Álvaro CvG on Unsplash

Tommy couldn't forget Sarah. She had always been so full of life. He called her again He had done some research on Stigma. He knew she didn't want to talk about it. She was happy to hear from him when he called. She told him she was feeling okay. Her doctor had finally stopped calling. He had left her all these stigma meetings from NAMI. Tommy hesitated a little before continuing, He was unsure if he should proceed. "NAMI is an organization of parents of people with mental illness. If your father was alive he would most likely be at these meetings sharing your medical conditions with anybody who attended the meeting. They blame all the family problems on the person with the mental illness. Imagine trying to hold your head up high then. The funny thing is most of these parents who think their childrens' problems should be made public, do not share with anybody about their own mental illness." He changed the topic " But you should not be going through any of this, you do not have a mental illness, if your father had not taken your dreams away none of this would have happened. We would be married, we would have children. We would both be working, You would have dreams. God did not put you on this earth to be glued to the television. Sarah found herself smiling. He cared, he kept calling, and he was being supportive. He might not be delusional she thought. He was learning just like her. How were two average people supposed to understand this medical stuff? For the first time in ages she thought about a future with a man. The man she had previously wanted to marry. She felt a little nervous. She wondered if he was just concerned for her or if he wanted a life with her. She couldn't get herself to ask, but for the first time in a long time, she was hoping. She wondered if she had enough to offer, she had sort of dropped out of life. She hadn't noticed that the conversation had stopped. She was deep in thought. He knew she was deep in thought and dared to ask what she was thinking about. "I guess it was a bad idea," she said "to go to the therapist. They wouldn't even address our initial issue. He was smiling now. "The guy was crazy." Tommy said "he didn't even talk with us. I guess by our appearance he could diagnose us in five minutes. She laughed "Yes, the idea of that is sort of crazy. He was bragging about his diagnosis ability. It took years for me to become me, and he was going to understand what made me tick in five minutes. I just assumed that since he had medical training, I am so sorry I put you through all this" Then she got the surprise of her life." Do you want to go back to our original plans" he asked, She wanted nothing more than to marry him. That had been her dream in the past and that was her dream again. Then he surprises her even more " I want to marry you regardless of your mental health. I can't tell you not to take medication it is your life it is your decision. You were born to live your life. I am just hoping it is with me" She was so sure but she was scared. "I don't look the same, I have gained weight". He laughed " You are still the same person, I fell in love with. I'll think you look gorgeous regardless of your weight." She smiled " Well we have finally answered the question we should ignore my father's dying request. We were born to get married.

Love
3

About the Creator

Antoinette L Brey

I am an elder in a time of freedom. I am now retired. All i want to do is have fun. Without a daily routine, my imagination is one of my only salvations. I am not planning on writing a book, it is just for my own pleasure

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Lovely & loved it!!!👏💖😊💕

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    This is a sweet romantic story.

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    So cute , I love a good romantic story. This is definitely romatico

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.