Fiction logo

Finding my Other Half

Short Story

By Delaney CarlsonPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Finding my Other Half
Photo by Nicola Fioravanti on Unsplash

Finding My Other Half

Introduction

Maya Cutworth was an unusual girl. She lived in a small town with her mother, the only family she’s ever known. That is one of the only usualish things about her.

She first knew how unusual she was when she began having surgeries at the age of 9 for things doctors couldn't explain. Since then, she’s had 2-5 every year.

Finally they are all over, and she is having her last one now.

Chapter 1: Finally.

Maya’s POV

I try to breathe as deeply and calmly as I can as I lay down on the hospital bed. The gown itches, and the mask they put on my face hurts my skin, but I know that when I come out of this surgery, I will be better. Finally.

“Alrighty Maya, for the last time now; 10.. 9.. 8..” As I drifted into sleep I thought of my life up until now. I had been an odd kid. Others would point and stare, or just whisper and laugh. I don't seem unusual; I just feel unusual. The doctors don't know what happened to me. Most surgeries did absolutely nothing, except prove that anything they did didn't help.

As a child I would randomly faint or throw up without warning. There was something in me that was making me feel unwell, and destroying me slowly from the inside. Sometimes I would see weird colours in my skin because of things happening in me. I was never informed I was dying. Not until I began to live again, anyways.

I felt my mother squeeze my hand, this surgery was the most dangerous so far; it could go horribly wrong, but it could also go right and I would be hopefully cured of whatever it is I have. They’re doing surgery on my organs, that's as far as I know. I don't ask for details of what they do to me because it disturbs me imagining it.

“Sweetie? You there darling?” My mother’s soft, warm voice whispered in my ear. My eyes fluttered open and she slowly kissed my forehead gently. Her curly hair tickled my face.

“Hello mum.” I smiled up at her, relieved my last surgery was complete. “Do they have the test results?” My voice was cracked and broken from lack of water since the start of surgery. The doctors performed tests on me during the surgery to make sure I was completely cured and to assure there was nothing else wrong with me.

“Yes dear, we’ll get them on the way out. For now just rest for a while.” Her kind face smiled at me warmly.

Then I passed out again, drowsy from all the medicine in me.

When I awoke I felt another presence in the room. My eyes shot open and I saw my mother asleep in the chair beside me and a strange man in my hospital room.

“Excuse me?!” I shouted, using my accent to put on a most repulsed tone.

“I am so sorry if I startled you, ma’am! I'm a nurse; see? I came in to make sure that you were still stable.” He said quickly, showing me his lanyard.

“I most certainly am stable. Am I leaving soon?” I asked him abruptly.

“Ah.. Yes, you are, ma’am.” He seemed to be stumbling on his words. He turned back to the machine I was hooked up to. Years of being neglected by others was making me lash out.

“I'm sorry.. And please don't call me ma’am, it makes me feel old.” We both chuckled lightly.

“Of course, I didn't want to seem stalkerish by calling you by your name. The doctor will come by in a moment to check you're alright and she’ll unhook you from this. Then you can get ready and leave, you'll get your test results then.” He flashed me a smile and left quickly.

Short Story

About the Creator

Delaney Carlson

I’m a cringy author uploading stories I wrote when I was like 10, so please enjoy the depressed weirdness.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    DCWritten by Delaney Carlson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.