Fiction logo

Finding May's Father

A Short Story

By Shelley WengerPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
1
Photo Courtesy of Canva

Raising a daughter alone is always hard, but I tried not to complain. Since I had May at the tender age of sixteen, I started my new life as a mother. I worked hard, graduated from high school, and found a decent job. Times were hard, but I was so proud of my beautiful daughter.

The year that May turned ten, there was a decline in businesses. I ended up joining a large number of people who were out of a job. Because of my age and the fact that I was a single mother, it was impossible to rise above the others to find a job. I had no choice but to find May's father, to get some help. I was hoping he wouldn't make me beg.

I met Carl when I was fifteen and quickly fell in love. A few months after we started dating, I lost my virginity to him, expecting to marry him someday. Several months later, I found out that I was pregnant. Since we were in love, I wasn't too worried about telling him. We would just start our family sooner than we had planned. However, he didn't take it well. He accused me of sleeping around. We broke up and he moved on with his life. After high school, he moved away and I haven't seen him since. The worst part is that I still love him, mostly because he gave me a precious daughter.

I decided to make our trip to find Carl a vacation. We stayed in a hotel, watching movies and ordering in. It took me several days to get ready to face May's father.

Eventually, I couldn't put it off anymore. After driving around for a while, I found his trailer. I squeezed May's hand and then raised my hand to knock on the door. The door opened and, suddenly, Carl was right in front of us.

"Hello," he started before he realized who I was. "Oh my! Tina, what are you doing here?"

"Can I come in? We have some matters to discuss."

"Sure, I guess. The place is a mess." He moved aside to give us room to walk into his trailer. "What's up?"

"Can we talk in the kitchen while May watches TV?"

"Sure, I guess that won't hurt. What do you want to watch May?" He made sure that she was fascinated by the television before leading the way into the kitchen.

"What do you want Teen?" he asked. I softened, hearing my nickname. I couldn't forget the reason why I was here.

"I need help."

"What kind of help?"

"Help with your daughter?"

"My daughter? Are we seriously going to do this again?"

"THIS is my life, Carl. And times aren't good. You got off the hook before, but I can't do this on my own anymore."

"Why me?"

"You are her father! That gives you certain responsibilities, responsibilities that you haven't taken care of."

"I don't know for sure that she's mine."

"Well, then let's have a test. I want to prove it. I should have done this a long time ago. All I'm asking is for you to take the test so you can know for sure. Then, you can help. Can you do that for me? For May?"

"All right. I'll do it. When?"

"Tomorrow?"

"Ok."

"I'll pick you up at nine. I have got to get going." I hurried out the door, grabbing May on the way.

The next morning, I was there ten minutes before nine. Carl ran out and jumped in the car. He shyly kissed me on the cheek. I pulled away.

"Good morning girls," he said cheerfully. "May, how are you?"

"All right," she whispered.

"Should we go out for breakfast, my treat?" Before I could decline, May agreed for the both of us. "Well, I guess it is all set."

We found a small pancake house and after filling up, we hurried to the center to finally confirm that Carl was the father.

The doctor was very nice as he explained the procedure. He was really gentle with May. He stressed the importance of us staying around until we could get the results. He wanted us to be all together when we found out. Finally, it was time to get some cells. We left in a hurry with May crying on the way out. After some French fries at a fast-food joint, I was ready to drop Carl off.

"Why don't you stay awhile, Teen? It could be like old times, you and me."

"Like old times? When you got me pregnant and left? I loved you and would have done anything for you." I took a break. "We can't do this in from of my daughter."

"Teen, come on. Stay. I want to get to know you, the beautiful woman standing in front of me. Let's watch a movie together, like a family."

"Like a family? The family you never cared enough about to stick around when it got rough? I don't know why you want that now."

"I've grown up. I graduated high school and go a good job. I live by myself. I've changed. Why don't you meet the new me? The better me? A man that I think you would be proud of?"

Photo Courtesy of Canva

"I can't be proud of you, Carl. You walked out on me when I needed you the most."

"I was young. Besides, I am still not sure that she is mine."

"What? You still don't believe me? You were the only boy that I ever was with. Ever! There is no possible way for anyone else to be the father."

"The results will tell us for sure. Meanwhile, we have a couple of days to kill. Why don't we get to know each other again? I can get to know May. I want you to learn more about me. I think you could love me again."

"LOVE? I have loved you since the day that I met you all those years ago. And maybe I still do I don't know. But that's not the point."

"What's the point? Why did you come back after all of these years?"

"Because I need your help. I can't raise her on my own. I have tried. I just can't do it alone. She needs a father. She needs you in her life."

"We will let the results determine that. Please come in. Want to come in May?" he asked, reaching for her hand. "It's all settled. Come on. What movie should we watch?" May held on to his hand in a way that tugged at my heart.

"What do you have?"

"I'm sure we can find something. Come on Teen." I smiled and followed him in. May hardly connected to strangers, but it was as if she knew that Carl was her father.

We spent those days waiting with Carl. We were there when the phone rang. The results were in and it was time to find out, for sure, that Carl was her father.

"Are you ready?" he asked me.

"I've been ready for ten years. I hope you are too," I said meanly. The tension between us that had finally disappeared was back in the air.

A few minutes later, we were back in the same room, nervously awaiting the doctor. This time, Carl was busy joking around with May while I read magazines, watching them with interest. After a long wait, the doctor finally appeared, along with another man. He introduced the man as a well-known psychiatrist.

"Are you ready for the results?" Seeing us nod, he continued. "Carl Smith, you are the father of May Adams." Both men left the room for a few minutes, giving us time for the news to sink in.

"I told you, Carl. There was never anybody else! There hasn't been anyone else since you either!"

"I'm sorry Teen," he said, reaching for my hand. "I truly am sorry." At that moment, both men walked back into the room.

"I know that you just got the results, but have you thought about where you want to go from here? Any of you?"

"Well," I started. "May and I will just go home. All I want is some help. It's so hard being a single mom - a jobless single mother."

"Carl, what do you think?" the doctor asked.

"Well, I don't like that," he answered.

"Why not?"

"Well this week, I met two great people. My old girlfriend, who has grown into a wonderful woman, and my little girl who is just the sweetest. I am falling in love with them and I want to help. I want to be there for them from now on. I want to be a family. I want them to be my family."

"Tina, how does this make you feel?"

"It's surprising. I must admit that the past few days brought back the dreams that I had back when I first found out I was pregnant. But he ran out on me. How am I supposed to forget that? How do I know he won't do it again when things get hard?"

Before the doctor could reply, Carl surprised himself when he cried out. "I won't. Teen, I love you and I love May. I really do. Even if you don't want to love me, I want to be a part of both of your lives."

"Are you willing to move with us?"

"Yes, I am sure that I could find a job near you. If I could sleep on your couch until I find a place to stay?"

"You already have a place to stay," I said, smiling. The doctors both left us alone in the room. Carl pulled me into his arms, while May looked on in amazement. Carl then grabbed her and pulled her into our hug.

"Well, how do we want to spend our first day as a family," Carl asked.

"Honestly, I could take a nap. Maybe we can come over later for dinner?"

"I could watch her while you sleep," Carl offered.

"No, that's fine. She can come with me."

"But I'm her daddy," he said, turning to May. "May, do you want to come and hang out with me?"

"Yes, Carl."

"It's Daddy now."

"Daddy?" she asked, clearly confused.

"I am your daddy now. I guess I should have realized it a long time ago."

May turned to look at me for permission. "Well, I guess you can go if you want to May."

"Yes Mommy, I want to be with Daddy," she said with a smile, grabbing his hand. The two left, hand in hand, leaving me all alone for the first time in years. I slowly walked to the car, and when I made it to the hotel, I fell asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow. A knock on the door woke me up, hours later.

"Teen, you there?"

"Come in Carl," I said sleepily as the door opened and May jumped in bed beside me.

"I missed you," she said, "I wanted to come back."

As we left the motel to grab some dinner, Carl held both of our hands tightly. As we watched a movie that night, Carl held me tightly. That night, before they went to bed, Carl kissed May for the first time. He then kissed me for several minutes before allowing me to sleep in his bed, while I took the couch. I guess he must have heard me crying because he joined me in the bedroom.

"Teen, are you alright?"

"I am. Will you hold me?" I asked.

"I'd love to," he said. He swiftly moved in beside me, holding me tightly. He kissed me again and we fell asleep mingled together. May must have joined us in the middle of the night. We finally were a family, just ten years late. But I definitely believe that late is better than never!

Photo Courtesy of Canva

family
1

About the Creator

Shelley Wenger

Small town country girl in southern Pennsylvania. Raising two boys on a small farm filled with horses, goats, chickens, rabbits, ducks, dogs, and a cat. Certified veterinary technician and writer at Virtually Shelley.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test5 months ago

    Your writing skills are truly impressive. I loved it. Kudos for your effort! Keep up the exceptional work

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.