Fiction logo

Final act

Telltale crimson trail: part 11

By Raymond G. TaylorPublished 3 months ago Updated 18 days ago 1 min read
12
AI-generated image

The top pane flew out with a crash. Through the lower window, I saw four officers reach for their side arms as I stepped forward to the window space waving the pistol.

Read Crimson Trail from the beginning

In the excitement, I had completely forgotten Stevie, still standing there. A searing pain exploded though my arm as she careened into me. Falling headlong, I lost grip of the pistol, which slid along the rug. As I reached for it, a hand grabbed my wrist and with one movement flipped the cuff around it. Then a wrench and it joined its partner behind my back.

“Weapon clear!” She shouted toward the window, before growling at me: “You are not getting out of it that easy.”

As the patrol boys burst through the door, Stevie grabbed the cuffs and dragged me up on my feet. A shove from behind sent me stumbling towards a young, nervous looking recruit.

“You take him in. I never want to see him again.” This hurt more than the over-tight handcuffs. I recalled from basic training how women recruits delighted in inflicting pain on their male colleagues. In this case, I guess I earned it.

“I’m sorry Stevie.”

“Are you? I saw the warrant for his arrest this morning. Came a week ago. State Narcotics would have lifted him by now. But you knew that, didn’t you?”

As the officers turned to the door with me, she halted them, before roughly unlocking the shackles, telling the young recruit:

“Use your own damn cuffs!”

MysteryPsychologicalMicrofiction
12

About the Creator

Raymond G. Taylor

Author based in Kent, England. A writer of fictional short stories in a wide range of genres, he has been a non-fiction writer since the 1980s. Non-fiction subjects include art, history, technology, business, law, and the human condition.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    Well... Just read the remaining episodes and crazy stuff! I liked how it turned out he did it for revenge but was still routing for him to get away, lol. It will all catch up to you one day and it just caught up to John. Oh well, I would go visit him...lol.

  • Thanks to all for the kind words. An undercover agent? I should probably do an epilogue to tie up loose ends. My intention was that John was an honest cop who murdered out of revenge. He executed the drug runner responsible for his brother’s death. I am delighted that some would like to read a continuing story and there would be plenty of detail to add outside of the 250 word format. I will think on but might have to locate such a story closer to home. That or book a road trip around MA and fit in some social calls to Andover PD, the medical centre and morgue 😀

  • Mark Graham3 months ago

    You are producing quite the drama.

  • Stevie is still alive 😭😭😭😭😭😭 Why you do this to me Raymond? Lol, loved this series so much!

  • Scott Christenson3 months ago

    "This hurt more than the over-tight handcuffs." that a great zinger! The undercover agent was a great twist, the plot thickens.

  • An undercover agent? He killed an undercover agent with intent? There's a whole lot more to this story. I don't believe you could possibly simply end it here. It will haunt you, lol.

  • Mackenzie Davis3 months ago

    Damn, I knew she'd be ruthless. Okay, so the William guy, did he kill John's wife and brother? Or maybe he got the brother into cocaine, which lead to his death? It's revenge, regardless of the details. "State Narcotics would have lifted him by now. But you knew that, didn’t you?" -- Does that mean that the William guy would have been arrested if John hadn't killed him, but that his goal was to prevent him going to jail in the first place? The backstory, it's still cloudy!! Also, I noticed that John says he can't go back, alluding to previous jail/prison time. I'm now off to reread the whole series to figure out why, lol. Ooh, someone could continue this by having John wrestle his way out, since Stevie removed hers... Fantastic wrap-up, Ray! Very well done. Still open enough for alternate storylines/continuations, but this is such a good pause (or end if that's what happens). Thanks for writing a thrilling mini series! I enjoyed it so much.

  • John Cox3 months ago

    Well done, sir!! Very well done. A stunner from start to finish!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.