Fiction logo

Fed-up

A Story

By Mother CombsPublished 14 days ago Updated 13 days ago 2 min read
6
Image by Giang Pham from Pixabay

Argh! It’s beyond irritating that our mother buys us the same things, like clothes, makeup, and perfume. But to top it off, she has to mimic everything I do. It's like living in a constant echo chamber.

Can you believe it? I went out for the band in the sixth grade. And guess what? Lorilei did, too. She even took the flute, just like I did, despite having no interest in it or the band.

I joined the Library Club in the eighth grade. Guess who walked in the doors soon after I did? Yep, you got it right. Lorilei did. When everyone in school KNEW she hated to read.

When we got to high school, Lorilei took the same classes as me, even though she struggled in Algebra and Chemistry. She didn’t stop there, though. I went out for the Majorettes, and guess what? So did Lorilei, but she couldn’t twirl a stick to save her life. I joined FBLA, and she joined. She joined everything I joined.

It has gotten to be aggravating.

But this, this is the final straw. I will not tolerate her doing what she’s done this time, for she’s gone above and beyond being a bitch on this one. I can’t believe she’s gone this far this time. We aren’t even close sisters, let alone identical twins, for her to do this to me.

You ask what she did this time; that was so bad that it set me off. You even say it can’t be that bad that I am overreacting this time. Just wait until I tell you.

I’ve been going steady with Roy Taylor for six months at school. He is a gorgeous boy in the school band who plays the drums. He wants to start his own rock band one day, and he’s good enough to do so, in my opinion. Anyway, I came home yesterday to find Lorilei and him in my bedroom, kissing!!! He swears he thought it was me, but I don’t know anymore.

Our mother says it’s one of those things twins do. I say it is wrong, and Lorilei needs to be punished severely. So our mother grounded Lorilei for two weeks—TWO WEEKS!! That little slap on the wrist will stop Lorilei from pretending to be me!

Well, I’ve had enough. It’s time for something to be done. That’s what I’m coming to you for. I have the cash; if you make Lorilei disappear forever, it’s all yours. If you can make it look like an accident, all the better. Just get rid of her.

How much money do I have? Let's say I was saving money for my first car and looking at a brand-new Dodge Charger. I’ve got two-thirds of that saved up. I’ll just do without a car for a while. I can ride the bus or my bike wherever I need to go. That should be more than enough money, though.

You say that it’s more than you usually ask for. Take it all anyway, and do twice as good of a job as you normally would. I want Lorilei erased from my life.

You’ll do it. Thank you. Now I never want to see you again. Goodbye.

PsychologicalYoung AdultShort StoryCONTENT WARNING
6

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran14 days ago

    I don't get it. She said they aren't even sisters but she also said "our mother" and that their mother said it's what twins do.

  • Andrea Corwin 14 days ago

    Well hope the money spent is worth it (you know, karma and all).🤔💕

  • Kendall Defoe 14 days ago

    Wow, I wonder how much I would charge... Excellent work!

  • Shirley Belk14 days ago

    that would be very aggravating...but wouldn't give up my cash

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.