Fiction logo

Dark Fae

A Story

By Mother CombsPublished 17 days ago 2 min read
11

Legends abound about me, passed down through the centuries. Some say I come for your soul to eat; others say I come for your children and leave changelings in their places. Most don’t believe in me, but a few still do. Those few cross themselves at every strange coincidence, praying I’ll pass their house and loved ones by.

Of all the legends about me, the stories all agree: when I come, it is with the rustling of a thousand insect wings. The tales are told that the person who is taken often complains about the sound of insectile buzzing getting louder and louder for days before they are gone.

The human eye cannot discern a pattern in my chosen victims. No one can tell who will be selected next until they hear my wings buzzing in their ears. I’ve been known to rupture eardrums with the buzzing; it’s so loud for my victim, but no one else is known to hear the sound.

The legends compare me to the Grim Reaper or the Angel of Death. I am neither and both at the same time. They have good reason to fear me, too, for I do not take them to Heaven or Hell. The place I take them is far worse than even they could imagine.

Contrary to the rumors and legends, I do not take their souls to be eaten. Their souls have nothing to do with what the Dark Fae are wanting. I bring the whole person back. Eating their soul or body has nothing to do with the tradition.

I take them back to the Palace of Nightmares, a place of torment for humans and pleasure for the Dark Fae and what Light Fae dare cross to the dark side. There, we Dark Fae have figured out a way to milk the terror out of humans. In turn, our chemists have designed a drug from this terror that any Fae can use and receive a high like no other.

This drug heightens our already heightened senses. It boosts our already fantastic speed. Or supernatural strength is sevenfold while on this drug. It is the drug of champions.

Soon, we will have enough of this drug to take back the human world. Once we have supplied our army, Humans, Beware.

FantasyShort StoryPsychologicalMicrofictionHorrorFableCONTENT WARNING
11

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Christy Munson14 days ago

    Thoroughly enjoyed this story! Dark and yummy. I especially liked "Dark Fae have figured out a way to milk the terror out of humans". Also, your artwork (not only this piece but across your Vocal universe) is divine. I don't write much having to do with fae, but I did write a longer fiction recently set in the Scottish highlands. In no way pushing you to read it, but if you are interested and have the time (about 15 minutes) here's the link for your convenience. https://vocal.media/fiction/until-we-meet-again-1o6y0f6g I think you might enjoy it, and I'd welcome your thoughts as something of an expert on fae and fae culture!!! 🖤🩵🖤

  • JBaz16 days ago

    Really good short story, love the build and the description of what the Fae do to those they choose.

  • Kenny Penn16 days ago

    A lot of us deserve this fate. Great concept MC!

  • Shirley Belk16 days ago

    Now that is truly dark and buzz worthy

  • I can't wait for them to take over hehehehehhee. Loved your story!

  • Hannah Moore17 days ago

    Milking the terror. Terrifying.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.