Fiction logo

False Annihilation (Pt.1)

A war begins by daylight, or does it...

By Rigved VangaPublished about a year ago 3 min read
(don't mind the www.Desktopbackground.org link but maybe visit the website)

As the bells gonged tens of thousands of soldiers marched to the battlefield.

I was one of them.

For years there had been a feud that separated our two kingdoms.

The reason the feud started is a reason even the elders don't know.

We've learned to deal with the continuous battle though.

Every morning til evening we fight on the field.

Luckily for years, I'd survived, but today something felt odd.

Even the other soldiers felt the same way as me (which is extremely rare).

When someone stumbled and fell that's when the rest of us realized it.

The sun didn't rise.

For a few moments, there was some collective laughter about how well we knew our schedule and that we didn't know the sun stayed down.

Soon enough though the mood changed to panic.

There was some rustling in the bushes.

One easily frightened man screamed out "ARE THEY IN THE BUSHES?"

For once everyone actually believed that man.

We held our swords tight in hand, shivering in fear.

Within seconds tons of 'Thwoks' were heard.

I turned to see 3 soldiers pinned to the ground with arrows.

I collapsed in fright and landed on someone else.

"Hey watch it, kid!" he shouted at me.

"Sorry," I said while sweating immensely.

I sat down for a bit to rest, and it was a good thing I did because in mere moments an arrow hit the person right behind me.

Scared and frightened by the arrow I stumbled forward.

I tripped on a rock and grabbed a leg.

It was someone in the bushes.

I pulled on their leg, which caused them to walk out of the bushes startled.

The man was dressed in the gear of the other army, so naturally everyone charged at him.

I took an arrow out of my quiver and placed it in my bow shakily.

The arrow started to glow with a dim orange light.

Shocked by the sudden change I let loose my arrow in the direction of the mountain instead of the soldier.

"Oops," I said with a fake smile on my face.

Everyone gave me a cold stare.

Just then a big boom was heard.

My arrow hit the mountain and broke it down revealing a large board settled on the sun to keep it from rising any higher.

Excited I pulled another arrow and launched it into the board ( don't ask me how the board worked).

The arrow instantly shattered the board causing a shower of debris on the forest.

Happily, I watched the sunrise while everyone stared at me in awe trying to make their own arrows glow with that light.

The light disappeared after I put my bow away, which left me sad and disappointed.

I still found happiness by humming to the cries of the people in the forest as the debris fell upon them.

After nightfall (The debris shower lasted the entire time) I walked back to the military camps.

I was pretty sure I had enough army tokens (Tokens used to get new gear and weapons from the army's general store) to buy myself a full set of iron gear.

I marched towards the general store to buy myself some things.

When the cashier told me how many tokens it cost I reluctantly handed over all the tokens I had.

I went to my bed to sleep hoping for a similar day tomorrow.

******

I yawned as the gonging of the bells woke me up.

Thankfully the sun was shining bright in the sky.

I hurriedly ran to the battlefield and saw dozens of soldiers so scared that they became paralyzed.

What happened was the other army had returned, but not alone.

This time they came with citizens and war machines from completely different galaxy clusters (and packed lunches).

I froze in terror, we stood no chance against them in our current state.

The only way to win was to have the same power as yesterday.

I swiftly pulled out my bow and arrows.

There was a problem though when I set the arrow in position the light didn't appear.

How could make the light appear in time?

SeriesSci FiFantasyAdventure

About the Creator

Rigved Vanga

Well I write about things?

That I'm interested in

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Rigved VangaWritten by Rigved Vanga

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.