Fiction logo

Fading Snow

Hollow Creation

By TaxyPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Like
Fading Snow
Photo by Michal B. on Unsplash

A woodland walk helped me appreciate the sunny aftermath of yesterday’s rare blizzard. In my youth, snow had covered the ground for weeks. A nuisance then, but now? The sparkling fluff rarely stuck.

You learn to appreciate what fades over time.

On the trail, small footprints scurried around larger ones, leaving lumpy snow creatures in their wake. A snowman, naturally. A puppy. A... rabbit? Returning tracks conveyed the family’s departure, but I cherished the warmth left behind.

Pressing on, I reached the shimmering meadow at the end of the trail.

I could leave something behind too.

Creativity had abandoned me long ago, but I could fake the feeling, for the sake of future footprints. They would see only the result - not the regret over life choices I hadn’t made.

Mittens made packing snow easier, so rough shapes clumped together nicely. Keys worked well for carving eyes, fur, scales. Frozen time passed as fantasy flowed from my freezing fingers, until finally a qilin awaited future hikers, if they hurried. And with it, a new myth to teach younger children. Hopefully.

I had not felt happy making it, but I was satisfied to see it done. Offering silent goodbyes to my creation, I began the trek home.

Only to rush back, awkwardly arranging myself on the ground for an ugly selfie with the qilin. I even smiled.

Who knew if I would ever play with snow again?

Memories fade. Perhaps looking back, I'd remember this moment as joyful.

That was worth something.

Microfiction
Like

About the Creator

Taxy

Practicing fiction in a digital public space for accountability and continuous improvement. Let's get writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Penny Fuller3 months ago

    I had to look up a qilin, and I'm so glad I did. This was a captivating little tale. Thank you!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.