Fiction logo

Eternal Love

Follow your heart

By Sherry jacksonPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2

I was overwhelmed with the elegance of the mansion’s beauty on entering the double doors to the entrance area with it’s checker board black and white marbled floor. I was greeted by the formally dressed butler with him taking my coat.

Yes, I thought to

myself really know how to live!

Stepping down the stairs to the sunken lovely living room filled with the upper class of society and well known participating in this fabulous fund raising - I was feeling a little insecure. What if Accidentally drop my fork or stumble on the expensive Persian rug. .Then I remembered who I was. An entertainment editor. They always loved me cause I was their doorway to the world. My arrivals showed the world how rich and elegant they were. Yes, I thought out loud , I have nothing to worry about just relax and enjoy!

Then I saw him standing with a group, tall slender and so good looking. He was looking at me.

His eyes met mine and something told me that my life would never be the same.

He kept watching me from across the room even I turned away. When I looked at him again he was still watching me.

Then he start walking toward me. I turned my back to him and began talking to the lady beside me. He interrupted our conversation.

May I have this dance ? He asked with his hand extended to me.

I moved with him without saying a word to the dance floor.

We began to dance to a slow romantic song

. I felt like Cinderella only my puffy princess sparkling moss green gown was rented and had to be returned no later than 12 tomorrow.

That didn’t stop me from going there in my mind as Cinderella and he my prince. He held me close and I could hear his heart beating next to mine.

It felt so natural like I had been made to fit into his arms. When the music stopped, we looked into each other’s eyes, I actually hear bells ringing.

For a few seconds we just stared at each other and then he said,

May I introduce myself - I’m George the son of the people who are giving this ball.

Who are you? He asked.

I’m Sarah Walton Editor of The Atlanta Entertainment Magazine.

What an splendid occupation, he replied.

I’m a writer also which makes me the black sheep of the family. Most of us don’t work- but I prefer it! He exclaimed.

Won’t you join me for lunch tomorrow?

Alright, I said to my surprise.

Well that good! He said.

He smiled at me and took a sip of a glass of wine he got from the Buffett table. He gave me a glass of wine from the same table and watched me as I took a drank.

I will be leaving now. I don’t usually attend these functions but sometimes I do it to please my mother but tonight - tonight I think the stars had other reason for me coming. He gave me a knowing look.

And that my dear is because of you!

Me? Now in this practical age you are not implying that some mystical force had brought you here tonight just so we could meet. I turned laughing to look into his handsome face to find him smiling down at me -no not smiling- it was a smirk!

Then he bent down and kissed me . I was so surprise with no time to protest, I stood there in shock. Then he turned and walked toward the entrance. He paused for a moment when he got to the door and turned and looked back at me. I got a thrilling chills that went like a lightening strike all though my body. Then he dashed out the door.

The next morning I was at my office desk when the phone ringed. I picked it up and he boldly said Good morning beautiful!

I smiled as I recognized his voice.

I’m down stairs, he filled me in. I’ll meet you at the restaurant across the street.

I will meet you there in as soon as I can get away.

Okay - that’s a deal! He bellowed though the phone.

I was wearing my favorite smart cranberry suite and black heels in anticipation of our lunch today.

When I walked slowly over to the table he was sitting in the restaurant I watched his eyes go up and down me in admiration as I came to him.

He grabbed my hand as soon as I sat down.

I’ve been waiting for you for so long-he sad in a deep sincere voice.

I looked at him -

What are you talking about- you don’t even know me. then his lips found mine with the sweetest most loving kiss I had ever had as I not able to stop myself returned it with just as much feeling.

Does that bring back

Memories ? He asked.

Well, if you mean last life time - it sort of rings a bell!

He laughed - yes that is what I’m talking about!

He ordered the most expensive items for both of us and it was a pleasant and memorable lunch.

After we ate, he took my hand snd looked in my eyes- come with me- come with me-now.

To my surprise- I said okay!

I called the office told them I was taking off for the afternoon.

I climbed into his convertible sports car - put a scarf on and let the wind freely caress my face. He drove in silence occasionally looking over at me like he couldn’t believe his eyes and smiled.

He turned on the radio and when a song came on that we both knew we would sing alone with it.

He drove out of the city into to a small town with local markets and shops. Then on to a country road beside grassy rolling hills and wild flowers. He turned the car off the main road and down a small dirt road to a cottage with red roses hanging above the door.

He got out the car and helped me out.

Welcome home darling!

What?

This is our home- I knew one day you would come to me - so when I sold my first book I brought it. He looked lovingly at the quaint cottage, I stand by that window everyday and wait-dreaming of the day when we would stand there together.

Now- you are here! He took my hand leading me up the flowered path to the door.

Oh I almost forgot something, he said.

Then he pulled out a beautiful sparkling green emerald ring and

got down on his knees and asked me to marry him.

To my surprise again I said yes!

He picked me up and swirled me around and kissed me passionately before he carried inside.

It was a decision to this very day I have no regrets as we stand here together looking out at the snow falling. Happily watching our three children with our grand kids playing in the snow on this xmas eve. Each year they come to spend Xmas Eve with us and share Christmas Day together, not wealth fame or position in society are what matters because for us love and family is everything.

My eternal love put his arms around me and I look up at him with such contentment and love ashe kisses me with the same confident and sweetness as the first time he kissed me on our first date at the restaurant!

Love
2

About the Creator

Sherry jackson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.