Fiction logo

Captured Love

Timelessly Together

By Sherry jacksonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2

My mom rushed out of the kitchen when she heard my brother’s voice. She put her arms around him with tears in her eyes as my dad stood proudly by.

It turned out he had come home for a visit from New York with a friend. They had attended culinary school together and now were thinking of opening a restaurant together. The moment I saw his friend,I felt some mystical connection, like I had seen him somewhere before and an usual feeling of comfort from his presence.

Dinner that night had a special feel to it.

Mom used the best linen table cloth and the fine China silverware, and crystals. Everyone dressed up in celebration of Jeff graduating. I wore my long silk green dress which I knew contrasted beautifully with my red hair. When I chanced to look into the mirror on the wall of flickering candle lights, I saw Kirk looking at me and his eyes locked with mine. It felt like a streak of lightening flashed between us. I forced myself to look away.

- [ ] After dinner my brother Kirk and myself, went for a walk down the dirt road in front of our large white house. We stop to watch the sunset sink lazily beneath the horizon with lingering sun rays touching our faces. I looked over at Kirk and he wasn’t looking at the sun but in deep thought looking at me. What’s wrong? I asked.

- [ ] Wrong- nothing! absolutely nothing.! I looked at him frowning then i saw the twinkle in his eyes with a smirking smile on his lips and realized he was talking about me. I smiled back at him and quickly turned away.

- [ ] My brother pretended not to hear us as he politely ignored the interchange that was happening between us.

- [ ] A few feet down the road without any light except silvery moon beans to guide us we came across the small cottage where my grand mother use to live. I still took care of it and even would always leave a light on, as though she was still there.

That’s where my grand mother use to live, and I looked down. Kirk turned to me and saw the look of sadness in my eyes and put his arm around me.

I can feel her love still surrounding you, he said comforting me.

What is that over there? Kirk asked.

Why that the family’s old red barn. It’s been here for generations. We don’t use it just keep as a token of our courageous ancestors.

Suddenly the air was filled with glowing firefly dancing in the warm breeze.

How beautiful! I exclaimed!

Everything felt mystical and magical. I couldn’t help but feel that it was because of Kirk— a excitement I hadn’t felt for a long time- like when Christmas was only s few days away.

Jeff my brother said, I will race you!My mind swiftly traveled to remembering those many fun days when we use to race home. My brother would always win!

Okay, I shouted.

Then all three of us raced home and sure enough my brother with his extra long legs got to the porch before Kirk and myself, winning again!

We were all three laughing and it felt like I was in elementary school again, young and carefree!

Well, I’m going say good night said my brother. He left Kirk and me sitting on the long wrap around porch gazing at the starry night sky .

I was sitting on the edge of the ledge of the porch when Kirk came and stood next to me.

You know you are the girl next door that Everyman is looking for- meaning you are what I have been missing from my life -

I turned around to look at him, thinking he was kidding laughing when I abruptly became silent when I saw his eyes.

Oh Kirk , I said feeling weak suddenly as my heart bean to skip beats.

He smoothly and quickly bent down with his lips gently finding mine.

It was a sweet and playful kiss but to my surprise it ignited something in my life.

I stood up and boldly put my arms around his neck. He looked knowingly in my eyes and pulled me closer. His kiss this time was different. I felt the intend desire eagerness, which I so readily returned.

Dad just happen to come out the door causing us both to release each other and stand motionless at attention like toy soldiers. A little uncomfortable, I graciously said good night to both of them.

Once I got in my bed I could

still feel his thrilling kiss on my lips and his warm vibrations covering me like a warm blanket As I dozed off to sleep.

The next morning i suggested I show Kirk the Red Barn and everyone thought it was a good idea, even my dad.

When I swung open the barn’s double doors, Kirk steps inside, looks around with approval and then takes my hand holds it with a strong gripe then gets down on his knees and asked me to marry him.

I was total excitement and screamed out “yes” most definitely- yes!

He reaches in his pocket and takes out a ring and put it in my finger.

This ring he said belonged to his grand mother - I always carried it with - knowing from the moment your brother showedme your photo and the stories he told me about you that you were the one for me.

My brother and Kirt made “The Red Barn,” a classy gourmet restaurent where many marriages could happen just like ours did on it’s opening night.

We rode to our home after the wedding reception at “ The Red Barn Restaurant,” in a horse and carriage smiling at each other as we approached the lit cottage of my late beloved grandmother’s waiting for us.

He gallantly picked me up at the door and kissed me as he kicked the door close behind us.

Love
2

About the Creator

Sherry jackson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.