Fiction logo

Eternal Darkness...

Eternal Life

By Christine St.CroixPublished about a year ago 25 min read
Like
IG Photo @krismaya.maya.photography

The outside world was unknown to her, but she could see a glimpse of it through the window in his room.

The view could have been the same as any other night with a single road leading away from the castle walls, but tonight the wolf moon shines bright in the night sky, illuminating Lycia's life with new Hope.

Although the eternal darkness of her night was about to begin; where Lycia would step into the shadows of night, and out under the light of the wolf moon, soft glow as the world around her slumbers, Lycia's would come to life.

Lycia stood in front of the window, looking out at the moons full face.

She could see much further down the road with its soft frame dangling over the forest trees in the crisp, night air.

A silence fell over the room.

Snow slowly descended from the sky in soft tiny white specks onto the road below.

Lycia stared into her reflection in the window, her pale, soft skin matched the light of the moon.

Her beauty was otherworldly, as though she stepped out of the Ethereal plane and into the earthly one she now appeared in.

Her hair was long and black as night.

Her eyes were sharp as the ravens with a look of knowing the unknown, seeing the unseen.

She was tall and slender at the waist.

She was destined for this night, just as destined to face 1000 other moonlit nights like the ones before this one.

However, this Wolf moon would grant her a certain freedom which came but once a year.

Suddenly, the silence of the moment was broken when the key in the lock switched and click the heavy wooden door of his chamber room began to swing open.

The tall, slim, dark haired figure of her brother the Earl of Whitehall Castle stood in the doorway with the key in his hand.

The cold stern face of her brother was also the face of her captor.

Lycia closed her beautiful dark eyes and tried to remember her brother when he was just a child, long before he became her captor, long before their eternal darkness began.

He handed her one of two viles of sleeping potion he held in his other hand, which she took into her long slender fingers and quickly drank.

She set the empty vile on the window seal, it's last drop slowly decending as a tiny tear down the side of the smoky glass, creating a small wet stain at its base.

Lycia calmly walked over to the large master bed in his room, laid down and slowly closed her eyes, as the potion began to take her down away from the darkness of her thoughts, too long forgotten memories of brighter skies and lovely days on Whitehall Castle grounds.

The year 1792 began to slowly come back into view.

The early morning misty fog rolled over the surface of the lake set behind Whitehall Castle.

The geese called one to one another in a manner only familiar to each other in sets of sad, mournful cries carried over the surface of the lake.

Edward Sebastian Drake lll was tall for 13 years of age.

His slender silhouette cast a long shadow next to his paternal twin, Lycia.

The two of them were practicing archery with their uncle and father, the Earl of Whitehall Castle.

Edward was staring straight down the arrow as he firmly pulled back the shaft and let it fly towards his intended target.

Lycia watched intently as the arrow flew past the archery target - heading straight out over the water and crossed through the neck of a large male goose.

The goose suddenly collapsed in the water before he could let out so much as a cry for help.

The rest of the flock scattered to the far side of the lake to hide from potential danger of further attacks.

Their loud squawks grew louder in the manner and tenor before falling silent.

Sir Edward Sebastian Drake ll placed his hand on young Edwards shoulder and congratulated Edwards excellent shot.

His Uncle clapped and chimed in a congratulations of his own.

Edward ran over to the goose in order to retrieve his arrow and dragged the fat, old goose from the lake.

Lycia's silent tears fell without anyone noticing.

She watched her uncle take the large goose from Edwards hands and quickly pull the arrow out from its neck.

Blood poured profusely out from its mortal wound, as their uncle - Fredrick licked the blood off his fingers after handing the goose to the male servant standing by.

“Lemmy, run this up to the cook and have her add it to the menu for dinner tonight - quickly now,” Fredrick added as Lemmy ran off across the grounds towards the castle.

The wind suddenly began to howl hard, sweeping across the gardens, whipping through the trees and cutting through their garments straight to the bone.

The four of them headed back up to the Castle with the wind whipping at their heals.

Lycia headed to her room to write alone in her journal away from all the busyness of the servants who were preparing for the great feast of the wolf moon.

January 6th, 1792

“Today I turn 13… I am not so sure what all the fuss is about.

I don’t have any friends to enjoy it with.

The servants are all a fussing - running around the house, making preparations for the wolf moon celebration, which seems to be far more important than my and Edward turning 13 today.

Oh, how I wish mother was here.

There is so much I wish to tell her and many more things I wish to ask her.

What is so important about my 13th birthday, mommy?

Sometimes I wish I had never been born so that you would still be here to walk among the forest trees and sing.

Daddy told us you had the most beautiful voice.

I do wish I could hear it right now.

It truely is the only thing I want for my birthday, and to hold you of course."

Lycia took the framed photo of her mother off her nightstand and gazed at her mother lovingly, longingly.

She was beautiful like Lycia with long flowing ebony hair and dark, secretive eyes, which spoke 1000 unspoken words of wisdom to Lycia though the pane of glass which held Lybinthia away from her like a prisoner of time, lost to her, but not forgotten.

A knock at the door snapped Lycia out of her trance like state of being, all sad and feeling lost.

Edward stepped into the room without waiting for a response.

“What are you doing sister,” he inquired?

“I am just writing in my journal and wondering about our Mother,” Lycia responded quietly.

“I do not see what all the fuss is about.

Who cares if we are turning 13 or not!

Mother can't be here to celebrate with us.

Do you miss her Edward"?

There was a long, thoughtful pause before Edward replied.

“What is there to miss?

We never even met her.

She died before we were both born, but yes, I do miss her.

The idea of her anyway.

Do you think me heartless, Lycia?"

Lycia's eyes through tiny sparks and daggers Edwards way.

“No! Of course not Edward."

Lycia quickly softened her tone.

"It’s just you and I barely ever speak of her.

Why is that?

Do you hate to think of her is that it?

A curious expression came over Edward's face before he responded.

“No, that isn’t it Lycia.

To be honest, sometimes I dream of her - sometimes I do."

Lycia interruped, “Oh, what ever do you mean Edward?

How do you dream of someone you never met," Lycia cried out in frustration.

Edward continued, "Well, She haunts my dreams is what I meant to say.

At least I think it’s her.

He picked up the photograph of his mother from the bed where Lycia placed it - looked at it, and cautiously continued.

She's younger, much younger than in this photograph, but I can tell it’s her, Lycia.

She calls to me from the forest.

It is much darker than most nights, but there is always a full moon, which slowly appears over the trees.

Its light slowly descending over me to light the path ahead to where I can find her waiting.

Then I hear her voice calling me to come closer, and just when I get there, she disappears into the fog, just a beautiful ghost.

I don’t know what she wants from me, but I think it must be important.”

Lycia could see a deep sadness in Edwards eyes as they filled with tears.

Lycia could not remember the last time she witnessed her bother cry.

She desperately wanted to comfort him, though she was feeling deep pains of loss because she wanted to dream of her Mother too.

“I am deeply sorry you are feeling so sad, Edward," She sighed.

Here, I have a gift for you.” Lycia said as she reached into the drawer of the nightstand by her bed, pulling out a black gift wrapped box and handed it to him to open.

“What is it?” He asked as he began to unwrap it.

Edward dropped the lid as he fumbled through the black gift wrapping within the box, pulling out a gold pocket watch on a chain.

He began to inspect it, turning it over.

There was an inscription on the back which read, 'Semper Iuvenis' 'Forever young' in latin.

Just below the inscription, the words, ‘Love Lycia’

Edward looked over at his sister with a somber look on his face.

He spoke softly to her, “Lycia?

What do you know about tonights birthday celebration?

Has Father told you anything, anything at all regarding tonight?"

“No Edward, nothing at all. She half whispered.

Was he supposed to?"

What do you know about tonight Edward?

Please tell me if you know anything.

I know it’s a surprise, but what of the surprise is it a good one?

Honestly, your not being fair Edward.” She demanded.

Lycia crawed over the bed, grabbed a pillow and came back holding it close.

Edward sat down on the bed next to Lycia.

He pulled a small red velvet box out of his coat pocket presenting it to her.

“This is for you." He said quietly, adding.

"Happy Birthday, Lycia.

You know how much I care for you, and always will my dearest Lycia.

I will always be here to protect you no matter the cost.

You do believe me Lycia?” Edward half smiled a rather shy smile.

Lycia took the box and stared at it a moment as he finished speaking to her.

“Yes, Edward.

I know and Thank you.

You know I would do anything for you, Dearest brother” was her whispered response.

“You can tell me what ever it is Edward.

I promise not to tell anyone if that is what you were worried about.

You know, we always keep our promises to one another.”

Lycia opened the box and immediately knew what it was she was looking at.

“Why Edward.

This is mothers neckless.

It is supposed to be given to your intended on your wedding day.

Why on earth are you giving it to me instead.

Are you worried you may never find your intended?

I know you will, Edward.

You are so very handsome after all.” They both glanced over at the photograph of their mother.

The two children shared a remarkable resemblance to their late mother.

Lybinthia was wearing the neckless.

“Yes, It’s the one father gave mother on the night they married.

I want you to have it Lycia,” Edward softly told her.

There may never be anyone for me to care fore but you, Lycia.

It will be my duty and my honor to always remain by your side.

It isn’t what you think it is Sister.

I don’t know how to explain it to you, but I don’t think I have the heart too keep this from you any longer." His words trailed off silently in a long pause before he began again.

“If I tell you the story Lycia, you must promise not to interrupt me with your usual 100 questions because I won’t be able to keep going - you must agree to remain silent. Is that clear?”

Lycia nodded silently with a look of wonder in her eyes.

She could tell her brother was serious, and didn’t want to provoke him into leaving the room.

She desperately wanted the answers. She always had questions to only to never receive the clarity of their past.

Edward took a long serious look at his sister in deep continplation.

“I think I better start at the beginning, where Father began when he re-told me the history of how our family began.

It would be much a later date than you would ever imagine because our father told me our mother was born in 1692; a 1000 years ago to this day.

The candles in the room flickered and danced as though there was a wind in the room.

The fire in the fireplace crackled and popped loudly startling the both of them, before calming down again.

She lived a normal life here in the countryside not far from where we are living now.

She was just a girl of 16 when she met father and began to court her.”

Edward lifted his new pocket watch up to glance at the timepiece; It was half past 9AM in the morning, than placed it within the pocket of his jacket.

He continued... "father was smitten with mother. From the first time he laid eyes on her.

He was on his way into town with our grandparents when he saw her riding her horse back towards the country estate she had just moved into several miles away from Whitehall Castle.

He had wondered what her name was.

He decided to go out riding everyday after that in hopes for a chance encounter with her.

It would be weeks before they finally came upon one another by the lake.”

Lybinthia was sitting on her golden colored thoroughbred, while he drank from the lake.

“Okay, that’s enough Ra” she laughed, as she pulled him away from the lake.

It’s time to head home anyway,” she added, as she turned, a young Edward was there on his black steed.

“Oh, excuse me… I didn’t see you there.” She sat still awaiting a response.

“Hello, I’m Edward.

One day, I will be Earl of Whitehall Castle.

Who are you, may I ask?”

“Oh, I am Lybinthia." She spoke with great joy in her voice.

"I am no-one really from no-where really, but it’s a pleasure to meet you, Edward.

I must say, it’s quite a grand castle at that.

I have never been in a castle before.

It must be quite magnificent inside.”

Edward responded, “Would you like a tour of the gardens?

We can go inside if you like?

My parents are away for a few days.

There is no one to bother us.

I assure you, it’s perfectly safe.

Only the servants are there and they are sure not to bother us.” Edwards smiled and stated again.

“I promise… it’s safe.”

Lybinthia smiled, “Are you sure it would be no trouble?

I would love a tour, but I really must be heading back - you see - my father is not aware I am out riding.

I always have to sneak out of the house to ride so I can be by myself.

She added. Would it be okay if I came back tomorrow morning.

I really would love to see your beautiful gardens and wander round the Castle.”

Edward took a moment to respond. “Yes… I would like that.”

Lybinthia smiled sweetly and said, “I will see you tomorrow then, Edward.”

She turned Ra towards home and sped off.

Edward watched as she disappeared into the distance, and turned to head home feeling happy.

The morning came and Edward arose with new hope in his heart.

He had felt saddened of late because he could not locate Lybinthia, even though he spent hours riding around on his horse hoping to find her.

He never realized just how dreary life seemed without her and they only just met.

She would be coming by to meet him and walk the gardens with him.

“What ever will I talk about, he thought to himself.

I never know what to say to girls."

He sent a note to the cook to have lunch served in his study, where no one ever went without his permission, so they would have their privacy.

He sent a second note to the gardener to have several bouquets of roses, and lilies brought up and placed around the study to liven it up a bit.

He thought, “Girls love flowers. I hope she likes roses and lilies.”

He went outside to wait in the garden for Lybinthia even though it was early yet.

He had this feeling about her; it was a feeling he had never experienced before he saw her and only became more intense after speaking to her for just a few minutes.

It didn’t seem to matter - he was to be an Earl and she was…

What was she exactly?

Who was she?

Where did she come from?

He was highly curious but it also didn’t seem to matter much.

He didn’t care about class or status right now.

Lybinthia arrived on her golden steed and hoped down as Edward assisted her.

He did not want the stable boy to help her or touch her and sent him away.

He quickly stated, “I will do that.

Step away.

Take her steed to the stable and tend to it.”

Lybinthia smiled and let out a joyous laugh, adding. “I am so excited Edward.

I am so happy you invited me to return - what shall we do first?”

Edward stood as tall as he could and said, “Shall we walk the gardens before we go inside?”

Lybinthia responded, “Oh yes… that would be quite lovely, Edward.”

Edward offered her his arm, which she graciously took and walked along side him as though they had done so many times before.

There was no awkwardness between them.

Edward led her to the labyrinth in the middle of the garden, where they stopped for a moment before going in.

He said to her in a whisper.

“I want to show you the secret to this labyrinth just in case you ever need to know it.”

“What ever do you mean, Edward?

Why would I need to know it?

Is there some sort of danger I should be aware of that lurks within these gardens or perhaps it roams within the castle walls,” she half laughed and then stood quiet because he had not responded.

“Edward?" she paused again.

He stood perfectly still for several moments - widened his eyes, slowly opening his mouth in a look of complete horror before breaking out in laughter at her response.

“Ohhhh, Edward."

You quite scared me for a moment there.

How wonderfully funny you can be, she said, drawing in a deep sigh of relief."

And. Before he knew what she was doing, she tapped him on the shoulder and shouted, "tag… your it," and ran off into the labyrinth to hide.

Edward stood still for a moment in total disbelief, and then ran after her as fast as he could to catch up - calling to her.

“Wait a minute Lybinthia; these gardens really can be hard to find your way out of.

You really shouldn’t be in there alone.

You may get lost."

Just then, Lybinthia let out a scream from within the high labyrinth walls.

Edward called out to her in response and desperation to find and save her.

“Where are you Lybinthia?"

Stay where you are.

I am coming to find you.”

She let out a second scream and drew him closer to her.

He called to her again and again, but she remained silent.

The wind whipped through the trees and bushes, then died down again.

Edward began to feel a bit desperate.

All of a sudden, she jumped out of the bushes behind him - snatched both his shoulders with both hands, with a great bit of joyful laughter, said. “I got you.”

“Oh, thank god. Edward cried out laughing.

I thought I lost you there for a bit.”

Edward took hold of her hand.

The two of them ran up to the castle - up stairwells, though long halls, past many a portrait hanging on the walls and straight into his study before running out of breath.

“This is my study.” He said, breathlessly.

He turned to her and motioned for her to sit while pulling the chair out for her.

The two of them talked and talked and shared story after story before, during and after lunch until they both realized the hour was late.

The two of them would meet in secrete for months before Edward would announced to his parents that he wanted to ask Lybinthia and her parents for her hand in marriage.

They sat still and stared at Edward over breakfast.

“What ever do you mean Edward, his mother said.

I don’t believe we know who you are talking about.

I don’t even think we knew you were courting anyone, dear.

Whom are her parents?

Where are they from?

What is their family lineage,” she added.

Edward sat for a half a second before responding.

“None of that matters to me mother.

I love her.

I will marry her even if I have to give up my family title."

Edward turned to his father who was quietly sitting and intently listening and pleaded for him to hear him out.

The Earl of Whitehall Castle stood up, headed out the door towards his study and motioned for Edward to follow him without saying so much as a word to anyone.

When they arrived at the study the two of them went in.

The door silently closed behind them.

The doors remained closed for several hours before opening again.

Edward left the study, looking somewhat pale and headed straight for the estate where Lybinthia lived to ask her and her parents for her hand in marriage.

The two became engaged.

Both of the perspective families met.

In celebration they decided on a two year engagement.

There was a public announcement and a ball to introduce the couple to the world and the Royal Family.

Every Royal family member of the Court arrived to celebrate with them, their engagement.

From then on the two spent every waking hour together, roaming the great Labyrinth within the gardens, riding out across Whitehall Castle grounds hunting, and telling each-others secrets to one another.

At the end of the first year of their engagement, Edward took Lybinthia out into the gardens on one of their walks.

He stopped under the full moon, turned to her and said. “I need to tell you something about our family.

I need to tell you now before I lose my courage to do so.”

“What ever is on your mind Edward - just tell me; you know we don’t keep secretes from one another.

What is it?"

Edward told Lybinthia the family secrete he had learned the year before and at first she laughed quite wholeheartedly.

She thought he was joking, but then realized they were standing under a full wolf moon.

“What are you trying to tell me Edward?” She became a bit serious and took a step back.

“Lybinthia, I will not allow this to happen to you unless you agree to go though the change and live the rest of your life with me.”

Edward too, had become serious, confessing.

“I made Father swear to me on his life, he would not take us through this change without your permission, because I want to know you are doing this for us, just as I am.

It will be a brief encounter.

It will only be one bite, which will not fully effect us until next year, on the next wolf moon.

Then we will experience a full change on the night of our wedding day, which will completely bond us for the rest of our life; only death will be able to separate us.

Our children will be born naturally but will go through the change on the evening of their 13th birthday.

For them.

There will be no bite needed - the change will just naturally occur.

We will be assuring our lineage of every Earl ever to live at Whitehall Castle for millennia to come.

Our children will eventually find their own mates but they will be bonded to each other for the rest of their lives or until they each find their mate.

"I love you Lybinthia. He stopped to kiss her forehead before continuing.

I vow to love you for all eternity, because we will live forever unless someone kills us or we suffer a terrible accident, which destroys our bodies.

What say you? Lybinthia.

If you do not want this - I will release you from our bond of engagement and I will die alone, because you are the only one for me, I know that in the depths of my heart."

Lybinthia had been looking deeply into Edwards eyes the entire time he was speaking to her.

She could not take her gaze away from his.

She knew what she must do - there was no other choice in the matter.

She knew she was young and unschooled in the matter of lifestyle Edward was presenting to her, but she could not deny her hearts deep love and compassion for him, as well as for the deep companionship she felt.

Lybinthia softly whispered, “I will do this with you Edward."

I will take this life journey with you.

I two feel as though we are eternally bound one to the other.

Let us make it so - as above - so below, I accept.

With all my heart, I accept you and our life together, forever.”

The soft light of the moon became somewhat brighter.

A mysterious figure suddenly appeared out of the shadows of the night behind them.

It was a large male wolf, black as night, with haunting green eyes.

It took a step forward, growling low and ominous before biting Lybinthia on the wrist.

Afterwards, it turned quickly, growling again before biting Edward as well.

Then, in a flash, it was gone again into the night- into the light of the wolf moon and off into the forest he disappeared.

The first year had officially passed, as did that night long ago, then another year would soon pass, while the preparations for the wedding began.

On the night of their wedding, Edward kept a close watch on Lybinthia, never leaving her side.

There was a royal ball held the night of their wedding day.

Every Royal member of the court was there including the King and Queen of Spain.

All the royals with their escorts would envy Lybinthia that night as she glided down the isle with Edward, directly following the wedding ceremony.

Lybinthia was remarkably beautiful, in her long, flowing, red and black taffeta gown with crimson roses in a bouquet.

She wore a crown of gold and diamonds with a strand of black pearls around her neck.

Just beneath the taffeta dress, she wore the neckless Edward gave her as a wedding present.

It was a single gold 5 star pentagram resting close to her heart on a tripple stranded gold chain.

The two of them stopped at the top of the church stairs leading to the car which awaited them.

Just then Edwards stopped Lybinthia and kissed her lovingly, softly on the lips.

Lybinthia leaned in to kiss Edward again once they were in the car and heading to Whitehall Castle.

She smiled sweetly and said, “I am ready to spend the rest of my life with you Edward.

I offer you my undying Love.

Edward happily kissed her back and said, “You are my eternity Lybinthia.

Thank you for accepting this journey with me,” and kissed her again.

Young Edward suddenly stopped.

Lycia looked up at her brother.

Darkness was falling upon them.

The light of the moon was starting to shine through the window.

Lycia asked her first question.

"Edward, you still have not told me what happened to mother?

How did she die?

"It's for another time, Lycia."

Perhaps after tomorrow, I will tell you, Okay?

I am tired.

Shall we take a nap and rest for a bit before the celebration?” He asked, as he lay down on her bed, he motioned for her to lay down besides him.

Edward pulled two small viles of potion out of his pocket and handed one to his sister and drank the other one.

“Go ahead and drink it,” he quietly told Lycia.

It’s okay.

It won’t hurt you, I promise.

Father said, it will help you and I to sleep.

To better prepare us both for the long night ahead.

For the celebration of our birthday and the power of Wolf moon rising within us both tonight.”

The two of them fell fast asleep, and awakened fulling changed - opened their eyes - each letting out one long soulful howl after another, as the soft light of the moon settled upon their coats, and illuminating their eyes.

“Let not the eternal darkness of your life overshadow the light of your inner being that is waiting and working its way through the eternal night of your soul to the bright light of a new day dawned before you in hope.”

To be continued…

by Christine St Croix

Love
Like

About the Creator

Christine St.Croix

Native American. Writer. "Cast the Shadows of your love upon me and don't look back. Don't walk out that door and into the wilds of unknowns and forget the love I hold in my heart for you, for us... "Evolve... A Transformational Journey."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.