Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Endurance

A Story Every Day in 2024 March 13th 73/366

By Rachel DeemingPublished 3 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - March 2024
25
Endurance
Photo by Ash Gerlach on Unsplash

Ryan sat resting his head on the glass, his breath misting and obscuring the fast-flowing hedges outside of the window. He retreated into his world of splayed hair and hot breath while the other kids on the bus shouted and laughed, shoved and teased.

He hated getting on and off the most. Once he was in position, in a seat, it was bearable. A moment of calm in a day that had the potential to be chaos.

He dreaded it.

Every. Single. Day.

If he kept as still as possible and avoided eye contact or facial expressions, he might just be able to sit unbothered.

The bus pulled into its bay at the school and he waited until he was last off. Seeing that the bus was empty, he got up and scurried to the doors, taking a moment to look left and right before stepping down. No-one there.

Safe.

He found his usual nook close to the bins at the back of the canteen. He had worked out that there was enough room for him to duck behind it, if he was quick. There were spells, days where he was left alone and often, if the area was empty of all others, he'd sit, ready to jump up, if necessary but sometimes it was nice to just take the weight off his feet and lean back against the wall, the sun on his face and hope the wind was blowing the smell of the rubbish the opposite way.

Those days were great.

But rare.

The bell went. Registration. His tutor was nice and sometimes, he'd chat with her. She had him sit by her desk and she'd confide things in him that made him smile. Sometimes, when she was marking at lunchtime, she would let him sit, while she played music and leant over books, hair hanging. He loved her for the shelter. He wished she could be his sidekick throughout the day.

Corridors beckoned and lessons. Head down, get through. Running the gauntlet. He had his routes. Avoiding fists and other hazards.

The highlight of his day? Home-time. Even better, if Mum said she could pick him up.

Freedom!

Until it all started again.

***

366 words

I used to be a teacher. The dynamics of being a kid are not ones that I would want to revisit for the world. School days, the best days of your life? Not for me at all.

And as a teacher? I used to provide a place for kids to come while I did my work. If they needed it. Where they felt safe.

I could do that, at least.

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read it, please do leave a comment as I love to interact with my readers.

73/366

Short StoryPsychologicalMicrofictionCONTENT WARNING
25

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • angela hepworth2 months ago

    The anxiety of this story was absolutely palpable and unfortunately very relatable to so many kids’ school experiences. Amazing work here!

  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Amanda Starks3 months ago

    Coming back to say congrats!!

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Loved it!!! Congratulations on Top Story too!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Hello again. Congrats on the TS.

  • JBaz3 months ago

    I was caught up in the story I forgot to hit like and say congratulations

  • JBaz3 months ago

    This drew me back to the feel of school all over again. Thankfully I wasn’t bullied, or rather I didn’t tolerate it, everyone seems to get bullied or have fears at that age. Wonderful job of bringing out the emotions

  • Caroline Craven3 months ago

    Some stories have the ability to take you right back to a moment in time. This was one of them. Brilliant writing.

  • Paul Stewart3 months ago

    I resonated strongly with this. Was never bullied per say, but didn't find school a joyful time really. You should like a good teacher...offering that breathing space for anyone that needed it. I'd have appreciated that when I wasat school. Well done on this Chum and well done on it getting Top Story.

  • I was always bullied so this story was extremely relatable. I'm so happy that you did that for your students. The world needs more teachers like you!

  • There were days that were like this for me, though I always loved school. Regulated environment & social interactions were a definite plus for me as an undiagnosed autistic. Seeking out those who were being left out or abused & befriending them is definitely something with which I could identify, though my reasons weren't quite as altruistic as yours. They were the ones with whom I tended to feel the most comfortable & I didn't have to compete for their attention.

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    I felt this. The gauntlet of school.

  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    I wanted freedom from school although no bullies dared to try it on me. Teachers have such a hard job and they will never know the influence they have - the things kids remember all their life from one moment or comment. ❣️

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    This is such a sad story, and sadder still the so many know it as truth.

  • Jay Kantor3 months ago

    Rd ~ "Endurance"...At 'Least' you're not, Cynical. Jb

  • Amanda Starks3 months ago

    Oh my goodness, the opening paragraph drew me right in! Using that tiny detail of his breath fogging up the window instantly teleported me into that space on the bus. Really, really well written here, Rachel! I felt this way a lot during my school years, and I can agree with your sentiment at the end: I'm glad to never go back to that period of my life!

  • D.K. Shepard3 months ago

    This rings very true! I don’t think I’d be able to handle the bus rides some of my students endure. School days can be ruthless sometimes, so good of you to open your room as a refuge

  • Mark Gagnon3 months ago

    I walked to and from school no matter the weather because I hated the bus, especially jr. high and high school. Kids yelling and some smoking, simply torture.

  • John Cox3 months ago

    Wow, that is a blast from the past! How many times did I run that gauntlet? Really well done, Rachel. A sad reminder of how hard life can be even for the most defenseless.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.