Fiction logo

Endurance

Chapter 16: Sonya's Story Begins

By The Freedom RunnerPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
Endurance
Photo by Darrin Moore on Unsplash

New Trier High School - Winnetka, IL - April 2019

Sonya Stevens, a high school senior, is standing on the mound during a high school softball game. Sonya, the 5-foot, blonde-haired phenom, is dressed in a white uniform with green lettering and numbers and a green softball visor.

Her opponent is at the plate, waiting for the pitch, glaring at Sonya. Sonya shows her competitive nature by glaring back, and then she waits for the signal from her catcher. She shakes off a sigh.

Sonya- (softly) No, Tiffany. I want her. It's just me and her.

The catcher signals for a fastball. Sonya smirks and nods with approval.

Sonya- (softly) Thatta girl.

Sonya comes set, winds up, and hurls an underhanded fastball high and inside. The batter swings and misses.

Umpire- (yells) Strike three!!

Sonya pumps her fist, and she points towards the sky. All of her teammates run towards the mound and mob her, celebrating the victory. The dejected batter walks towards her team's dugout, and the opposing coach slams the clipboard onto the ground.

Kenny Stevens, Sonya's father, and Amber Riley-Stevens, Sonya's stepmother, are cheering as Sonya's team celebrates the victory.

Kenny- (shouts) That's my girl! (bragging to other parents) That's my baby girl!

Amber- (shouts) Way to go, Sonya!

Sonya flashes a wry smile towards her parents.

Moments later, Kenny takes Sonya and Amber to an ice cream parlor after the game. Sonya is still dressed in her full uniform. Despite her victory, Sonya's mood is very melancholy.

Kenny- (to Sonya) Pumpkin, are you okay?

Sonya remains silent, barely eating any of her ice cream. Kenny and Amber stare at each other, wondering why Sonya's depressed. They redirect their attention to Sonya.

Kenny- Sonya, come on. You just pitched a perfect game today. Aren't you happy?

Sonya sighs. She places her spoon down, and she sits with her arms crossed.

Amber- Sonya, please talk to us. What's the matter?

Sonya- She didn't come.

Kenny- I know, honey. I know. She did mention that she had to work today.

Sonya- She's been doing this all year, Dad. She never makes time for me anymore, and I'm sick of it. I'm so sick of it.

Amber- We understand.

Sonya- (angry) Do you? Do you really, Amber?

Amber- Whoa, what's with the hostility?

Kenny- Sonya, calm down.

Sonya- (angry) Calm down, Dad? I've been calm about this since I was eleven! She brings me back to Illinois to be with you, and then she just forgets that she has a daughter. I am so sick of this.

Sonya gets up, and she storms out of the parlor.

Kenny- (yells) Sonya!

Amber- (to Kenny) I'll go talk to her.

Amber gets up, and she follows Sonya out of the parlor. Kenny looks around, and he notices everyone staring at him.

Kenny- (to everyone) What?

Everyone in the parlor goes back to what they were doing. Kenny looks out of the window, watching Amber follow Sonya. Meanwhile, Amber finally catches up with Sonya.

Amber- Sonya, please wait.

Sonya stops walking. She sighs loudly, crossing her arms. She turns around and faces Amber. Tears start to run down her face.

Amber- Sonya, I'm so sorry she didn't come. I really am. I feel horrible.

Sonya sighs again. She lowers her head.

Amber- I know how you feel. When I was younger, I wanted so badly for my mother to pay attention to me. I wanted her to come to my recitals and my plays. I used to have these school plays, and I used to sing and dance. I kept inviting her and inviting her, but she'd never show up. It was always work, or she'd spend more time with her friends, so I started acting out.

Sonya continues listening.

Amber- You know the rest of the story. I'm not saying that's where you're headed. You're way too disciplined. I just...

Amber tries to find the words.

Amber- I just want to be able to relate to you on this. I hope I'm doing okay with that.

Sonya- (softly) You are.

Amber- I know I will never replace your mother, and I would never try to take her place, but I want you to know you can always talk to me. I really care about you.

Sonya starts crying.

Sonya- (crying) I appreciate you for doing that. I just wanted her to come to one thing. She's missed my cross country meets, my debates, my basketball games, and now this. What is it going to take for her to be there for me?

Sonya starts sobbing. Amber quickly grabs Sonya and embraces her. Sonya continues crying in Amber's arms.

Amber- (softly, consoling Sonya) I'm sorry, honey. I'm not going anywhere.

Amber and Sonya continue embracing.

To Be Continued...

LoveSeriesScript

About the Creator

The Freedom Runner

My series, Endurance, covers real-life situations that include love, romance, betrayal, jealousy, and compromising situations. My characters have interesting stories, and I hope you enjoy them.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    The Freedom RunnerWritten by The Freedom Runner

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.