Fiction logo

Endurance

Chapter 9: Mother's Secret

By The Freedom RunnerPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Endurance
Photo by Hush Naidoo Jade Photography on Unsplash

Michael wakes up in a hospital ward. The first two people he sees are his parents, Mitchell and Marsha. He is disoriented after finding himself on the hospital bed and with tubes attached to him. He attempts to take the tubes out of his nose and off of his body.

Mitchell- (gently restraining Michael) Easy, son. Relax.

Michael- What the... What the hell happened? Where am I?

Marsha- Sweetie, you're in a hospital. You passed out on the pavement in the parking garage?

Michael- I thought I was dead.

Mitchell- You do realize parking garages have surveillance cameras, right? They saw you attempting to jump.

Michael- I should've jumped.

Marsha- Michael, don't you dare say that!

Mitchell- Marsha, relax. (to Michael) Son, do you want to talk about it?

Michael- What's there to talk about? I was humiliated. She cheated on me, lied to me, and I found out on the day of my wedding. Right now, I still have a huge hole in my heart, and I don't want to live anymore. She is the fourth one to do this to me.

Marsha- Honey, I'm sorry you've had to deal with this. Do you think maybe there's something about you that may need to change?

Mitchell- Marsha?

Marsha- What, Mitchell? I mean, there's a reason they keep doing this to him. Maybe it's his personality. Maybe they think he's too nice.

Mitchell- Marsha, stop.

Marsha- Or maybe it's his job. You know how these women are these days.

Mitchell- Enough!

Michael- Mom, are any of those things you just said the reason you cheated on Dad?

Marsha is frozen with guilt. She is embarrassed. Mitchell is silent. He looks at Marsha with disbelief. Michael is now stunned that Mitchell doesn't know.

Mitchell- Marsha, what is he talking about?

Michael- Go ahead, Mom. Tell him. Tell him who it was with.

Marsha remains silent while Mitchell waits for her to answer.

Michael- I think you two have a lot to talk about.

Marsha- Michael, you have some nerve.

Mitchell- (to Marsha) Hey! What is he talking about?!

Marsha sighs nervously. She tries to compose herself before she answers.

Marsha- (to Mitchell) He's right. I did cheat on you. I cheated on you with my personal trainer.

Mitchell sulks in disbelief.

Mitchell- I told you to stay away from him, and you still went behind my back?!

Marsha- (crying) I'm sorry.

Mitchell- How long?

Marsha- Mitchell, please let me explain--

Mitchell- (yells) How long?!

Marsha- Six weeks. I haven't seen him in over a year. I swear.

Mitchell tries to compose himself. He takes a deep breath, and he walks out of the ward. Marsha tries to follow him, but Mitchell doesn't allow her to touch him. Marsha stops, and she turns and looks back at Michael. She is angry at Michael.

Marsha- Is this what you wanted?! Is this what you wanted, Michael?!

Michael- Mom, get out of my room.

Marsha- After all I have done for you?!

Michael- After what?! What have you done for me?! My father was the one who read me bedtime stories! My father was the one who went to my ballgames! My father was the one who cheered me up whenever I was down! Where were you when I lost my job?! Where were you when I had my heart broken?! You were busy fucking your trainer, even after Dad told you to stop seeing him! The man is only two years older than I am, and you slept with him?!

Marsha is visibly angry with Michael. Tears continue to form in her eyes.

Marsha- You have no idea what I've been through with your father. No idea.

Michael- At least my dad was faithful. All he ever did was work. You just needed to fill a void. Right?

Marsha storms out of Michael's ward. Michael is left alone, and he starts crying to himself.

To Be Continued...

SeriesScriptLove

About the Creator

The Freedom Runner

My series, Endurance, covers real-life situations that include love, romance, betrayal, jealousy, and compromising situations. My characters have interesting stories, and I hope you enjoy them.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    The Freedom RunnerWritten by The Freedom Runner

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.