Fiction logo

Endurance

Chapter 18: No Dating Allowed

By The Freedom RunnerPublished 8 months ago 5 min read
Endurance
Photo by Spencer Davis on Unsplash

Sonya and Christian are seated in a diner. Sonya is very silent as she watches Christian eat his cheeseburger. Christian notices how sad Sonya is. He continues chewing his burger, and he gulps it down.

Christian- Are you not hungry?

Sonya- I'm sorry if I'm a downer.

Christian- Your mom didn't show up to your game, huh?

Sonya- Nope. Once again, she's a no-show. I'm just going to stop inviting her.

Christian places his burger back on his plate. He wipes his hands with a napkin.

Sonya- Christian, I gotta admit. I'm a little jealous of you.

Christian chuckles awkwardly. Sonya sighs.

Christian- Why do you say that?

Sonya- Your mom is just so supportive of you, despite her busy schedule. She shows up to all your games and everything you have going on. She's always there for you. Why can't my mom do the same?

Christian- (chuckles) My mom is such a boy mom. I don't know if that helps.

Sonya- (smiles) Or maybe you're just a mamma's boy.

Christian- (chuckles) Oh, you got jokes!

Sonya- (teasing) You know it's cute.

Christian- (smiles) Real cute coming from a daddy's girl.

Sonya stops smiling. She sighs with sadness. Christian also stops smiling, and now he feels guilty for his joke.

Christian- I'm sorry. I shouldn't have said that.

Sonya- No, it's not you. It's him.

Christian- What do you mean?

Sonya- Truthfully, I'm not even supposed to be here. You know that my dad still won't let me see anyone while I'm still living under his roof. I would have to sneak out. I'm actually shocked that Amber even allowed me to leave. He's become so strict.

Christian- Strict?

Sonya- I'm 18 years old. I still have a bedtime, a curfew, and he's never going to let me date as long as I'm still living there.

Christian nods silently.

Christian- What do you call this then?

Sonya- Two good friends having a meal at a diner.

Christian has a puzzled look on his face. Sonya pauses, and then she gives Christian a very surprised smile.

Sonya- Wait, you think this is a date?

Christian- What if I do?

Sonya smiles at Christian, and she leans forward.

Sonya- (smiling) You are so adorable!

Christian lowers his face into the palm of his hand. Sonya laughs lightly at Christian's gesture.

Sonya- (smiling) Awe, what? Come on, Christian. I know every girl at your school is trying to date you. I really gotta ask. Why have you not asked any of them out?

Christian- They all only want me for one thing.

Sonya- (laughs) Don't tell me they only want you for sex.

Christian- Worse. They only see me as "a better life." I'm the son of a former basketball player, who now has four times as much as he's earned just playing basketball. He's a very rich and powerful man, and because I'm his son, I'm this hot commodity. I also happen to be the captain of all of my sports teams, and the top student in the entire school.

Sonya- Well, what's wrong with that?

Christian- I'm just tired of everyone kissing my ass. All the guys at the school suck up to me. All the girls try to throw themselves at me. All the teachers are even sucking up, and I had to tell my mother that one of them even tried giving me her phone number.

Sonya laughs loudly.

Christian- Come on, that's not funny.

Sonya continues laughing. Christian sighs, visibly annoyed.

Sonya- (still laughing) I'm sorry. Okay, that's funny. I can imagine your mom driving to the school and giving her an ear full.

Christian- Well, my mom did pay her a visit... to her house. Let's just say this teacher will never do that again.

Sonya- Wow. I can't say I'm surprised. Well, good for her. So, there isn't one girl in your school you're interested in?

Christian- Nope. Okay, what about you? I know every boy is lining up to date you.

Sonya- All of them only want me because they see me as this conquest they have yet to conquer. To them, I'm this impossible feat they want to solve, so they do all they can.

Christian- Really? Do tell.

Sonya- I've seen it all. Flowers. Candy. A teddy bear. Just about every boy stares at me, and so many of them have tried to ask me out. I rejected them all.

Christian- So, you're sure you're not a lesbian?

Sonya playfully throws a french fry at Christian. Christian starts laughing.

Sonya- You are such an asshole.

Christian continues laughing. Sonya smiles and shakes her head.

Sonya- (playfully) You're lucky I like you. I still might have to kick your ass.

Christian- All jokes aside, I just don't see how you haven't given any boy the time of day. It's hard to believe.

Sonya- Well, first of all, I'm definitely not a lesbian.

Christian smirks and nods.

Sonya- Second, I would never lie to you. Would you believe me if I told you I'm still a virgin?

Christian is now shocked. Sonya smiles at him. Christian tries to process what Sonya has just said.

Christian- You, a virgin? You?

Sonya- Hey, I know my worth, and I'm not going to give myself up to just anyone, nor am I going to cave into any peer pressure by anyone.

Christian is still shocked. Sonya gives him a warm smile.

Sonya- Why are you so surprised? You do know who my father is. Right?

Christian- Well, it's just that...

Christian pauses. Sonya waits for him to continue.

Sonya- What? It's just what?

Christian- Never mind.

Sonya- Well, what about you? I told you my secret.

Christian- Well, what do you think?

Sonya- You had to have had sex with at least one girl. I know you did. You're way too pretty.

Christian smirks and shakes his head. Sonya is now shocked, and then she smiles as if she's suspicious of Christian.

Sonya- Nuh-uh! No way!

Christian- Yep, I'm also a virgin.

Sonya- (softly, surprised) Really?! How?! Okay, I know you're lying.

Christian- Well, I'm not lying. I also have never lied to you. Don't believe me? Ask my mom. My mom told me she'd beat me down if I ever got a girl pregnant, and she'd beat that girl and her mother, too. You do realize she's a kickboxing instructor.

Sonya- Fair point. Okay, I believe you.

Christian- Ever been tempted?

Sonya hesitates to answer. Christian waits for her answer.

Sonya- That's a bit personal, sir. You should never ask a lady questions like that. Respect your elders, young man.

Christian scoffs at Sonya, and he gives her a very sarcastic smile. Sonya leans forward again, also giving Christian a sarcastic smile.

Christian- You? Lady? Elder? Are you kidding me?

Sonya- Well, I am a year older than you, Junior.

Christian- Touche.

To Be Continued...

SeriesScriptLove

About the Creator

The Freedom Runner

My series, Endurance, covers real-life situations that include love, romance, betrayal, jealousy, and compromising situations. My characters have interesting stories, and I hope you enjoy them.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    The Freedom RunnerWritten by The Freedom Runner

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.