Fiction logo

Ebony Winter

Confirmation, adrift

By Lamar WigginsPublished 8 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2023
74
Lost dreams Dall-E

It doesn’t snow here anymore. It hasn’t for decades. Not since mama used to wash clothes by hand until her fingers bled. Not since I realized that life gets harder with every twist of the knife.

Agony persists when your thoughts have nowhere to go, that's how I see it. Reminds me of a lesson my father once taught me. He said, "Irvin, trouble is easy to get into, but hard to get out of." He was right. Even if it was the only moral preaching he ever proffered me, it spoke every time I ventured down Main St in search of a lady. Filthy girls, but they served a purpose. She needed clothes on her back, and I needed to fill a void of my own making. Long story, maybe another time...

Last week I saw the clouds make a face, a smiling one. Ominous and foreboding it felt. God was laughing at me. I took a break from sweeping the porch and sat in the rocker to watch. In my sixty-three years, I have never seen a face in the sky. She was beautiful. I took my hat off and placed it over my heart; I never stopped being polite. I walked off the porch before it drifted past the house. In that moment, a single snowflake landed on my cheek. It readily melted and rolled down my muddled face. Suddenly, I no longer felt unimportant. I felt blessed. It was 80 degrees out that day.

Irvin Dall-E

Microfiction
74

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (50)

Sign in to comment
  • Lisa santos6 months ago

    Love your way of capturing readers I always want to read more Great work 🙌

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    I agree with Shirley, she said it all. This is so poignant and heartfelt. Your heart really resonates within your stories. So vey wonderful. Kudos TS.

  • Shirley Belk7 months ago

    You have a great way of capturing a moment...love your creativity .

  • Congratulations on your Top Story Lamar. Great work as always.

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    Read before Lamar, but congrats on your leaderboard placement for this piece! 😊🎉🎉👏

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Congratulations on Top Story too!!!

  • Gerard DiLeo7 months ago

    Very nicely packaged between the snow (or lack thereof). Nice.

  • Dana Stewart7 months ago

    The character development in this one is absolutely brilliant, Lamar. You packed a punch with every sentence. Great work and a belated Congrats on the Top Story!

  • L.C. Schäfer7 months ago

    This one is intriguing, and what I love most is how every line is doing so much heavy lifting. A deftly painted canvas in a few economical strokes 😁

  • Kristen Balyeat7 months ago

    Lamar- I absolutely loved every single line. Such a gripping short with truly incredible imagery! That snowflake! What an impactful piece!

  • J. S. Wade7 months ago

    Fantastic imagery and story Lamar. The contrasts within and without are powerful. Congratulations 🏅

  • Jay Kantor8 months ago

    My L-bro ~ No ones 'Laughing' at you ~ J-bro

  • Test8 months ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story

  • Raymond G. Taylor8 months ago

    Beautifully written Lamar. Congratulations on a deserved TS

  • Shola ojajuni8 months ago

    Love it

  • Caroline Jane8 months ago

    This is fab. I want to know more about Irvin's life now. That window you opened for him revealed a jewel. ❤

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    Such a full vignette, nicely done.

  • M Evans8 months ago

    Nicely done, Lamar. Heartfelt and honest. It’s wonderful to think that a simple snowflake could inspire so much. ☺️

  • Fantastic Writing 📝 and Congratulations on your Top Story🎉✌️

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    This is great, Lamar. Congrats on the TS.

  • Micheal Chinedu8 months ago

    Great

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Lovely nuanced micro Lamar! Congrats on your top story!! 😁

  • Macy Dennis8 months ago

    Beautiful Writing

  • C. H. Richard8 months ago

    Congratulations Lamar! Well deserved top story! Excellent character building. Irving is eery yet poetic. ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.