Fiction logo

Dreamer - Chapter 39

don't be fooled by what others tell you

By MelPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

My cheeks felt hot as I found myself walking back towards my truck. Stupid. Stupid.. Stupid. What the hell were you thinking!?

"Rev." She spoke out but I just ignored her. I couldn't look at her right now. Not now. Not after what we just- what I just did.

"You can't just leave like this." She said to me, "You can't just expect for me to just forget about these little moments."

"Watch me." I snarled back, hopping into my truck and starting up the engine. Watch me.

**

I stood back and watched as he stormed out of the house and towards his truck. He doesn't think he can just run away from what just happened, does he?

"Rev." I called out towards him. No response.

"You can't just leave like this." I called out once more, "You can't just expect for me to just forget about these moments." We kissed.. again. It wasn't just something that happened just once by mistake.. he actually kissed me. He actually pressed his lips against mine and made contact.

"Watch me." I heard him snarl back before he hopped in the truck and drove away. Watch me. What the hell was that supposed to mean? Was I seriously not supposed to question him about this further? What did he expect for me to do, forget about this little exchange the second he drove off my property? My phone dinged, breaking me out of my trance, and I went over to check on it.

"Hey. Don't ask how I got your information but I'm out front. Come hang out with us!"

Confused, I began to text back when another message popped up from the same number.

"This is Jess btw"

Jess? From school? That Jess? A million different possibilities ran through my head of who could have possibly sent this text.. if it wasn't actually Jess. Rev? No.. he just left, and after how he left I'm sure I am far from the top of his mind at the moment. Ace? Can't be.. he's currently hospitalized and I doubt he had a chance to get away with all the nurses surrounding him. Maybe Mars or Mace? But they barely knew who I was.

"You coming?"

Shrugging off all bad thoughts, I slipped my phone into my back pocket and went out the front door. What's the worse that could happen that hasn't been as bad as my new life in this town has already been through?

At the end of the driveway sat a dark green car, with two shadows revealing themselves through the windows; one in the front, one in the back.

"How'd you get my address, or phone number?" was the first thing that left my thoughts as I got into the car.

"Maybe I have it in with the front office." Jess stated.

"Really?"

"Nah," She laughed, "I just know that the receptionist likes leave school early and snuck in after she was gone."

"She's got a dark side to her," Gilbert said from the backseat, "so don't you dare think to fuck with her."

"Got it." I pretended to put my hands up. After spending every waking moment I've had in this new town with Rev, being able to hang out with two completely different people felt weird. Odd, almost. For starters, I don't even know if these two were that much different than Rev. I've only met them once or twice; I barely knew either one. My eyes found themselves drifting over towards Jess, who had kept a stern focus on the road ahead.. much like Rev would do when I would ride with him. Her blonde curls had been pulled back into a tight pony with the pink ribbon from earlier still tied in a pretty little bow; except now, the bow was a little crooked compared to when I last saw it on the school grounds. I couldn't help but notice her fingernails were a light sparkly pink as she tapped them against the wheel to the song playing on the radio. In the backseat, Gilbert just stared out the window without uttering a single word.

"So.." Jess broke the silence, "How do you know Rev.. or Mars.. or that whole squad?"

"Huh?" Her words broke me out of my trance, "Oh.. I don't.. really know them that well."

"You were hanging out with them earlier today.. the school parking lot?" She said to me, "You even left with him."

"He's just the first person I met when I first moved out here." I shrugged, "It isn't that big a deal."

"I don't know.." Gilbert spoke up, "That group is a pretty big deal around these parts."

"Especially that Rev." Jess added.

"How did you both get to know them?" I asked, attempting to get the conversation off of myself.

"Jess had a thing for Liam."

"Gilbert!"

"Liam?" I couldn't help but let off a chuckle, "You mean that little asshole from school?"

"He's not all that bad." Gilbert defended him, "He has his moments but he's a pretty great guy."

"Sure he is." I scoffed.

"Liam just got a little too wrapped up in his brother's business." Jess stated.

"His brother?" I asked them, "You mean, Ace? He got a little too wrapped up in Ace's business?" I thought back to how Ace spoke about his brother; he seemed a bit overprotective, almost ticked off that Liam had acted out in class.

"Liam getting involved in his brother's business is what made their parents decide to remove Ace from their lives.. to protect their younger child," Gilbert responded, "or that's what we've heard, at least."

So that was Ace's backstory. Is it? Is that why he mostly only sees Rev as his family? Or why he seems more kept to himself? Rev was the one person in his life who never backed away when things got harsh.. no matter what Ace has done.

"How do you know all this?" I chuckled.

"We don't." Jess glared at Gilbert through the rear-facing mirror, "We don't know anything."

"Yeah." Gilbert answered, "We don't know anything."

Sure you don't. "So, why did you guys want me to come out with you?" I asked them, changing the subject before things grew awkward and quiet once again.

"Honestly I have no idea." Jess laughed, "We didn't even think you'd come out when you got that text."

"Why wouldn't I?"

"It was from some random number, for starters. Who responds to random text messages telling them to come meet them outside?" She laughed.

The same person who goes outside after getting some mysterious message and hangs around the same guy who tried to harm her on her very first night in a new town. "You said it was you."

"Yeah.. after the fact."

"You still said it was you," I answered her, "I probably would've ignored it if you never said your name. Anyways.. where are you even taking me too anyway?"

"You'll see." She put her pointer finger against her lips.

"Oh God," My head hit the headrest, "What is it with everyone in this town keeping secrets?"

"You don't like secrets?" Jess asked me.

"No." I answered quickly. That hasn't always been true. I never minded secrets. Hell, I even had some of my very own. But after the last few days, I think I've been all secret-ed out.

"How could you survive hanging around Rev and them if you hate secrets?" Gilbert asked.

"I never said I hated secrets." I told him, "I've just had enough secrets for a lifetime lately."

"Don't worry." Jess smiled, "I was only kidding. We're just going to go hang with a couple more friends. I can't really explain it without showing you."

My forehead pressed against the window as I watched the tree pass us by. God, trees really do start to become quite boring the more you observe them. "How much longer till we get there?" I asked.

"Not much longer." said Jess.

"The ride just feels longer than it actually is." Gilbert told me.

You got that right.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.