Fiction logo

Dreamer - Chapter 17

don't be fooled by what others tell you

By MelPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like

Disclaimer: This story has multiple parts. To read the previous part, you can click here.

"Welcome to Newspaper," The teacher, Ms. Lanz, cheerfully said as everyone piled into the classroom. I looked around for Liam and a sigh of relief left my body once I realized I didn't see him.

"Hello babe," The blonde boy from first period said to me.

My eyes shifted to his baby blues, "Are you also in this class?"

He nodded, "I've had this class for two years now.. not that I've been counting or anything. I'm Gilbert, by the way."

Gilbert? I probably would have never guessed that would've been his name just by looking at him. But we don't choose our names. If it was up to me, I would have never chosen the name Alexis for myself. I grabbed a seat next to him, "Is that a good thing, or a bad thing?"

He chuckled, "It's a good thing. I mean, this class is pretty whack but Ms. Lanz is crazy.. yet that is what makes her funny."

"Crazy?"

"Yeah."

A girl scooted into my desk on the other side of Gilbert and I covered my mouth to hide the gasp that just left my lips. The tattoos and lime green hair instantly gave her away. "Mars?"

"It's Marie." She said without turning my way.

"I'm pretty sure I met you as someone else."

She looked up before looking back down at her desk, "No.. you met me as me."

"The two of you have already met?" Gilbert asked, "When?" He was leaned back so far in his chair with his legs spread wide open as if he was ready to pull something out of it. He wasn't fully in his desk, but as I looked away, nobody in this class had been sitting correctly at their desk.

"I met her this morning before school." She sighed.

"She-"

"We randomly ran into each other." Marie cut me off before giving me a 'shut the fuck up before I actually hurt you' look.

"Oh," Gilbert said, "That's.. nice, I guess."

"Class," Ms. Lanz clapped her hands together, "Pay attention to me up here."

Gilbert turned his head to face the front, but left his arm stretched out so that was still leaning on my desk. I turned to face the back of his head as a small smile crept across my face before I was able to realize and stop myself. His blonde hair had been pushed up on top of his head into a small little fluff. He was wearing all black; sort of reminded me a bit of Ace. I turned my eyes towards the board quickly.

"Enjoying the view?" He whispered back towards me.

"What?"

"I can see you staring at me."

"Really? I thought I was being pretty discreet."

"I see the way your eyes light up when you look at me; the way you smiled as you ran your eyes up and down my body. You were observing me."

My cheeks began to grow hot.

"You were thinking of him, weren't you?"

I alertly turned back to him, "Him? Who? I wasn't thinking about anyone."

"Sure you weren't," He said without turning to face me, "Who was it?"

"Nobody."

"C'mon now. You can share with me." He turned his body towards me and brushed his finger against my cheek.

"It's nobody." I groaned. I swatted his finger away and pointed him towards the front as my cheeks grew hot once more.

"Class," Ms. Lanz brought my attention, among others around the classroom, to the front of the classroom, "We have an assignment to do."

The entire class groaned.

"It's an easy assignment class. Get out your pens and papers.. we will be writing today."

I pulled out a pencil and searched for a piece of paper. Shit. I could've sworn I brought some yesterday.. I must've forgotten to grab a pack after I saw Ace.

"Can I borrow a piece of paper?" I asked Gilbert.

"Sure." He handed a piece over to me and I grabbed it.

"Thank you."

After the entire class quieted down, the sounds of riffling through backpacks died down, and the talking went to a mute, Ms. Lanz spoke up again. "Today's writing assignment will be about anything you want it to be about. Freewriting can help a person write a newspaper at any time and any place. Let's just call this a practice round," She smiled before sitting down at her desk, "You can all begin now."

I sat for a minute, thinking about what it was I was going to write about. Many different topics ran through my mind, but only one stood out. I picked up my pencil and stared back at the paper in front of me.

"Mysterious. Hidden. Suspicious. That's him. Terrifying. Destructible. Dangerous. That is the one she must run from. He is known as a horrible person.. or was he? Curious. Confused. Terrified. That's her. So much had fallen at her feet, all at once, from the first second she arrived. Bodies have gone down whenever she chose to follow him. Had that been because of her? Does she caused him to be that of who he is? Disturbance and a killer. That was him. Her mind, she wants to help. But her heart.. she is horrified. She's scared. She's terrified. Terrified of every little move that she would make following his footsteps. Terrified of every small action that she could take to ruin the moment. Her could snap her neck with just the snap of two fingers.. as if he liked doing it. She wants to run. She wants to escape. But.. deep down.. she knows that's impossible. She's too close. He's everywhere. He sees everything. She must find out more about this devil in disguise. She must find out the truth. The real truth. Not just the truth he sets out for her to find. She must find out who it is that he is really hiding underneath his exterior."

I sat up, placing my pencil down, and stared back down at the paper laying in front of me. I kissed two of my fingers and placed it on the corner of the page. My eyes took a peek over at Gilbert, who had been facing down with his pencil laying next to his face. "Gilbert?" I tapped his arm.

"Don't hurt me," He jerked his head up.

"I'm not going to hurt you."

"Babe?"

I blushed at those words, "What's wrong?"

"Nothing."

"But you just-"

"It was nothing."

I sighed, facing the front of the board once again.

Hot breath hit my ear as someone whispered into it, "He wanted to hurt me as well."

"Who did?"

Silence.

"Who?" I asked again, turning my head to face the him but was interrupted by the teacher.

"Miss Kiele."

I looked up to see the teacher standing by my desk, "Ms. Lanz."

A couple other classmates chuckled at my response.

"You think you can just come into my classroom and disrupt the class?" She asked.

"No. I was just-"

"You think you can come in here demanding the attention to be on you and think that you'll have no consequences?"

"I would never expect that, Ms. Lanz."

"It sure looks like you do."

"I swear I was just doing my work."

"Not from what I could see."

"I was!" I shouted but immediately covered my mouth. Crap.

"Oh shit." Gilbert snickered to himself.

"Share your work."

"I can't."

"Why not?"

My blood began to drain from the brain. I felt as if all the eyes of every student in this classroom had fallen onto me, expecting me to get up and do or say something. "I just.. I can't." I held the paper up to her face, "But this is proof that I did actually complete the assignment you gave."

She grabbed the paper from my hand and scanned over it. She let off a small gasp before placing it back down on my desk, face down, before walking away to check on other students.

"I didn't realize you could be that feisty." Gilbert was now leaning more on my desk with a smirk growing across his face, "It's pretty sexy."

"It was a mistake."

"It was genius."

"No it wasn't."

"So now you're being prissy?"

"I just hate treating teachers like that. They try their very best and-"

"It is pretty awesome to watch, though."

"What's awesome to watch?" said Ms. Lanz, who was now looking down at Gilbert.

"Nothing."

Marie snickered at his comment.

"Do you think that was funny, miss?"

"No ma'am." She quickly answered, jotting her eyes away from the teacher.

"As for you," She pointed at Gilbert, "What did you write?"

"Just a little something."

"Share it." Her lips were pursed together and her stare was cold and intimidating.

"Do I have to?" He asked.

"Yes."

He sighed before letting off another smirk, this time towards Marie, and stood up. I saw her stick up her finger at him in a way where Ms. Lanz wouldn't be able to see.

"She was like a ray of sunshine," He began, "minus the sunshine." He took one glance over at Marie. "She was secretive about everything. Anything. Hidden inside her own little world. But there was something else. There is always something else. She was different. She is different. She has this danger inside of her. It always lit up like the final spark of a lighter. She has a special talent. But I lost her.. to him. I lost her to the monster. He stole her. He killed her. He killed every single piece of her and fed me the proof." He looked back up at Marie as he said his last three words, "He destroyed her."

"That's pretty good. You may have a career of writing in your future."

"Fuck that shit." Gilbert said as he sat back down.

"Excuse me?"

"F-"

"Detention."

"I didn't even do anything."

"That kind of language will not be tolerated in this classroom, Gilbert.. and you know that very well."

He sunk down in his seat, "I didn't need a fucking detention over a stupid word."

I looked away and decided to pay attention for the rest of the class period. Sort of. I couldn't pay much attention for the entire period. Not with Gilbert on one side of me trying to throw little balls of what I assumed with notes over at Marie, as well as the other students around me just doing everything in their power to not pay attention to a single world Ms. Lanz had been saying. I could understand why Gilbert told me about this teacher earlier. Of course, I still don't really understand why he said she was crazy.. but I do see how this class could be a good kind of class. You could basically just do whatever you wanted, and this teacher might not even realize that you had no idea what she was talking about. Ms. Lanz had also wrote down every word she said up on the board, so if she hit you with an unexpectant question, the answer was already written behind her on the board. I had just started to get used to this school when, all of a sudden, everything went dark. The talking around the room died down and were replaced with a few screams; something tells me this wasn't a norm for this town. A hand wrapped around my arm and yanked me out of my seat.

"You're coming with me."

Series
Like

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.