Fiction logo

Dreamer - Chapter 16

don't be fooled by what others tell you

By MelPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like

Disclaimer: This story has multiple parts. To read the previous part, you can click here.

"You are an hour and a half late, young lady." The young receptionist in the front office said to me. Her eyes were still facing her computer as she typed away on the keyboard in front of her.

"I know," I replied, "I'm sorry about that.. but I'm new, so can't you just overrule this just once?"

"Alexis Kiele, we have a rule at this school and that is-"

"It won't happen again." I quickly answered.

She looked up towards me, her glasses sliding down her nose as her eyes narrowed onto me, "Miss Kiele-"

"Lex," I responded before changing my thought process, "Alexis."

"Alexis. I don't know how it went at your old school, but we have a strict policy at our school when it comes to tardiness. We-"

A boy walked in.. well he mostly just barged into the room. He was wearing some kind of leather jacket and had his hair gelled upwards.

"Liam, where do you think you are going?" The woman shifted her eyes towards his direction. I also took a glance at him before quickly shifting my eyes away.

"I'm pretty sure I'm supposed to be going to school. You think I have the wrong address?" He sounded high. Like really high.

"Is your class in the front office?"

"I would say it is," He let off a smirk but the receptionist didn't seem to be amused at his antics one bit. She faced the computer and wrote out a small slip of paper before handing it over to him. I noticed the words "Tardy" printed across it as she passed it over. The door slammed shut as he left, and she focused her eyes back onto me once again.

"I'm sorry about that. What was it that you were needing again?"

"I'm a new student," I repeated myself, "I need to get my class schedule."

"And who are you?"

"Alexis Kiele," I sighed, "I told you earlier."

"I don't need any backtalk from you as well, Miss Kiele. I know that you're new and all, but I already get that kind of talk from the other students at this establishment and I do not need to have you be joining them." She said, typing away at her computer. If the other students talked that way with her, wouldn't she just have gotten used to it by now?

A piece of paper started to exit the printer, and the lady grabbed ahold of it before handing it to me, "These are your classes. Now get on to class and please don't make it a habit to be late." She turned away once again and I just took that as my cue to leave. After the door shut behind me, I glanced down at the paper.

1st period - Calculus - Mr. Deanbrooke

2nd period - Newspaper - Mrs. Lanz

3rd period - Film IV - Ms. Lily

4th period - Biology Honors II - Ms. Bankz

5th period - English Honors III - Mr. Criank

I slammed into something, causing my bag to explode open so all my items could fall all over the floor.

"Watch it." I heard someone say to me as I bent down to pick my belongings back up.

"Sorry." I responded.

She came down to help me scramble everything back up, "It's alright. You new here? I'm Jessica, but people usually just call me Jess."

I looked up to see who this Jess was. Her curly blonde hair had been pinned to the side of her head in some sort of twist, and her hazel eyes had a bit of sparkle in them. She was wearing a very light shade of pink lip gloss that matched her very light, almost faded pink eyeshadow. The redness of her blush enhanced her cheeks to make them stand out, which seemed to be a great look for her. She had multicolored highlights in her blonde hair, the ends of the curls getting the most color out of them. She was wearing a cute light blue colored blouse and a pair of ripped blue jeans.

"Hello?" She waved her hand in front of my face.

"I'm Alexis," I snapped out of my trance, "but people usually just call me Lex."

"Well hello again, Lex." She had a light chuckle in her voice, "It's nice to run into you.. literally."

I gave off a small smile, nodding my head.

"Isn't it a little too late to be socializing?" Someone else said from behind Jess.

"Leave me alone, Liam." She moved away from him, "Shouldn't you be bothering someone else by now?"

"She doesn't even know me yet." He smirked. His eyes found their way towards mine, "Hello."

"I believe we-"

"-Met." He finished my sentence, "I know.. in the office, before. You were talking to that head bitch."

"I-"

"Shut up, Liam." said Jess.

He grabbed ahold of her wrist, yanking him towards him, "What did you just say to me?"

She stayed silent, but I didn't. "She told you to shut up." I told him.

His eyes found their way back on me once again, "Are you really going to choose to talk to me like this?"

My cheeks felt hot, "Why shouldn't I when you just grabbed my friend the way you did?"

"If only you knew who I was," He smirked.

I stared back at him. I wasn't going to even bother coming up with some kind of comeback to get him to back down.

He took my bag from my arms and started to search through it.

"Give that back!" I shouted at him.

He pressed his finger to his lips as he slid my phone out of the front pocket, unlocking it.

"Maybe you should have asked me before you rampage through my stuff, jerk."

"You wouldn't have let me if I asked."

"Obviously," I said back, "but you should've at least asked anyway."

"Liam isn't the most polite person," Jess said to me, "He's a dick."

I looked over as he searched through my phone, studying him. He had short brown hair with little curls that hung off his forehead, and his eyes were red as if he had just smoked just seconds before; probably where he was that caused him to be tardy to school in the first place. I let off a short gasp as I noticed him begin to type. "What are you doing?"

"Nothing." He responded, shoving the phone back into my bag before chucking it back into my arms.

"Fuck you." I said to him.

"Fuck you too." He held his finger up to me, "You really should be getting to class.. this school really frowns on tardiness." With that, he was gone.

Jess turned back to me, "Are you alright?"

I nodded, "I really should be getting to class."

"We both should. Who do you have?"

"Mr. Deanbrooke," I showed her my schedule, "Calculus."

"Me too. I'll show you the way." She perked herself up again, as if what had just happened didn't actually happen. She was probably just used to that guy bothering her.. unlike me, who had just met him.

She began walking and I had to nearly run up to stay caught up with her.

"What other classes do you have?" She asked me, grabbing my class schedule from my hands, "Mr. Deanbooke; semi great, Mrs. Lanz; ehh, Ms. Lily; I don't know her, Ms. Bankz; I guess you could say that she's pretty friendly, and Mr. Criank; yikes, girl you are going to need all the luck just to survive his class."

"Would you stop criticizing them? I bet you don't even know who they are."

"Oh I do. Well.. truthfully, I only know about three of them; Mr. Deanbrooke, Ms. Bankz, and Mr. Criank. But just looking at your classes this year, you most definitely need some luck just to make it to the end."

I sighed, "Great."

She came up to a door and knocked. A not so tall boy with blonde hair opened the door. His blue eyes stood out the most.

"Let us in." Jess smiled.

I smiled at him as he opened the door, but it soon faded the second I saw the boy sitting in the back. Liam.

"Come on in and take your seats," Mr. Deanbrooke spoke out to us, "Hurry up girls."

Jess grabbed a seat in the front as I stood awkwardly in the back, taking in the small classroom.

"Sit anywhere you'd like." The blonde boy whispered to me as he walked by. I smiled and just grabbed the only open desk near me, which also just happened to be next to Liam.

"Hello there," He smiled, "Glad to see we can enjoy our time together for a lot longer."

"Don't talk to me." I whispered back. I laid my bag on the desk, reaching into it and unlocking my phone. New message. Michael.

"What does that mean?"

I gulped, scrolling upward to see the message just before that.

"He still wants to kill you." My eyes shifted over to Liam before glancing back at my phone. What? I didn't even want to believe he would actually send a text, but to send something like that.. who even does that? Why? It's not like we were best buddies. We literally just met this morning.

"He already knows a lot about you." I gulped.

"Don't be confused when this relationship dies off."

My eyes went back to my phone, my thumb scanning itself over the small message box before I started to type out my next message, "Sorry Michael. That wasn't me." I don't know how the hell I'm supposed to fix this; a guy I hardly even knew just texted my best friend a weird ass text. How am I ever going to be able to explain this to Michael? It would've made sense if Rev or Ace sent this text.. but I just met Liam. "Someone stole my phone. I'm so sorry that they decided to text you. I did manage to get the phone back, though." I tossed my phone back into my bag and looked up.

"Hello Alexis. Are you ready to begin class, or would you rather just text?"

"Class, please." I showed a small smile, which probably made the interaction more awkward. Way to go, new kid. Now the teacher's going to think you slack off.

"I'll let this slide since you are new," Mr. Deanbrooke said to me, "but if you disrupt the class again, I will have to supply you with a free trip to detention." I heard Liam chuckle next to me.

"It won't happen again." I told him.

"He does this to everyone, not just you." Liam whispered to me. I turned to see him leaning on my desk, but he must've caught my eye because he smiled back at me.

"Get off."

"What?"

I shoved his arm off the desk, "Off."

"Pay attention." Mr. Deanbrooke said, raising his arm as he stood up front, trying to point towards what he had written down on the board, "I do not need any more troublemakers in this class, Ms. Kiele."

I stayed silent, eyeing Liam every now and again, but not to much where he could actually notice.. hopefully. A note slid onto my desk.

"Possibly.. you might know my brother?"

I looked over to find Liam looking over at me, giving him a confused look in return. Brother? Ace? Did Ace even have a brother? Or was he talking about.. Rev? I sighed, looking back at the board. If I wanted to pay attention in this class, I really do need to learn how to shut him out.. and that's exactly what I did.

Soon enough, the bell rang and everyone jumped out of their seats as if the entire classroom just exploded into flames. I pulled my bag up over my shoulder, about to walk out when someone tapped my shoulder.

"What do you want?" I faced Liam.

"Do you really know my brother?"

"I don't think I do." I folded my arms across my chest, "I just met you, so how would I know who your brother is?"

"Oh."

"Who is your brother?"

"Nobody." He picked up his notebook.

"Why would I-"

"I said he was nobody!" He stormed out of the classroom.

A confused look flashed over my face, but I ignored it. I just headed on over to my next class. Newspaper.. with Mrs. Lanz.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.