Fiction logo

Doofency

Noun: A feeling caused by the consciousness from benefitting or profiting financially from another person's ignorance or poor decisions.

By Dana StewartPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
22
Doofency
Photo by Theme Photos on Unsplash

I’m on time as I ring the doorbell at five o’clock. Another long work day for me but I’ve got to keep my pipeline full. Being self-employed isn’t easy, it’s a continuous grind. The sacrifices of being the breadwinner means missing out on all the family stuff. That’s the hardest part. Right about now Brandon’s soccer game was starting and Regina should be getting out of dance lessons.

I’ve got to make hay when the sun shines. Meet new clients when it’s convenient. They’re writing the check so I have to accommodate their schedule.

She answers the door in yoga pants sporting a toothy grin. She sips on her red wine as I wipe my work boots on the doormat and follow her into the living room.

“Like all artists, walls are my canvas, Ma’am. But I’ve never seen anything like this. What kind of paint is that?”

Her cheeks flush the color of the wine. “It’s glitter nail polish. I thought it would look good.”

I scribble some notes on the quote form. Calculate the labor, how many hours it’ll take to fix this mess. Figure up materials, add some buffer on the chance that something goes wrong. I don’t want to have to eat the loss.

I hand her the bid. She doesn’t flinch at the cost.

“Do you paint cars, too? I had an idea that didn’t quite work out.”

I nod. Brandon’s getting new cleats and Regina can learn ballet.

Microfiction
22

About the Creator

Dana Stewart

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Kendall Defoe 5 months ago

    Perfect!

  • I want to know what she did to that car lol. Great job Dana!

  • Donna Renee5 months ago

    oh no LOL did she glitter nail polish the car too?? 😂😱

  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    The glitter nail polish was the twist I did not expect 😊💗

  • C. H. Richard6 months ago

    All that glitters, ah maybe not! Lol 😊 Made me chuckle! ❤️

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    Cha ching. When silliness is making you money. How great is that.

  • But I feel so bad for her. Like it's not like he's robbing the poor but yeah. Loved your word and story!

  • Test6 months ago

    Hilarious, brilliant characterisation and perfect word to describe that feeling. Though my experience is the feeling of someone else gaining from my stupidity!

  • Phil Flannery6 months ago

    It's great when people get artistic without think about the consequences. great new word and great story.

  • Kristen Balyeat6 months ago

    Such great storytelling, Dana! Love your word, and the glitter polish made me lol! 😂🙌🏽

  • Tiffany Gordon 6 months ago

    Brilliant work Dana, though I do feel kinda sorry for her...

  • J. S. Wade6 months ago

    Great word and story 🥰. For every doofus there is also a worm somewhere. I Guess it balanced out!

  • Real Poetic6 months ago

    lol I can only imagine what she did to the car.

  • Brin J.6 months ago

    Oh, this is so clever! This was a well-crafted story to capture the word, encapsulating it with such a perfect metaphor (is metaphor the right word? As a writer, you'd think I know, lol) Anyway, I must say, bravo, Dana! You outdid yourself on the composition of this challenge 🤗

  • Jennifer David6 months ago

    Engaging writing!

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Woohoo!!! Well done!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • JBaz6 months ago

    I love these stories they keep getting better.

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Excellent. Lol. Wonder what she did to the car?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.