Fiction logo

Dear Heather,

this one's for you

By Dana StewartPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 4 min read
18
Author created image

This letter is for Heather Hubler's Write me a Letter prompt. You can read more about it here:

Dear Heather,

Oxidized is a science word and I know by your own admissions that you are in fact, ‘into science’. I picked that particular term to meet the caveat that my letter must contain every letter in the alphabet and let’s face it, x and z are probably the hardest letters to incorporate with any semblance of authenticity. So there. Check that box. I reckon the rest of this letter will unequivocally flow effortlessly now, since I’m knocking the hard letters out of the mix right off the bat.

Speaking of bats, it’s Spooky season – or as most normal people call it - Autumn. I know from our previous conversations that we both swelter and sweat in the summer months like a nun in a cucumber patch, but alas, the seasons changed and we can relax and enjoy the few days of crisp fall air. It’s nice to be able to sit outside and not have boob sweat. Aimiright?

I have to admit, when I read your challenge, er, gauntlet (of course it's a gauntlet - you're a magical realism / fantasy writer) I knew that I wanted to make you laugh a bit to lighten your mood ( I hope that bit about the nun caused a chuckle) and perhaps spew coffee from your lips in quiet appreciation of my our shared deprivation.

Seems like life can get heavy so often, in the blink of an eye and it’s the words, or the people behind the words that can shine a light and be the beacon that gives hope.

To all mankind.

I channeled Tolkien there for a minute. Must have been the inserted meme.

Seriously, though. Isn’t that what we, as writers strive to achieve? To create ambiance, build a world so complex in its simplicity that the readers are suckered into our fantasy on a page? So lost in thought, captivated by sentences and the art of the story. Turning page after page well after midnight, with eyes so tired they rather quint and chance farsightedness for the rest of their life instead of quit reading. Mesmerized with the flawed heroines - let's face it, every hero needs a character flaw, and the spunky underdogs that defy the odds and surprise everybody.

We become so invested in the story that when we get to the end it feels like we’ve lost a friend.

That’s what reading does. It’s the best distraction ever. My granny used to say if you have a book in your hand, you always have a friend nearby.

What I’ve realized since I’ve joined Vocal is that there are so many wonderful creative people with big ideas. What I’ve learned about myself more than anything else is that no one expects you to keep it all together while you’re trying to get where you want to go. In fact, I think the more we fall apart, the better stories we write.

Because if we fall apart, we had to feel something, had to scream in the darkness and shout at the moonlight. Fight it, embrace it. Fight or flight, nature or nurture - one way or the other, we all come out different on the other side of our battles. Because we care.

People that don’t give a shit can’t bleed on the page. They just can’t. It’s those that overcome the obstacles, learn from the hardships they’ve endured that create the most compelling works.

I’m so honored to have met so many creative people here on Vocal. I count you as one of my favorites, too. Of course, you should know that already but I'm putting it on the record. You’re the biggest cheerleader for everyone. Not to mention the most badass poet and one hell of a fiction writer.

I know you’ve had some obstacles these few months. I have every confidence that you will see it through, meet the challenges head-on. Know that you’ve got a friend in me, cheering your artsy self on from afar.

Remember it’s okay to let some things fall apart.

I for one can’t wait to read the work you create through all the trials and tribulations. The only difference in a writer and an author is the latter didn’t quit.

They just embrace the artful beauty of themselves.

Artsy Heather Hubler

Your friend,

Dana

Humor
18

About the Creator

Dana Stewart

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Veronica Coldiron6 months ago

    Stopping back by to congratulate you on the honorable mention!! GREAT letter! 🥰

  • Heather Hubler6 months ago

    Oh Dana, you are such a rare gem! I loved this so much, and it brightened my day. I wish we lived closer, because I know we'd have fun together!! The nun joke was freaking hilarious, and I used to have that LOTR meme saved on my phone...hahaha!! I appreciate your support and always offer you the same. And I agree with the others that this described exactly how I feel about reading and writing. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for this letter, my friend :)

  • Mackenzie Davis6 months ago

    Wow, Dana, this was so wholesome and heartwarming. Two cliché words, I know, but I mean them sincerely, if that makes up for it. Your writing is like being lulled by a gentle creek; I couldn't stop reading. I could feel the love in your fingertips as you typed it. I'll echo Novel and say I hope that Heather's days are brighter with the answers to this challenge. This one will stand out, I don't doubt it. Also, the nun joke went over my head until I found it again. OMG. Just brilliant!

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    Wonderful words to a friend. Hope the letters are making her days shine brighter. They do for me. Just great words.

  • I loved this just absolutely loved it. You described how I feel about writing better than I ever have.

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    I have read quite a few of these letters to Heather and, while they are all wonderful, this is my absolute favourite. Excellent response! Btw, "nuns in a cucumber patch," bahahaha.

  • Lamar Wiggins6 months ago

    I love the insight from granny! This entire letter was inspiring. The humor tucked in here and there elevated it even more. Great work!

  • I wrote a funny piece for Heather too in the hopes of making her laugh. Speaking of which, I did laugh for the nuns in a cucumber patch, lol. I enjoyed your letter so much!

  • Donna Renee6 months ago

    This is perfect, Dana, I loved the hobbit references and you were really throwing down some truths in here too.

  • Tiffany Gordon 6 months ago

    LOVELY!

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Sweet!!! Dana, love your fabulous letter to Heather!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    Lovely. Also, nuns in cucumbers.

  • Veronica Coldiron6 months ago

    Beautiful.

  • JBaz6 months ago

    I have always appreciated your writing but now you just took it to a different level with the Nun joke and add in a hobbit or two with sentimentality of life. You hooked me as a permanent fan.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.