Fiction logo

Do You Really Wana Eat That Pear ?

Fair is fair. A pear is a pear. Trade for a trade ? I’ll take what I see is fair. Take a bite...but once you do, I’ll take whatever I see is right.

By Tasjanah Anderson Published 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Do You Really Wana Eat That Pear ?
Photo by Charles Deluvio on Unsplash

“I don’t see any other way. I know I have to pick you. I have to do something!”

My head was raging. “If I pick you, then I have to eat you and make my trade or somebody else does. Or somebody will die anyway!” That’s the trick about these little devils. If they are picked and no trade is made, they’ll take something anyway. It could be anything at that point. If nobody picks it, then it’ll rot by this time tomorrow. Although my siblings would never let that happen. So I must make a wish. It must be me.

I’m pacing in front of our tree, almost pulling my hair out! The last moonlit pear looks as if it is eyeing me as well. Pick me - pick me. But this is the LAST pear on our tree until next season and... the last few repercussions were terrible. Iv lost my mom because of my brother and my dad because of my sister. All because THEY WANTED TO WISH FOR LOVE.. the price of love would be love obviously! So I hope they’re happy. Our parents could never come back now. Once a wish is made, whatever the pear deems as worthy is taken. What could I possibly wish for at a time like this. I honestly wish these stupid pears never existed.

“That’s it... I wish the pears never existed” I reach for the pear and a flashback of my family and I on the first year I was old enough to pick came into mind. My mom was so excited.. this tree was her family’s secret before my dad came along. She urged me to pick and wish for anything I wanted. What could a sixteen year old wish for that my family hadn’t already? So I picked my pear and it awoke- “Fair is fair a pear is a pear, what would you trade? I’ll take whatever I see is fair. What do you yearn for this time?” The pears somehow connect to your mind after picking. I was the only one who could hear it’s words. I thought for a moment & then it hit me.

“Pear, I wish for an amusement park that me and my family would never have to pay for! No lines or food tickets just free fun.” I take a big bite - the sweetest juice flows from the pear. I feel alittle light headed after I swallow. Like the pear is taking up space in my mind. Not even 5 minutes after, my mom received a call from a new amusement park owner, we won a contest (that we never entered) to receive life time passes. We decided to put my wish to work and go to the amusement park that day! We even invited our neighbor’s son. He was an only child so why not. But I guess the pear deemed my hand as worthy for trade. Before we got to the park, I could feel this tingling in my left hand. My hand slowly disappeared.. like it was never there. The pears voice rang in my head “Fair is fair ! A pear is a pear, you traded a limb for fun, and I hope you have some! With one less thumb.” We never know exactly what the pear will take. But my hand is gone now and there isn’t any going back. Whatever the pear takes is gone for good. I couldn’t even wish it back if I wanted.

Flashback over, I pick the final pear.

“Fair is fair a pear is a pear, what would you trade? I’ll take whatever I see is fair. What do you yearn for this time?”

“I wish..I wish that these magic pears never existed!” I lean in to take a big bite. I almost spit it out, the taste is sour this time. I chew really fast and swollow. My whole body is tingly immidetly. I guess my brother and sister feel it, they come rushing outside.

“TJ NO!” In unison they scream. My vision is blurry I can’t really see them. My sister grabbed me by my shoulders and asked what I wished for.

“TJ, quickly ! What did you wish for?”

“For the magic pears to never exist..”

My brother dropped to his knees

“Oh no. TJ we can’t lose you too! Mom made a wish when you were still in her belly..that you were born healthy & alive, you almost died inside her!”

“Nobody ever told me.” And then slowly but surly the pears voice rang in my head

“Fair is fair. A pear is a pear, you traded your life for mine hm, I guess that’s fair. Who would care if you or I were never there.”

I look at my siblings through blurred eyes.

“I’m sorry. I just wanted our family back.”

My sister hugged my tight and my brother joined. I could feel my legs tingling now. I think my arms are gone. The last thing I remember seeing was that stupid pear on the ground. I’ll never know if I made the right decision.

“Sweetie wake up, it’s time for school”

I open my eyes and I’m face to face with a woman who vaguely seems familiar.

“What happened?”

“Come on JT you do this every weeknd.”

“What ? What am I suppose to be doing “

“Our neighbors ? The pears ? Your going to the amusement park with them like you do every weeknd. Come on!”

It’s like I remember but everything is still hazy.. I’m 16 .. I’m JT and I’m an only child. I have one hand missing from a car accident when I was younger With my mother.

I need some air. I step into my backyard in my pajamas, there is nothing significant. I get this urge to look over the fence at my neighbors yard. I stepped onto some cender blocks and see that they have a huge oak tree.. I wonder what’s so different about today. I feel off but maybe it’s just me. I get dressed and knock on my neighbors door. The house seems so familiar. A boy alittle older than me answers.

“Wassup JT!” He gives me a hug

“ You ready for the rollercosters? I heard they added new rides.”

And suddenly visions of us at the amusement park came to me. His sister came to the door-

“You guys are so lame. I wish you had a sister JT, so me and HER could be that close. I always wanted a sister.”

And then I hear the most amazing voice

“Stop teasing them, you kids get in the car and let’s go” I look in the door way to see their mom and their dad making way to the car.

I hop in because it feels like home. I’m not sure what’s this weird feeling today but then the radio comes on-

“ FAIR IS FAIR. A pear is a pear. What would your life be like without the magic pears. COME ON DOWN TO THE MAGIC PEAR AMUSEMENT PARK, where we sell the most unique and magical pears in all of the world.”

The End

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Tasjanah Anderson

Fireredd . Photographer/ Rapper / Writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.