Fiction logo

'Did I make you proud?'

Not every kid is obedient, not every letter is easy to write.

By Crystal AyersPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Dear dad... er mom?

I guess you would rather be called mom than dad? But uncle Dev told me that a name, or title was power, the more names that someone has, the easier it is for them to be grounded in reality... Dad you're stupidly strong you know, like the gods we learn about. It isn't because you were polymorphed or anything, it's just you are dad. You’re my dad, I might be the only one who can ever call you that, but I’ll always call you dad.

I don't write cheesy stuff like this like ever but... I wanted to say thanks dad. You've done a ton of stuff for me, like setting up the shed so I could live with our dragon. Since I don't really fit in at home either way... You made sure I would have a room and not just sleep under El's wing. Then tried to say it was mom's idea. Though I’m sure you didn’t know that mom wouldn’t take credit, she was adamant in denying it.

I know you threatened Master thirteen when I ran away, and tried to protect me before you went away. Dad, I know you're strong, and protective. We learned your story at school, you know? The story of the knights, the gods and the pandemonium that was more fierce than it is today. Dad, I know you don’t want us to fight, and you’d rather we didn’t see what you were like fighting. But… I can’t stay hidden in your shadow, as much as I would try…. My blood aches, and I can’t let my friends get tangled into this mess.

Your blood in me is strong, I inherited your stubbornness, your hot-headed emotional insanity… As much as you hate that, I can’t help it I have the fire from both sides… The blood in me calls for vengeance for something I don’t know, not that it matters…. I just don’t want those around me to suffer, I wasn’t expecting to find others to teach me, but I can’t go in to die dad… I love you, and as much as I wanna respect your wishes I can’t. I wanna keep learning from the guardians of death, from the commander guard of the valkyries, and Alder. I may have mixed blood of incubus, valkyrie and pure fire… I don’t have the skills to control it, and I wish I could ask you… But since you won’t let me, I had to go to the thirteenth… I’m learning a lot of things here, and I did make a bloodpact to survive with Alder. Even though it was to survive… Somehow it’s as if he was always meant to be in my life, is it like that with you and uncle, dad? Please don’t be too harsh on him, it was me who initiated it, and I chose that over making a contract with death you know?

Didn’t I honor that wish at least? Have I made you even a little proud? I’m trying… I wanna help you purge out Deimos’ followers from the fortress… But more than anything, I just wanna be with you… If you don’t want me to be around, because I’m a bad influence on the younger ones I get it… I mean there are plenty of them around, and I’ve influenced Darren, Oz and even Bella negatively… The dragonlings seem to cuddle up to me because of El, but I guess I am a hazard to them, since I really can’t control any power… So for now I will stay at Angelo’s range, it might be dangerous, I might learn a lot more dark things than I need to, but I won’t risk hurting anyone around me…. Please, don’t be disappointed dad, I will come back. I’ll be stronger than before and miss you even more than ever.

Happy mother’s day dad, I love you.

Love always,

Vellius.

family
Like

About the Creator

Crystal Ayers

Merely an aspiring author drifting by on the tides. Spinning phrases to build worlds to paint portraits to fill space; allowing symphonies of lyrical colloquy to fill the time as it flows.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.