Fiction logo

Diary of the Damned

Tickets Please

By Adri SotoPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

Emily:

I died smiling. There’s a pounding in my head and a deep rumble underneath me. What is rumbling under me? I remember the man jumping out, the crack my head made when it hit the pavement. It’s echoing so loud I can’t think. I reached my trembling hand up to feel my head, to make sure it's in one piece.

There’s nothing, did I dream it? Why can’t I think… why can’t I think... where am I? The rumble is amplifying. There are seats around me, it feels like we are moving, but it’s too fast. Everything’s too fast. Maybe I should go back to bed, it's too loud. My head feels like it's breaking.

Marcus:

I’m jolted awake by the sound of a horn in the distance. This isn’t my home, this is… a train? The windows offer no help with my surroundings, it's going too fast. I didn’t think trains could go this fast. This is… odd. Do I have a ticket? Do these things even take paper tickets anymore? It’s the digital age, you’d think they’d have caught up by now.

Think Marcus, think. You were at football practice, running to catch the ball, I remember almost having it. I was taken down before I could catch it, and then… darkness? I need to go back; they can’t play without me. Everything hurts though, why does everything hurt?

They can’t play without me, maybe the train is taking me home.

Ella:

This is the end, isn’t it? There’s no way this isn’t. I took every measure to make sure this would be. I took the pills and waited for the blackness to swallow me. I expected a field of grass and a gate, or maybe the fiery pits of hell. I would have even accepted a tumbleweed passing in the distance of a vast western land. What I did not expect was a train. Why the hell am I on a train? Why is it going so fast? It’s hard to stand it.

I feel in my pocket for a ticket, a piece of paper; anything really that can explain why I’m here and how I can leave. Empty. My head is woozy, I can’t focus on this right now. Please help me, it’s fading again.

Didn’t I want this though? I asked for it to be dark, to be nothing, to be calm. If only I could hold onto a thought, any thought. It’s all fleeting. It’s like it's running away from me.

This could be good, maybe the infinite rumble can hold me just a little bit longer. I sink into the seat; I don’t have to be anything here.

Jacob:

That damn cough again, is it normal to spit up this much water? Did I always have this cough? Nah. This shit is new.

I was about to break my record. I did break my record, I had to have. Did you see me in that water? It didn’t even stand a chance. I’ve been practicing for weeks, no, months. I owned that bitch. I kept myself up all last night, I couldn’t sleep knowing how much I was going to impress those coaches today.

I was in the water; I know I was. There was a wall ahead of me and I was going as fast as I could to make the turn. How did I get here? The seat is soft underneath me, a window to my right. The scenery outside is going by too fast to get a read of it.

My body shakes violently, hell of a cough, I guess. The water is pooling beneath my feet now. Oh god, there’s so much water coming out. I can’t breathe.

Mary:

I had a nice dream last night, there was this beach that me and Richard used to lay on. It was our honeymoon; the sun was shining spectacularly that day. The waves kissed the sand, truly a perfect day me and my Richard shared. He reached over and took my hand, whispering in my ear, “It’s just us now love.” Oh, I could have just melted into that sun-kissed sand.

Of course, we were twenty-four then. Richard’s ashes were spread on that beach years ago, after forty-seven blissful years together. But it will always be just us.

Richard did something new this time, he grabbed my hand gently, leaned close, and said, “It’s time to go now love.”

He led me into this wonderful light, it wasn’t too bright, wasn’t too dark, why it was just right. He walked in with me. Me and my Richard.

Oh dear, how did this happen? Where is my Richard? Take me back to the beach darling, I don’t have a reason to be anywhere else.

Sam:

“EXCUSE ME IS ANYBODY HERE?”

“HELLO, PLEASE, SOMEBODY, ANYBODY,” my screams hit the edge of the train and bounce back at me. I need to get back. I need to get off.

He had a gun, I have to save her, please let me go back and save her. I jumped as soon as I heard the fire, but I need to know if I made it.

It all happened so fast… we were sleeping in our apartment, the door clicked open quietly. I remember the dread building in my throat, it sank into my bones and held me down. For a second too long. Before I could react, before I could wake her, he was there. He burst into the room gun drawn and fired.

It fades after that.

The seat sinks beneath me, Claire’s not here. Here on this hell on earth that is this train. It feels like it’s gone on forever. Does it plan on stopping anytime soon? I’ve come to what feels like infinitely. What’s worse is that for some god-forsaken reason there’s a hole in my chest. It hurts, it hurts so much. I didn’t even know you could have holes go through your body like this. I can see inside myself. Too clearly.

I need to know if Claire’s still alive. Please. We didn’t even have anything valuable to take… we barely had enough to scrape by.

Please don’t forget to sign in:

Emily Fields

Marcus Thompson

Ella Ciltnovich

Jacob Carter

Mary Hill

Sam Harris

End of Ledger

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Adri Soto

Sometimes the greatest joys in life are in the worlds we like to get lost in. I enjoy creating them far too much and am always open to feedback!

25-year-old aspiring writer/artist/singer with a daughter to hopefully one day impress

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    Cool concept!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.