Fiction logo

Decade Of Deciet

The Chemical Romance

By Andrew BellPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 12 min read
Like

"Robert I'm leaving for my first face to face therapy session!" While putting on her running shoes since they provided the most comfort, her husband of 3 years came up behind her and gave her a kiss on the cheek . "I love you so much babe. I'm proud of you for taking charge of your mental health." She turned to reciprocate the affection before leaving the house. It was around a half hour later when she arrived at her appointment. "I'm here to see Dr. Coralize." She said as she spoke to the receptionist. "Right this way ma'am, you are actually early for your appointment which is perfect because we had young man cancel on us." It was her first time going to the Doctor's office in person since the pandemic. "Thank you for coming Mrs..." "Mrs. Manson sir." He chuckled and profusely apologized for not remembering her name. When she sat down they went over the usual topics of her everyday life with her loving husband and her job ups and downs as well as how her parents are fairing. The conversation took an interesting turn as she began to talk about the nightmares she has had the past couple weeks. "Do you know what caused these nightmares to occur?" She thought about it for a couple minutes before answering "They started shortly after coming home from my high school reunion. The therapist leaned in closer while in his recliner for the story began to intrigue him. "Please elaborate if you feel comfortable to do so." A few heavy sighs later, she began to tell about her traumatic experience which lead to her meeting her now husband. "The story sounds like it had a very romantic ending, what are the nightmares about?" Some of my old classmates were there when everything happened and they're telling me that what happened was a setup." "A setup you say?" "I know right, it is like, if It was a setup then when the police did their investigation that night, they would have found something and alerted me or at the very least my parents at the time." "When is the last time you spoke to them about that night?" "Truthfully after waking up in the hospital I pushed it out of my mind." Dr. Coralize looked at his notes for a moment then back up to Mrs. Manson. "May I give you my professional opinion?" "That is why I come to you Dr." "I say you need to take a trip to see your parents and talk to them about the nightmares you've been having. Also it wouldn't be a bad idea to talk to those friends that were at the party and see if they remember anything, however its weird to start talking about it a decade later. Talk to your husband and see what her remembers as well." They talk for around another hour because the other patient had cancelled. "I feel like we truly made a lot of progress today." "Thank you Dr. I feel the same way too. I wish I knew what the visions are trying to tell me but if I give it enough time, I'll have my answers and hopefully move on with my life." "I completely agree with you ma'am, this is definitely stumping me as well. I'll review our notes and get back to you if I have any other theories if that is okay." "Of course Dr. That's the reason I come here." The two exchanged couple minutes of conversation before she headed out. On her drive home she couldn't help but think about what her friends told her and constantly wondered why it took so long for them to let her know. "Could they have been part of the plan and were now feeling guilty about it? Perhaps they were paid or threatened for their silence? If that's the case why say something now?" The questions continued to swirl around her head all the way back home. She was determined to know more about the incident. She pulled into the driveway and opened the garage to see her husband cleaning out his car. "Good afternoon honey, how did the session go?" "It helped out a lot but it also left me with more questions than answers. It's a Friday afternoon, do you and the boys have your night out tonight?" "Yea, it was supposed to be next weekend but Isaiah is leaving this Saturday for a 10 day work conference and he's hoping he can get a promotion out of it, so we are moving it to today." Robert could see the concern in his wife's eyes. "I can cancel tonight if you'd like, I know how hard you've been working to keep everything together." She looked up at him with a smile and saw an opportunity had presented itself to her. "Actually... go hang out with the boys, I'll use my free time to relax and unwind with my girlfriends." Roberts face instantly lit up "Does that mean?" Rebecca smiled and nodded. "Yes but please be home by 11." He ran and picked up his wife in a hug then proceeded to call up the boys while walking back into the house. She decided to make a couple calls of her own. Shortly after her husband left the house, her girls came over to talk to her. "I really appreciate you guys coming over at last minute." "Girl between the twins, constant work demands and my somewhat childish husband I'm overjoyed to actually get out of the house!" All the girls giggled as they began the usual small talk about life and what they have achieved over the years. After breaking the ice, Rebecca finally summoned the courage to ask what was at the forefront of her mind. "Do any of you... remember what happened the night I was attacked?" The room filled with a deafening silence. Everyone looked at each other then back at Rebecca. She braced herself for whatever words she was about to hear. "That night, we brought you to the party and a group of boys showed up and brought alcohol as well. A few hours later our boyfriends show up and everyone starts fighting." Rebecca felt the tension begin to rise and she felt a strong sense of unease. "Now Rebecca... you have to understand we were only in high school." Her feeling of unease began to turn to anger but she didn't let it be known. "Do you know who assaulted me?" She asked getting as she was getting straight to the point. One of the more sober women decided to speak up. "It was the man that you married." Rebecca was aghast by the news she received and everyone could tell she was having serious trouble believing it. "That night the guy who kept hitting on you had one of his boys spike your drink while he distracted you. We all got drunk that night but you were pretty much dead to everyone so we helped you up to the bedroom on the opposite side of the house." "We thought you would be safe there but we saw a group of guys headed in your direction so we told our boyfriends and a fight ensued. Two of the boys made it back to you and by the time we had gotten to you...." It grew silent once again but Rebecca had a premonition of what was to come but she wanted to hear it from their mouths. "You were halfway undressed and the two men were fighting each other. One of them was the guy who drugged you and the other guy was the guy who started eyeing you since he walked into the house party." "Was there any show that I was actually..?" The women shook their heads no. "We don't know who initialized the attack but it didn't show any signs that anything was actually done." Rebecca breathed only a minimal sigh of relief but she had to know more. "What were the police told about that night?" Once again the ladies turned towards each other. Rebecca was awestruck by their silence. "What were they told?" "We... we didn't call them." Anger began to swell inside her. "I was attacked and you didn't call the police?!" "We were young and drinking, plus we had grown men there for a high school party!" "We were scared and panicked." Rebecca got up and went to the door. "We have nothing left to talk about. Please leave." The girls got up and began trying to plead their case to her. "We sent our men after them to protect you, doesn't that account for anything?" "We graduated in a couple of months, could you not wait until then to party or better yet, not invite seniors in college to a high school party when you also invited your boyfriends as well?!" The ladies were at a loss for words. They walked out of the house apologizing to Rebecca one by one and once they all drove away, she had a breakdown. It was around 920 at night when she started pulling herself together because she now had a more pressing issue to deal with later. Her husband would be home in a few hours and now she had to confront him. In all of her years with him she had never had any serious confrontation, mainly because they always aimed to please each other in every way possible. Now her entire perfect world had come crashing to an end. She didn't know what to expect or who to trust anymore. While deep in thought, her therapist reached out to her. When she answered the phone, he sounded a bit panicked on the phone. "Rebecca can you hear me?" "Yes yes I can hear you, is everything okay?" "Your husband was in a bar fight and I just saw the police take him and his friends away!" She breathed a huge sigh of relief that she wouldn't see him walking through the door tonight but it didn't stop the fact that she would never be able to look at him the same again. "Hello...... Rebecca are you there?" She quickly came out of her nightmare to answer. "I apologize sir, yes I'm here. Thank you for letting me know. I have to call you back, I need to bail my husband out." "Okay, be safe and please take care." Rebecca slowly cleaned her house and grabbed her keys as she devised a plan. It took her 45 minutes to reach the police station downtown. When he laid eyes on her, he was almost completely overjoyed. "Babe I am so sorry for boys night ending like this! I swear I will do everything in my power to make it up to you." Rebecca smiled extra wide as she nodded to the jailer to release her man. While he was reaching for the jail cell key, she stopped him and looked Robert dead in the eyes. "Tell me about the night you thought drugging me was a good idea." The entire police station and Robert's jaw dropped. She did not break her gaze with them "I'm waiting for your answer." Robert glanced over to the jailer and then back at his wife. "Babe look you have to understand, I was young and highly immature. I let my emotions get to me." "You were in your mid twenties bringing drugs and alcohol to a high school party." "If there was ever a time to save your marriage, now is a great time." The jailer spoke up. Robert looked Rebecca in her eyes "Babe it has been over 10 years. Nothing happened and besides I saved you from the real attacker." "Who was stalking me at the party?" "Well that was me but I wasn't stalking you, you caught my attention and I wanted to get to know you." "Who put the pill in my drink?" Robert glanced down at the floor then back at her. "I really don't want to answer that in front of all these people." Rebecca at this point heard all she wanted to hear, so she turned to the jailer. "How long can he be held in the cell?" "It is 24 hours due to the bar fight, but due to his confession he will be here for awhile unless you want to drop charges." She smiled and shook her head no. "I'll be back for him tomorrow with some documents to sign." "Rebecca please!!" She snapped back at him with intensity "You did what you wanted and have been lying to me for over a decade! Now I am going to do what I want!" She walked out, leaving him to sober up and to sob. The next day she showed back up to the precinct with divorce papers and her section was already signed. Heartbreak could clearly be seen on Robert's face. "Rebecca please? Have mercy on an immature man's mistake!" She went up to him in the gate but with air about herself. "Robert, I forgive you, I really do. What you did indeed was a mistake and for years you knew about it and allowed me to believe in a lie. I have no ill will toward you but I want absolutely nothing to do with you. You can either sign it now or it will get signed later. Unlike you I am giving you a choice in the matter." With extreme reluctance, Robert signed the paperwork. "Rebecca wait, don't you want to know about the other guy?" Rebecca calmly answered "I will find out the other guy when the police put you on trial, I know that you'll talk, you never really were good at keeping your mouth shut. Don't worry we will see each other again... on your court date." With that she left the police station and after getting in her car she broke down due to the pain she held back and the freedom she had gained. She felt great to get a sex offender off the streets but it hurt that she had to be used as the example. "Now, it's time to head to my therapist, have I got a story for him!"

Love
Like

About the Creator

Andrew Bell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.