Fiction logo

Dealing with the Devil

A Story Every Day in 2024 13th April 104/366

By Rachel DeemingPublished 18 days ago 3 min read
10
Dealing with the Devil
Photo by Kavita Shringi on Unsplash

Mary woke. It felt like there was a weight on the bed, like a large pet had landed, making itself a nest. The covers were tight but something stopped her pulling them back up towards her chin.

She didn't have any pets.

Reluctantly, she opened her eyes.

Sitting on the end of her bed was a rather startlingly beautiful young man. He was glowing faintly, almost pink. Her heart was racing and she immediately reached to grasp the small, silver crucifix at her neck.

"Now, now. There's no need for that. I'm not here to hurt you," the man advised and with a click of his fingers, the room went from dark to soft light, like he'd twisted a dimmer.

He really is very handsome, Mary thought and despite herself, found her mind drifting towards vivid scenarios of lustfulness, writhing and gasps. Quickly, she retreated from the profligacy of these images, shame reddening her cheeks and her fingers found the reassuring presence of cross-shaped metal.

She was shocked at where her mind had taken her. She was a middle-aged voluntary worker; spinster; church warden; councillor. She wasn't a virgin but she wasn't usually subject to such desires. She was pragmatic and moderate and her warmth at the arrival of this stranger surprised her enormously.

And excited her.

The man smiled as he realised the effect he was having and frowned when his potential ally renewed their resistance through God.

He would have to try harder.

"Who are you? And why are you in my bedroom?" Mary tried to fill her voice with defiance but it sounded shaky even to her.

"I could give you my name but you know it, I'm sure." He rose and said, "And why? Well, I have a deal to propose."

Again, the warm rush of desire assaulted her.

"Some of your abundant light for some of my dirty dark," and he licked his lips.

She shivered, but not from fear.

*

At the monthly council meeting, Mary arriving, oozing sensuality, presence and self-esteem, made Sylvia comment, "Have you done something different to your hair?"

To which, Mary cackled, wickedly and said, "Not just my hair, Sylvia. Not just my hair."

***

366 words

I don't know how I feel about Mary in this story. Happy for her? Worried for her eternal soul? Hoping her faith will save her? Part of me hopes that she's just having a good time and living a little.

I didn't write this with a message in mind - just a bit of saucy fun about temptation and how even the best of us are the servants of our desires. Lots of influences here: I recognise ACOTAR and my reading of this recently in the beautiful young devil as well as Faustus, The Lives and Loves of a She-Devil and discussions about good and evil I've had and how that manifests itself in us humans as well as the strength of the Church and faith in individuals.

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read this, please do leave a comment as I love to interact with my readers.

104/366

thrillerShort StoryHumorFantasyCONTENT WARNING
10

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Mum, blogger, crafter, reviewer, writer, traveller: I love to write and I am not limited by form. Here, you will find stories, articles, opinion pieces, poems, all of which reflect me: who I am, what I love, what I feel, how I view things.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Caroline Craven16 days ago

    Ha! I love the way when you’re feeling really good, people ask if you’ve had your hair done. So true. Honestly I hope she’s having some fun. Life’s too short huh.

  • Paul Stewart17 days ago

    Very norty...I liked the fact that, although I'd probably say she might be in for more than she bargained...I liked the fact like John said...and you said about Mary getting her confidence. That was my strongest takeaway and that you are supreme at these little self-contained things!

  • I wish I was Mary hehehehehehe. Loved your story!

  • John Cox17 days ago

    The most striking imagery in this story is the contrast of the pragmatic spinster with a woman who has suddenly found her self esteem. Sounds like a better than average bargain to me.

  • Shirley Belk17 days ago

    Very seductively done!

  • Jay Kantor18 days ago

    Rd ~ "Go to sleep, everything is alright I close my eyes then I drift away into the magic night, I softly say a silent prayer like dreamers do Then I fall asleep to dream my dreams of you In dreams I walk with you In dreams I talk to you In dreams you're mine all of the time We're together in dreams...!" Jb ~

  • Well-wrought, of course! I share this piece with you because it touches on teh same subject through a different lens: https://vocal.media/fiction/owl-and-raven I am always a bit trepidatious about sharing work in the comments, as some seem to think it a fax paus, but I encourage you to do the same anytime a Rachel Deeming cross-reference is in order! I love reading your stories! Write on!

  • Cathy holmes18 days ago

    Sounds like she took the deal. A little fun can never hurt.

  • That was fun

  • Hannah Moore18 days ago

    Perhaps not a bad trade, capacity for hedonism, guided by goodness, seems a great place to be.

  • D. J. Reddall18 days ago

    Do you suppose diabolical seducers are especially drawn to humans named Mary? This is a splendid little story.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.