Fiction logo

Day 365

it's been a year

By Artist For SanityPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Bonnies heart shaped locket

march 5th, 2021-

Bonnie, here again, I know normally I write in you at the end of the day, to tell you about all the "wonders" that have happened but today will be like any other day... Lets just get this entry over with... I know assumptions are not the right path to be on but writing the same things day in and day out is starting to seem pointless. This diary seems to of kept me sane thus far, but its helpful effects seem to be wearing off.

I will eat breakfast once I catch it, talk to Clyde if he is around, lunch and dinner will as always be in question but will be a part of the day if available. To keep my mind sharp I will read more, most likely about gardening under the hopes that someday we find land to plant the rest of these seeds. The library might not have much in regards to food, but it has enough knowledge and entertainment to last a lifetime. Soon I will have read everything there is to know about plants, not sure what I will learn next but there are many choices to choose from. Obviously, there will be exercise today, because you never know when you will have to run around here. I've stopped looking at the picture of my great grandma, not because I want to forget her, but I figure it is time to stop living in the past. Cannot believe I still have this locket, as much as it holds sentimental value, somedays I think.... Maybe I should have traded it away when people still believed gold had value. Hard to believe it has been a year. Three-hundred and sixty-five days ago money was still used to purchase things and not just to fuel fires. It is a funny thought, to think that now many people would give a Rolex in exchange for a nice meal or shelter for the night and most would not even consider that a fair deal, for the person with the food or shelter. I mean time does not even seem to exist, who needs a watch? Even if it is a nice one. Well, I got to get to the day now, if I wait too long and I'll be starving tonight. Write in you tomorrow, thanks for the therapy.

March 5, 2021, 5pm

Where to start, this morning I believe it was super obvious I had no plans, besides surviving. If this year has taught me anything though, everything can change in an instant. The whole world had literally changed in one day. Let us start off with why I have been writing in you for so long. Most of the world is dead, in one poof half of the population was gone. No one really knows what happened, people just disappeared. Not like they willing got on to space ships or something, people were just gone. This caused mass casualties across the globe. Airplanes crashed, Cars crashed, Cruise liners crashed, Millions died in surgeries, all across the globe people were gone and in many cases carnage was left behind. Wars started, though many have died down now, at least one nuke was set off. All because presidents and kings in many cases were among those who vanished. Which didn't turn out well, each one blaming the other, many had been waiting for an excuse for World War 3.

At this point though, most know now that no country started any of this. The who, what, when, where and how is still up for debate, but everyone suffered so much damage, the idea that any group or person would of done this was eventually ruled out.

For a what seems like forever now, me and Clyde have protected the library, at first no one even noticed it, sort of like before the disappearances. After a while though when people needed fuel, they started to look at books like wood. Me and Clyde had met right before the end of the world as it had been known. Both of us had been reaching for the same botany book at the library. Once we had introduced ourselves to each other we had decided it must have been fate. Yes, fate is an odd construct and both of us are very logical but who is going to argue with Bonnie & Clyde becoming friends, it just seemed right. We ended up going out for a dinner and read date. Figuring we could both take turns reading the book to each other that evening. Things went perfectly, until they did not. No, it was not our friendship that became a problem, but the next morning when we woke so much was dead. No TV, no power, no water, and pulling back the curtains the world was on fire. Both of us looked at each other in horror, seemingly sharing the same mind we both yelled "THE BOOKS". From that day forward we both had been living in the library. I stayed there most of the time. Only going outside to check on the tiny garden I was able to plant, to rest my squab trap and to scare off anyone trying to burn books instead of reading them. Clyde had went off on adventures often, with hopes that somewhere out there, there were like-minded people. A year can do a lot to the mind, and many have just given up the idea of ever being a civil society again. We had never lost hope though.

Today unlike most days Clyde was back at the library by 12pm. Yes, I made fun of the idea of keeping time before but now I will never forget every detail of this day. He ran up to me asking to see my heart shaped locket, this was odd because he had seen it before and it had never been of interest to him. I showed him and he smiled so big then handed me a flyer he had found. "Lost family member, will be at times square every day at 3 pm" with a hand sketched picture of my locket. We both boarded up the library as well as we could. On foot we headed off, it was a couple of miles out but we easily made it to the square in time.

Now we are somewhere new for the first time in a year, we have company besides each other. Turns out there was family who knew me. I had never met them but great grandma had left a letter about me that they had found. Though just as many of them were lost in the disappearances, enough of them had stayed together to of made their own little utopia. There is land to grow my seeds here and later tonight we return to the library to start collecting the books. There is a good selection of food here (No more winged rats) and so much more, I could write for days. Truly I just want to get to living though, to enjoy whatever life has to offer. So, this will be my last entry, I am going to go live life with Clyde and my newfound family. Thank you for being the equivalent to the volleyball in castaway. Clyde is a wonderful man and great partner but him being gone most of the time... I am not sure what I would have done without this outlet. Thank you my dearest diary.

-Love Bonnie

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Artist For Sanity

"Writing is a passion I do not think one can ever forget and I never have. Much like the groves I love, I love the rows of books in a library, each growing minds like something that can happen only with time." -AFS

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.