Fiction logo

Constructive Criticism

The sound of silence

By KJ AartilaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Constructive Criticism
Photo by Owen Michael Grech on Unsplash

“What are you doing?”

“Writing and editing a story.”

“Oh. Can I see it?”

“Sure. Would love to hear your personal feedback.”

I hand over my story - the one I’ve been working so hard to create, feeling vulnerable, but also curious. Can she feel the nuances of my individual voice?

“Okay,” I hear her mumble as she reads. “Hmmm,” red pen in hand, crossing out words and rewriting sentences. She hands back the corrected version.

“Interesting story,” she encourages. “I fixed it.”

I look it over in taken-aback silence.

“Thanks. Now it sounds perfect.”

Short Story

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    There is always a difference between feedback and rewriting a story. Loved this ❤️. The friend needs to write her own story and leave the one she just dissected alone 😔 Great job ❤️

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Oh dang, this is such a relatable feeling. Amazing job capturing the anxiety! And that ending; man!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I think my mouth popped open and just hung there at the end. I could feel the excitement and anxiety at having someone else read and give feedback. Great work on this one ;)

  • I feel this. I don't want to, but I feel it.

  • Oof, that hurt! You captured everything perfectly!

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    Clever... More of a "Deconstructive" criticism here. Excellent!

  • Andrei Z.about a year ago

    Now the story is bleeding red ink. Fixed or heavily injured? Nice work!

KJ AartilaWritten by KJ Aartila

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.