Fiction logo

Clingy AF

"That voice" is rarely wrong

By Leslie HPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Clingy AF
Photo by Marco Bianchetti on Unsplash

Blair didn’t seem like trouble when I met her. Then again, most people we first meet usually don’t.

I had just moved from the Midwest to the East Coast for my job, and Blair was the very first person to welcome me to the neighborhood. She was about my height (5'6-ish), with curly hair piled on top of her head in a messy bun. What I noticed most was the cute necklace she wore. It was her name in a design that looked pretty cool to me.

“Cool necklace.”

Blair held her necklace up so I could get a closer look.

“Thanks! I make them myself.”

“You made this?”

Out of instinct, I stepped closer and leaned in to inspect her work. The intricacy of the design was impressive, almost complex in its simplicity. Mesmerizing.

As I straightened up and leaned back, I noticed an odd look on Blair’s face. It was her eyes, something about them sent a brief chill down my spine. I quickly brushed it off, hoping she didn’t notice me shudder. That would be rude.

“That looks pretty heavy. Need some help?” Blair asked.

It took me a while to register what she just said. The look I thought I saw in her eyes was no longer there. Maybe it never was. I should get to bed early tonight.

“Uh, no. I think I’m good, but thanks!” I wonder if that sounded natural.

“No prob. Hey, you wanna kick back with a couple of drinks on my back deck later? I live just over there.” Blair pointed to the house across the street, two doors down from mine.

Despite the signals my instincts were throwing at me: “Um… sure, okay.” Why did I just say that?

Before I could blink, Blair had done a triple backflip. I honestly didn’t know what to say or think at that point. The instinct signals doubled down, raking sharp fingers over my spine with increasing urgency. I tried to ignore them which, as history has often shown, is rarely a good idea.

Blair stared at me with a smile so wide it almost distorted her entire body. In spite of the heat, I could feel myself shivering.

“Well, I better finish unpacking. Nice to meet you, Blair.”

“You’re still coming over tonight, right?”

Don’t ask me how a grown and bold woman turned into an insecure little girl in less than a wink, but she did it. I began to notice my muscles hurting from tension.

“Uh, y-yes, of course.”

Apparently, that response was worthy of a handstand.

“Meet me at 5:15. We’re having burgers, hot dogs, ribs, links and all the fixings. We do this every other weekend.”

“We?”

“And every weekend in between, we go hiking and hang out by the pool, so bring your swimsuit if you want, but you don’t have to even wear one. Oh my god, I need to make a cake to celebrate you moving in. What kind of cake do you like? I know it’s vanilla, just like I do. It’s almost like we’re twins, right? Do you swim?”

I was a deer in headlights. That’s how I felt, anyway. After what seems like hours, I finally managed to squeak out, “I do? Yes, I do, I-I do have a swimsuit.”

“OH MY GOD, EVERYONE IS GOING TO LOVE YOUUUU!”

I wanted to run but couldn’t get my legs to move. I hope the tears I felt weren’t already falling down my face. What is wrong with this lady? Lawd help me!

“Okay, bye!”

As quickly as she appeared, Blair left.

To say that I was shook would be an understatement. I already gave my word to hang out with Blair, and there's no turning back. Not without being rude, anyway.

The lead pit in my gut was hard to ignore, but I tried to put things in perspective as I continued unpacking.

Who knows? Tonight might earn me a new friend. Or be the end of me.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Leslie H

Leslie is currently exploring her career options, living in SoCal with her pet fish.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.