Fiction logo

Cleopatra comes to life

Midnight heist.

By Novel AllenPublished about a year ago 1 min read

The museum exhibit looked completely true to life.

Cleopatra and her handmaids watched baby Moses sail sleepily below upon the river. His basket made of bulrushes hid his little body wrapped warmly within its embrace.

Around Cleo's neck was the λείρινος Diamond necklace, worth a large fortune.

I walked enquiringly around the exhibit, pulling at the folds of the lovely Egyptain Kalasiris gowns adorning the women. The mask adhered perfectly to my face, gloves fitted like my own skin.

Towards closing time, I slipped betwixt Cleopatra's gown and hid myself within its voluminous folds.

Camera guy bribed, advise received on alarm avoidance.

Midnight. Undetected, and in total silence, I stripped Cleo and placed myself in her space, shoving her under the large bejeweled window chair. The necklace went around my neck.

Now, I am ebony, Cleo is Ivory. Will he notice? It was dark within, special lighting for the exhibits.

The guard came flashing his light.

I started walking towards him, arms outstretched.

"Cleopatra's ghost". He screamed, running for the door, tripping alarms.

Quickly, I changed back into my clothes. Dressed Cleo, replaced her.

I exited. The guard was speeding down the street. Sirens.

Get-away car. We hurriedly drove away.

MicrofictionAdventure

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. ~~ Rabindranath Tagore~~

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    Hahahahaha he got scared! This was a fantastic heist and story!

  • K.H. Obergfollabout a year ago

    Wow, this is sheer perfection, beautiful writing--creating worlds in all their righteous glory!! Enjoyed this!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Oh so sneaky! I loved the part where she scared the guard, lol. This was great from start to finish :)

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fabulous!!! A bribe and jewels!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Fabulous storytelling! So quirky and entertaining! Awesome work my friend!😍

Novel AllenWritten by Novel Allen

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.