Fiction logo

Till Death

Distracted meets Micro-fiction. How to get away with murder! Would I though...You decide.

By Novel AllenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Till Death
Photo by Cat Han on Unsplash

I started dictating my book. 'Alibi'. The red recorder light blinked at me accusingly, I stuck it in the drawer, leaving it a bit ajar.

Late again tonight, working late.

He was...distracted.

"Hello". A hint of annoyance in his voice.

"How was your day". I asked.

"ok...i guess". He growled.

"My day was horrible, someone tried to break into the house, I called you, no one knew where to find you. How odd".

"Oh...ok...that's great".

"He threatened to come back, what should we do...The police couldn't help".

"Ok...fine...ok...if you want".

"I'm leaving you...Oh God, there is someone behind you"!

"Oh, ok. I'm gonna take a shower".

I took the gloves from the drawer, opened the bedroom door, feigned sounds of footsteps, a struggle. Still inside the room, I picked up that ugly bust of himself he gave me five years ago.

"What the hell"? He yelled.

"Help"...I yelled.

I whacked him so hard over the head...I fell over.

Yep!..Dead.

I dialed 911.

"Help"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Knocking over everything, yelling. I ran out the back door, wearing size 10 male boots...prints. The hole I had dug beneath the roses fitted the insured jewelry, bloody nightdress, gloves...boots. Perfect.

The recorder was still going...capturing everything.

MicrofictionHorror

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. ~~ Rabindranath Tagore~~

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    Talk about the perfect plan backfiring, lol. Awesome story!

  • Nobodyabout a year ago

    Damm, that's scary

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Wow Novel, this was a great micro-fic!! I dare say our narrator is likely to get caught, especially with a recording in the mix! 😬

Novel AllenWritten by Novel Allen

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.