Fiction logo

Clearly dyed heaven and earth

Thunderstorm season, the sky is still clear in the morning, the afternoon will be black face.

By Stephane PerezPublished 2 years ago 10 min read
Like

Thunderstorm season, the sky is still clear in the morning, the afternoon will be black face.

I looked out the window at the dark scene, raised my wrist to look at the watch, there are still three hours off work.

I sent a message to Ming Long: "Are you free? It looks like it's going to rain and I don't have an umbrella."

As usual, Minglong returned my message in seconds: "I'll pick you up after work."

I naturally had a reassuring smile on my face, having known Ming Lang for ten years, he always gave people a feeling of peace.

I think I met Ming Lang in my senior year of high school, and I was a new transfer student. I blame my dad for this, even though he knew I was in my senior year of high school, he moved to a job for his future, and I followed him to the new city.

In addition to worrying about my studies, I didn't really have any resistance, and on my first day in the new class, I calmly introduced myself and went to the only empty seat in the class and sat down.

My tablemate was Akira.

"Hello." The boy next to me introduced himself briefly with a smile on his face, "Lu Minglang."

"Hello, Wei Qing."

"Wei Qing? Clear as in clear sky? I'm Minglang, you're Qing Tian, we might be very close." When the boy said this, both eyes were glowing.

I didn't know what he was excited about at the time, but now that I think about it, he simply thought that the two of us with matching names might be good friends, and that made him happy.

I can't help but sigh for him back then, after all, simple boys are a bit silly.

It was soon raining heavily outside, and the phone alert came with a message, again from Ming Lang: "Bring you a cup of coffee? The usual?"

I smiled again and returned a "yes."

The coffee shop next to Ming Lang's office has one of my favorite coffees, which he always remembers.

The first thing you need to do is to get a good idea of what you're getting into.

Our school senior year is allowed to participate in sports, Ming Lang asked me one day in the hallway: "Da Qing?"

Da Qing is the nickname he gave me.

"Have you signed up for the games?"

"Yes, the eighteen-by-two-hundred-meter relay."

"How many times did you run?"

"Wen Song said he arranged ah, what?"

Wen Song was the sports committee member of our class and was responsible for arranging the order of our baton relays.

"How about a baton relay together?"

"Hmm? It's not impossible. You can talk to Wen Song about it later, but I think it's hanging, the two couples who participated together are also clamoring to catch the baton together, and he's bald."

"His head bald what?"

"You think ah, according to the strength of each person to arrange the order it, then they are arranged together will not affect our class as a whole competition. He is so professional in running, but he is most concerned about this."

"It's okay, I have a good relationship with him, just talk about it."

Later I heard that Wen Song for our two couples and a pair of table, thinking about the order of the baton for three days and nights, the dormitory full of hair loss.

I still remember the first day of the Games, the day of the relay race, the gun went off, the entire field of students and faculty were cheering, red and white baton on the track around the circle and pass.

A stick in front of me was the school's famous sports student, Xiao Meng, who had been practicing for years as a runner, and was no match for the boys. It is also the ace of our class.

As expected, Xiao Meng lived up to the expectations, after taking over the baton to instantly pull away, the baton to my hand when we are already the first.

That seems to be the first time in my life that I ran so hard, unlike every physical education class always think lazy. I had only one thought in my head: "Akira! Give the baton to Akira!"

Maybe it was because of the pressure that we were already in the lead, and if I didn't give the baton to Akira, I was probably going to die from my own nervousness.

Soon, a boy who was ready to receive the baton appeared in my field of vision.

I sprinted hard, and I could see the rest of the class was already tied with me, and I heard my breath blending with the chanting of the whole field.

I handed over the stick to him, I only saw him smile and heard him say gently, "Good work."

A teenager's back rushed out like that.

I remember that the first day of the games was a sunny day.

The sun was shining brightly that day.

"Sister, it's time to get off work." A colleague at the next table called out to me.

"Oh, okay, I'll pack up."

"It's raining, that handsome friend of yours is coming to pick you up again, right?" The colleague's tone still carried a lot of gossip.

"Haha, yeah." I laughed.

"I see you two this relationship is really not ordinary ah, high school to now know so long, together forget it."

This statement from a colleague, I seem to have heard it often since my senior year graduation.

The first time I heard this was at the senior graduation party, someone took advantage of the lively atmosphere of the meal and asked, "You and Minglang should get together, right?"

The people were laughing, and Minglang and I were laughing, but it was a helpless, bitter laugh.

I went to the same university as him and graduated together, and my friends around me were always curious about our relationship. Sometimes when we were discussed more, I wondered if Lu Minglang liked me or not. And do I like him or not?

Until I graduated from college, I didn't figure it out.

Pictures

Minglang sent a message, he arrived at my flat downstairs. I went downstairs and got in his car.

"Damn, it was sunny yesterday and today it's raining so hard." Ming Lang complained as he drove.

I drank the coffee he bought and laughed without saying anything.

The rain pounded on the car window, and it was hazy and dark outside.

I fell back into memories.

When I was in college, I had a boyfriend, who was a senior in my major. Very handsome and very sunny type. I chased about a month, he agreed to me.

Then it was a cheesy love story, then an even cheesier scum cheating episode.

The cause of the cheating was also found to be very boring, his cheating partner sent me chat logs, and let me "know" a little.

It is only natural to quarrel and break up, and I was devastated.

The night of the breakup, I was walking aimlessly on the street alone, with tears on my face and a blank mind.

The first thing I did was to ask where I was, and I sent a location.

To be honest, I wanted to be alone, but I also wanted someone to keep me company.

Akira soon found me.

"What do you want?"

"I don't know."

"Just walking?"

"Just walking."

He didn't ask anything and walked with me for a long time.

At that time, I was so sad that I wanted to hit the south wall. But after walking for a long time, I did not see the wall. And I knew that even if there was a wall in front of me, Ming Lang would pull me.

I stopped: "I'm tired of walking."

"Go back if you're tired."

"En."

Ming Lang walked me back to the dormitory, and I stood face to face with him.

No one opened their mouths to say goodbye.

Suddenly, he came up and hugged me and said, "A scum, why bother."

Hearing his words, I cried loudly in his arms for a long time.

"Here it is."

Ming Lang stopped in front of my house, he got off first with an umbrella and went to the other side of the car to cover me from the rain.

He sent me to the eaves of the house.

"Go inside, remember to bring an umbrella when you go out these days."

"Okay, you go back and drive slowly." I turned around to get the key and tried to open the door.

I suddenly remembered that Wen Song had mentioned to me that in order to beg him to arrange my baton with Ming Lang, Ming Lang bought him breakfast for a week.

I suddenly remembered that the high school graduation dinner, when everyone gossip, I found Ming Lang stole stare at me will be dumb.

I suddenly remembered that the day after I broke up with the scum, he had an important exam, but he spent the night with me, and at the end of the exam the next day, he punched the scum.

I suddenly remembered that high school to college, he had never been in love, and every time I asked him, he said, "In addition to you, which I also know other girls."

I suddenly remembered that when I graduated from college, he sent me a card.

This rainy day, but also really remembered a lot of things.

Picture.

I stopped turning my hand on the key and turned back around.

"Eh? What's wrong?"

I looked at him, the once innocent teenager, now with a lot of the boyishness fading from his face.

I tried to figure out what I hadn't figured out in college.

"Do you like me, Akira?" I asked with a smile.

Akira's face was surprised for a moment, then he looked down in thought.

"Huh." He suddenly laughed a little happily twice. Then he looked at me.

The rain was loud and crackling all around, but I felt quiet again as he held his umbrella, the rain dripping and splashing along the edge of the umbrella that separated him from this rainy day.

"I'll work hard for a few years, and then on a certain day in a certain month, I'll pick a better cafe and answer that question for you." With that he turned around, waved goodbye with his back to me, got in his car and left.

I watched as Ming Long's car slowly moved away on the rain-covered street.

Amazingly, shortly after Ming Long's car drove out, the sky turned clear.

The dark clouds began to clear and the sunshine poured down. Everything in front of me became bright.

I looked at his distant car and remembered the back of that teenager.

The card from Minglang had only one sentence: bright and sunny day, clear and dyed heaven and earth.

"When are you and Minglang going to be together?" Gossip girlfriends on the phone asked.

"A certain date in a certain month in a certain year." I replied with a smile, pausing for a moment, "Some sunny day."

I believe that there is the most sincere friendship in this world, there is also the purest love. There is no need to rush to pursue, wait for a certain sunny day, the beauty will come with it.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Stephane Perez

I hope you like my story

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.