Fiction logo

Captured

Once in a Lifetime Deal

By Antonio SanchezPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like

This job was supposed to be quick and easy.

Plans, however, have a way of changing rapidly in my line of work.

"We can cut you a deal."

The agent standing before me started, "We know it was your crew that hit the Louvre in Paris. Then The British Museum in Bloomsbury. Now The National Gallery of Art at our nation's capital.”

I’m looking down, feeling abandoned by my team.

The agent opens a vanilla folder holding at least fifty pages of information on me.

“Walter Brown, Age: 32. Your father was a successful bank teller in London, and he has since retired.”

He flips through some more documents and I see him -- my five year-old son, missing hair, and hooked to a bloody I.V. “Agent Cr--”.

“Your mother is teaching in St. Albans”.

“Agent Crowley I--""Cromley”, he interjects, not amused by my mispronunciation.

“Look mate, I know where you’re going with this”.

He looks surprised but attentive to my next sentence as he closes the folder slowly.

“I will help you only if you help my boy. Do we have a deal?”

Cromley smiles and nods, while I’m sitting here wondering what the hell I’m getting myself into.

Microfiction
Like

About the Creator

Antonio Sanchez

Hello there, I am an aspiring writer and artist that has been creating ideas since I was very young. I would like to use this platform to share these ideas on a much larger scale.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.