Fiction logo

Caffaddict

Someone completely incapable of functioning without caffeine, usually in coffee form

By Donna ReneePublished 7 months ago 1 min read
22
Caffaddict
Photo by Christina Rumpf on Unsplash

9:37 am - At the office water cooler

"OMG did you see her this morning?"

"Who?"

"Donna!"

"Ohhh, you mean the zombie?"

"Yes! Now, you know I don't like to gossip but... since it's just you... I nearly called emergency services when she stumbled into the office. Did you see those dark circles?"

"How could you miss them?? And her clothes? AND her hair??? Good lord. I never judge people, as you know, but..."

"Right? I thought she was having some kind of episode, to be honest."

"Me too, even Josh from Accounting noticed, and he doesn't notice ANYTHING. Remember the time he showed up to work on Thanksgiving Day and didn't even realize he was the only one here until after lunch?"

"hahah YES!"

"SHHH here she comes, be cool!"

"Heyyyyy, Donna! Love your hair today!"

"Oh yeah, me too! and your makeup! All natural looks great on you!"

"Ugghhh... you mean it? Thanks, ladies. Totally by accident, actually. My Keurig broke and the Starbucks drive-thru was closed, can you believe it? What a flippin' nightmare. Thank the gods someone had a pot made when I got here! Gotta run though, I need a refill BAD. See you two later!"

...

"Wow."

"She needs help."

"Seriously, do you think... do you think she might be a..."

"Just say it. Everyone's thinking it..."

"A... a caffaddict?"

"No doubt. She's def a caffaddict."

HumorMicrofiction
22

About the Creator

Donna Renee

Hi! Thanks for reading! My hobbies include making coffee, drinking coffee, and starting to write a story and then rage-deleting it when I get the slightest bit frustrated.

Work in Progress: WOWH, cozy mystery (paranormal elements)

INSTAGRAM

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Read previously and left a heart!!! You see, I can't have any caffeine!!!

  • Heather Hubler6 months ago

    Those caffaddicts!! LOL, loved the word, and your story sold it so well :) I think it should be added to Merriam Webster's right away!!

  • Jay Kantor6 months ago

    Hi-D ~ So Cool to Water-Cooler Gossip ~ When the Topic-of-the-day is not about YOU ~ 'j'

  • ThatWriterWoman6 months ago

    Haha! Great take on the prompt!

  • Lol 😆 I feel ya♥️💯😉✌️😁📝

  • You're far from the only one, lol.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    Hahaha!!! This was such a fitting story/ word you've written! I love it and it brought a smile to my face!!! 😂

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Donna, awesome word!!! Superb story!!! Loved it!!!

  • Tymara Howard7 months ago

    Excellent work Donna

  • Hi! Proud caffadict here, lol! I'm shocked at how oblivious Josh is 🤣🤣🤣 Also, those two ladies, I think I need to write them into my story and kill them off 🤣🤣🤣

  • Kendall Defoe 7 months ago

    You could have just said 'Canadian'!

  • Naomi Gold7 months ago

    I love the word. The story made me laugh, but also feel sad that they did Donna like that. It very much expressed the word, and despite the protagonist being referred to as a zombie, this story humanized her addiction LOL. I like the taste of coffee, but I don’t have it all the time. I’m a green tea person. I didn’t think I was addicted to the caffeine until this week when my electric kettle broke. So I know the struggle!

  • Kenny Penn7 months ago

    Hahahaha! That’s me! I’m a caffadict! Lmao this is my favorite new word so far!

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Lol. Donna is me.

  • Caroline Craven7 months ago

    Ha! This is brill! Ignore the non believers! caffadicts rule! Great stuff Donna!

  • Ahna Lewis7 months ago

    haha, this was great! I could perfectly picture the scene unfolding--the office gossip, the faked niceties, the concerned whispers at the end. Well done! 😆

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    This is a great word. Oh, why cant I like coffee. But if I did, I would def be a a caffaddict. I love hot choc though, once in a while. There you are Donna, hair all combed after having that caf.

  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    Caffaddict rolls off the tongue just fine. Josh must be a riot 😂. Couldn’t hang out with him though. Loved your word and micro.

  • Test7 months ago

    Very creative and powerful Donna. Well done! a great example of how to be funny and supportive at the same time.☕️🤣💕

  • Paul Stewart7 months ago

    hahaha! Love it, Donna! way to relatable and should definitely be a word!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.