Fiction logo

Broken Mirrors

by; Kathy Frizzell

By K. FrizzellPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
Truth behind the Mirror

KRYNN is my hometown, born with “Elves Blood, and some Druid from my father’s side but I had a dream that I had specialty powers if some would say {Magic, is real or fake in the holder!} I will leave that to fantasy world!

My name is “Raven-Wolf,” known to have had long flaming blue/green hair, porcelain white skin, dark hour-glass purple in the eyes, graceful, and to have appeared cold, aloof, and imperious.

Being an “Elf” is {exciting as well exhausting} and some would say I am running away from lies!

The mirror showed a reflection that was not my own.

Then looking back in the reflection, a foggy shadow figure appeared?

These words were {Written, who is the cruelest in the land? The Magic Mirror Deluxe will tell you! Choose from three creative revenge options each day. 100% satisfaction guaranteed!}

Sitting in my room, looking around because a noise got my attention, and said, {“Mirror, mirror on a stand, who’s the cruelest in the land?” I sang out the words while spinning in the swivel chair. Stopping, by the third time because was get into (one's) head comes in “Three!” “Mirror, mirror in the frame, what are ways to inflict pain?”}

Now in the darkness, I was freaked out and then silence.

A flash of lighting lights my room, a crash got my attention, running to the sound of where it came from, saw my parents being taken away and now I was so “Confused!”

I chose to stay hidden.

Good thing, “the mind reels at such a bizarre notion."

As it is in Heaven, So Be it on Earth.

{“I walk by myself, this path magic, but that does not mean I am not Alone.”}

Explainer: magical realism

Published: December 2, 2015 2.28pm EST

A mirror symbolizes awareness, wisdom, reflection, transformation, and soul-searching. For centuries, mirrors have been associated with magic and mystery. In many cultures, they are believed to be portals to other realms and are often used for divination and scrying.

{Mirror Myths and Superstitions

There are many myths and superstitions surrounding not only the mirror but also other objects that project a reflection.

As earlier stated, several cultures believed that mirrors could trap a recently departed soul and thus cover all the mirrors in the house to protect their dearly departed from this terrible fate. Interestingly, when Abraham Lincoln died, all the mirrors in the white house were covered for this same purpose.}

A mirror symbolizes awareness, wisdom, reflection, transformation, and soul-searching. For centuries, mirrors have been associated with magic and mystery. In many cultures, they are believed to be portals to other realms and are often used for divination and scrying.

Mirror Symbolism & Spiritual Meaning (Awareness) meaningsymbolism.com/mirror-symbolism-spiritual-meaning/

Jorge Luis Borges

Explainer: magical realism

Published: December 2, 2015

The development of magical realism

Jorge Luis Borges by Grete Stern, 1951.

The term “magical realism” was first used by the German art critic Franz Roh in 1925 to describe a contemporary style of European painting.

Maria Takolander

Maria Takolander

Associate Professor in Creative Writing and Literary Studies, Deakin University

Profile Articles Activity

Maria Takolander is an Associate Professor in Writing, Literature and Culture at Deakin University. She is the author of four books of poems, the most recent of which is Trigger Warning (UQP 2021). She is also the author of the short-story collection The Double (Text 2013). Maria's scholarship focuses on two areas—magical realist literature and theorising creativity—and she has published widely in those areas. She is also a regular reviewer for The Saturday Paper, and a regular interviewer at author events and festivals. As a public artist, her words can be found on bronze plaques in Central Geelong and at the Royal Botanic Gardens Victoria.

Experience.

I have always known that mirrors are the gateway to the soul, and truth be told sharing to world.

As I was sitting at my desk, I picked up my mirror and started daydreaming about the forgotten realms!

The room went dark, I was not in KRYNN anymore, started walking into the unknown and even though I was scared it felt familiar!

The scenery changed once more, a little creeper, things looked alive and not inviting.

I kept walking, then a crash got my attention, it was my dad telling me to get ready for practice and stop daydreaming.

That is why I said in the beginning I was classified as a runaway!

At an immature age I left home, had to work for a living because nothing was handed to me on a silver platter, and I know that I cannot change my past, but I can live for the better!

It had to be around midnight now, sitting by the open window, letting the cool night air whisk through my hair, and putting more wood in the fireplace to snuggle up with my novel just then without noticing the window flew open?

I was about to close it when a “Black Crow” flew in, fun fact about {Crow’s, https://worldbirds.com/crow-symbolism, Anytime the spiritual world has a message for you, crows are always sent as messengers. An ancient story reveals crows as special messengers from the heavens. It explains that the heavens wanted to send a message to humans, but other birds were not willing to go except for the crow.}

Crows; beautiful Creatures

Death came to take me from my family and friends, but the “Angels would not let me!”

Now I live my life disabled, but do not get me wrong I am incredibly happy that I have time with my children and family.

Just then a mirror appeared unexpectedly with writing on it saying; {who is the cruelest in the land? The Magic Mirror Deluxe will tell you! Choose from three creative revenge options each day. 100% satisfaction guaranteed!}

To the forgotten realms I was whisked away, this was weird, never seen this image in my lifetime or never and was told this was to happen it was the future?

I will leave this to the imagination because {no one can predict the future, and some would say; “we make our own Future.”

Fantasy

About the Creator

K. Frizzell

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    K. FrizzellWritten by K. Frizzell

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.