Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Serena

A Story Every Day in 2024 June 30th 182/366 and a just in the nick of time entry for Belle's The Conviction [an unofficial challenge]

By Rachel DeemingPublished 2 days ago Updated about 13 hours ago 2 min read
Serena
Photo by Bruce Tang on Unsplash

This story comes with a Dharrsheena warning.

They say death is a funny old thing, whoever they are. I assume they mean peculiar as there's nothing humorous about it. And I should know as I've met it face-to-face this week.

I suppose, if you imagined the Reaper as a grinning spectre arriving to cut the thread that ties you to this mortal existence, then his sinister smile may pass as funny. In both senses, actually.

That's what she was at the end. A grinning spectre. A hideous figure. I could go through all the usual descriptions: having the life sucked out of her; she was like a wraith; I swear I could see her bones through her skin; she was barely there; she was no longer the person I'd fallen in love with.

All of these things are, were, true. Except that last one. Because she was very much the person I'd fallen in love with. She bore no physical resemblance to her, but she was my Serena.

She was such a fighter! Every day, approaching the end of her life with a smile. She hid the grimaces but the mirror on the wall showed me, sly, unscrupulous, spiteful glass. A glimpse of excruciating pain, the drugs working like a cold cloth for a fever, only wiping the brow of the cancer as it continued its relentless mining operation to hollow her out to a husk.

She did it for me, I know, presenting the brave face. She needn't have. I felt every last vestige of her pain myself.

We once had a pup when I was a child. A lovely little thing. Small soft body, enormous ears. When my mother ran her over by accident, she survived. I can remember her taking the little dog to the vet and him examining her. No bones broken, he said but internally...

When she was brought home, she had a look in her eyes. I was so pleased to see her. She's going to be alright! But no. Something had been lost and her eyes showed it - pain unseen. Would it be too pretentious to say despair?

Serena never asked me but I saw it in her eyes.

I did what I had to do.

***

366 words

The link to Belle's wonderful challenge is here:

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read this, please leave a comment as I love to interact with my readers.

180/366

Stream of ConsciousnessPsychologicalMicrofictionLoveHorror

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • D.K. Shepardabout 18 hours ago

    This was both gripping and gutting. A very well written piece with such a heavy story stitched within. The description of seeing pain in the eyes was tremendously well done

  • Gosh. That’s real love. I think watching someone you love battle cancer is one of the worst things. I spent weeks with my grandmother at the end. It was horrific. You wrote this with such compassion and heart. All the best to you Rachel.

  • John Cox2 days ago

    This was difficult to read, Rachel. But I have to say that nobody I currently read could write of another’s suffering quite as convincingly as you have here. My father died of cancer, and it was very much like this (minus the euthanasia). If you have seen someone die of the disease and never complain, never admit to the pain, then that might explain the miracle that is this story. But if you have not, then your capacity for empathy as a writer is at a level outside the power of my comprehension.

  • Novel Allen2 days ago

    Oh, that is cold. But much better than pain. I believe that people have a right to request euthanasia. No one knows the pain which another is feeling.

  • I was excited to read this story because my cousin's name is the same as your title but spelled Sereena and then I saw the warning. Gosh, there is nothing that scares me more in this world than sad animal stuff 😅 I appreciate you so much for that warning, thank you so much from the bottom of my heart 🥺❤️ I scrolled down slowly so that it would register as a read.

Rachel DeemingWritten by Rachel Deeming

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.