Fiction logo

Brocken Mirror

Trapped in the Haunted Mirror: A Journey into an Alternate Reality

By Danielle SteelPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. I stared at it, confused and afraid, as the image before me began to warp and twist, like a living thing trying to break free from the glass.

At first, I thought it was just a trick of the light, a strange reflection caused by a passing car or a streetlamp outside. But as I watched, the figure in the mirror began to move, its limbs stretching and contorting in impossible ways.

And then, I saw the eyes - dark, empty voids that seemed to stare back at me, filled with an otherworldly hunger that made my blood run cold.

I tried to look away, to turn my back on the mirror and pretend that none of this was happening. But it was too late - the image had already taken root in my mind, and I knew that I would never be able to forget it.

Days turned into weeks, and the mirror continued to haunt me, its reflection growing stronger and more vivid with each passing moment. I began to see things that weren't there - shadows that moved on their own, whispers that echoed through the empty rooms of my house, and a sense of unease that followed me wherever I went.

At first, I tried to convince myself that it was all in my head, that I was just imagining things because of the stress and anxiety of my daily life. But deep down, I knew the truth - the mirror was alive, and it was trying to consume me.

Slowly but surely, the alternate reality that the mirror had revealed began to bleed into my world, seeping into the cracks and crevices of my existence like a poison that couldn't be purged.

And as the days turned into months, and the months turned into years, I came to understand the terrible truth - that the mirror was not just a window into another world, but a gateway to a realm of unspeakable horror, a place where nightmares walked the earth and the very fabric of reality was twisted and distorted beyond recognition.

In the end, I knew that there was only one way to escape the mirror's grasp - to destroy it, to shatter it into a million pieces and scatter them to the winds. But even as I raised the hammer above my head, I knew that it was already too late, that the mirror had already claimed me as its own.

And so I closed my eyes and swung, feeling the glass shatter beneath my blow and the fragments rain down around me like a deadly hailstorm. And as the shards pierced my skin and the darkness closed in, I knew that I had finally found peace, and that the mirror's hold on me had been broken forever.

But as I opened my eyes, I saw that I was not alone. The reflection that had haunted me for so long was now standing before me, its twisted form taking on a physical shape in the real world.

I tried to run, to escape from this monstrous entity that had once been nothing more than a reflection in a mirror. But it was too late - the creature was too fast, too strong, and too determined to let me go.

As it closed in on me, I saw the hunger in its eyes, the same hunger that had driven it to reach out from the mirror and claim me as its own. And as its cold, clammy fingers closed around my neck, I knew that my fate was sealed.

But even as I felt my life slipping away, I refused to give in. I fought back with everything I had, struggling against the monster's grip and refusing to let it consume me.

And in that moment, something miraculous happened - the monster began to shrink and wither, its form growing weaker and weaker with each passing second. And as it finally dissipated into nothingness, I knew that I had won, that I had triumphed over the mirror and its cursed reflection.

But the victory was bittersweet, for I knew that the memory of that horrible entity would stay with me forever, haunting me and reminding me of the horrors that lurked just beneath the surface of our reality.

And so, I vowed to never forget, to always be vigilant, and to never again let my guard down in the face of the unknown. For I knew that in this world, there were things that were beyond our understanding, beyond our comprehension, and beyond our control. And I knew that it was up to us to face these terrors head-on, and to never let them consume us, no matter how terrifying they might seem.

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Danielle Steel

Professional Writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.