Fiction logo

Brief histories

For Kayleigh Fraser's micro challenge

By Hannah MoorePublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
21
Brief histories
Photo by Constant Loubier on Unsplash

I wrote two pieces for this challenge to write a fifty word history of the world or humanity, as I realised that the piece I had was all about fear, though it is not itself frightening, and I didnt want Kayleigh to feel she had to read it. So I have provided a buffer piece too.

Double, double toil and trouble; Fire burn, and caldron…. Good God would you look at that! Little itsy bitsy lifey stuff. So cuoooote. What the blazes? Oh ok. Legs there, some wings, all good, all good. Bit creepy. Just gonna focus on good sparkley rocks…. Ugly one broke my rocks!

*

“I am afraid.”

“Me too. The world is dangerous.”

“Let’s stay close then.”

“And me?”

“And you.”

“And me?”

“And you.”

“And me?”

“Not you.”

“But he’s….”

“….Different. And besides, we only have enough.”

“He’s found others.”

“Others are dangerous.”

“I…”

“You disagree?”

“Dissent is dangerous?”

“For me or you?”

Microfiction
21

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davisabout a month ago

    "For me or for you?" Wow. That says it all, doesn't it?

  • L.C. Schäferabout a month ago

    I don't feel equal to this challenge. You smashed it 😁

  • Jay Kantorabout a month ago

    Dear Hannah - Certainly an oversimplistic task - Why can't the 'Me's and U'z' all just get along. j.in.l.a.

  • JBazabout a month ago

    Well done on the contrast between the two. You said a lot in few words Really enjoyed the final line. ‘ For me or you?’

  • Oh definitely only for me (in the context of your poem, "you"). You should fly & be free & enjoy it all.

  • Amazing how much you say in s few words! ‘But he’s….” “….Different. And besides, we only have enough.” “He’s found others.” “Others are dangerous.”🫣

  • Dissent is dangerous? That's a very deep question. Loved both your stories!

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    “No, I agree, dissent can lead to danger.” I enjoyed both micros. Different takes but effective.

  • I really love both… I especially like how you used the dialogue in the second one to build up the atmosphere… and yes, it was scary in tone ! But I sincerely appreciated the warning 😁💕 It reminded me of the atmosphere of the Walking Dead (which still to this day I regret programming myself with 🙈😅)

  • Heather Hubler2 months ago

    I like how very different the tones were between the two. And yet they both worked so well :)

  • Daphsam2 months ago

    Wow, this is so good.

  • John Cox2 months ago

    The first is funny and macabre, the second is as you warned disturbing and true to life as we currently know it. Both are excellent!

  • ROCK 2 months ago

    My Mind is whirling in 12 directions from this delivery. You have quite the I interesting brain!

  • Paul Stewart2 months ago

    Woah...lot going on here in both these. That second one...love the format and sadly how real it is, so much hard honesty. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.