Fiction logo

Boredomline

thought police

By Andrei Z.Published about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
Boredomline
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

There are heavy bags under my eyes. They pull my face downwards, inviting me to kiss the ground.

"What's in the bags?" a mustachioed customs officer drills me with his eyes.

"Nothing illegal Sir, I assure you. A couple of sleepless nights, a few nagging thoughts."

"Open 'em up!"

"Oh please, how am I supposed to do that? Couldn't you just put me through one of your scanners?"

"X-rays are bad for your health," a several-inch-long auger surfaces from his pocket, and he hands it to me.

"Tell it to my dentist," I mutter silently. Aloud: "Am I supposed to bore myself?"

"Go ahead. We'll help you uproot those unhealthy thoughts that are plaguing you."

More and more officers started gathering around us. Some had guns. All looked encouraging.

"Can you offer at least an anesthetic injection or something?"

My interlocutor reaches with his hand into the pocket and retrieves a syringe. With a friendly smile, he hands it to me.

"Is it truth serum?" I ask.

The officer's friendly face mask disappears; he frowns. Now he looks menacing.

"Go ahead! Now!"

"I want my lawyer!" I start to panic. Of course, I do.

"Ha. Ha. Your lawyer wanted his lawyer too, and his lawyer wanted his. Welcome home, jerk!"

Microfiction

About the Creator

Andrei Z.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Grz Colmabout a month ago

    Thought police are the absolute worst! Fun and thoughtful micro Andrei! And Polish composers!? My ancestors would be proud ! 😁

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a month ago

    I always love the way your writing evokes a realistic but also thought provoking alternate reality! As well as your ability to make even stock characters memorable, ie. Moustachioed customer officer. Great work here Andrei!

  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    Ah, Andrei...this was brilliant. I need to read more of your writing. This had everything...sarcasm...humour...weird overarching existential dystopian futuristic vibes and a lot of gentle, but brimming away nonetheless, tension. How you achieved all that in such a short read is remarkable. Loved it. More questions raised than answers too...which I love.

  • Dr. Jason Benskinabout a month ago

    The pacing of the story kept me engaged from start to finish, and I found myself reflecting on the deeper themes you touched upon, such as the human condition and our constant search for meaning. Your writing style is both elegant and accessible, making it easy to empathize with the character's experiences and emotions. I am particularly impressed with how you managed to weave subtle humor and poignant observations into the narrative, adding layers to the story that resonate on multiple levels. It's clear that you have a unique voice and a talent for storytelling that draws readers in and keeps them invested. Thank you for sharing your work with the world. I look forward to reading more of your stories in the future. Keep writing and inspiring others with your creativity and insight. Best regards, Dr. Jay

Andrei Z.Written by Andrei Z.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.