Fiction logo

Blind Fethi

Short story in form of a memory

By Yasemin Yiğit KuruPublished 21 days ago 3 min read
1
Created with Copilot Bing

As my father and grandfather recalled a memory from past, I couldn't help but join their conversation with a chuckle.

They were recounting tales of Blind Fethi, with my grandfather mimicking his peculiar manners.

"He would always say 'Guruduğuz, guruduğuz' while tapping on the coffin," my father said, prompting my curiosity.

The phrase "Guruduğuz" sounded like an old Turkish word to me, evoking images of something drying up or withering away. I inquired about its meaning and why Blind Fethi would tap on the coffin with such a phrase.

My grandfather, who was always eager to share his stories, began to explain:

"Blind Fethi"," he began "served as a muezzin and had a knack for collecting donations during his calls to prayer for dead people."

My father interrupted, shedding light on the origins of the phrase. "During a period when deaths were unusually low, Blind Fethi joked about his troubles, saying 'you dried up,' referring to those who were not passing away as expected and tapping the coffin as a call to let them inside.

Meanwhile, my grandmother, in her leopard-patterned dress, sat on the balcony, smiling at us. Holding her fan with purple-black sequins, she listened with fondness to the tales of past.

My mother's voice came from the kitchen, curious for our amusement. "Who is Blind Fethi?" she called out, unaware of the local legend.

'Was he very famous?' I asked.

'People at my age usually know him,' my father replied me.

According to him it was normal for my mother not to know him as she was a bit younger then him. My father was in his late seventeens when Blind Fethi was in his 70s.

'So was he really blind, or was it just a nickname?' I continued the conversation. I wanted to learn more about this interesting man who entertained everyone.

And those days many people had different and very interesting nicknames which made me surprise and laugh most of the time. It was a way of highlighting people's weaknesses without being hurtful, I guess... And those who had those names would own and use them without any offense or resentment. My grandfather used to talk about many people in their 70s and 80s more with their nicknames than their real names.

Continuing our conversation, my father revealed more about Blind Fethi's remarkable traits. "One of his eyes was half-blind, the other was completely blind. But he could find his way by tilting his head and wrinkling his face with his half-blind eye, walking sideways" They explained. When they both imitated him doing that interesting walking style at the same time, laughter rose from all of us.

"He also had a pocket watch with a chain; he used to stick it to his half-blind eye to read the time." my grandfather continued laughing. Of course, they didn't hesitate to imitate this as well.

'It's been 50 years since all these happened with Blind Fethi, but he was such a different person that he left a mark on all of us,' my father said.

There are many people like Blind Fethi in the old days who were unforgettable despite the passing years, special people who received nicknames according to their different characteristics, and their stories seem much livelier and real than ours.

As I sit here recounting these memories, I can't help but wish for more moments spent listening to my grandparents' tales. Their stories brought joy to our lives, and I'm certain there are countless more adventures waiting to be unearthed from their treasure crate of memories.

In the end, it's the laughter and the timeless tales that bind us together, weaving a narrative that transcends generations.

And so, I cherish these moments, grateful for the stories that connect us and the love that binds us.

Love.

HumorShort StoryHistoricalfamily
1

About the Creator

Yasemin Yiğit Kuru

an engineer who loves reading and writing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 21 days ago

    What a great take you recounted here! Now with TV and social media people don’t sit and tell stories like they used to. People are in their house alone. I guess we tell the stories on Vocal. Thanks for sharing this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.